We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the French toast!!”
Review of The Mad Batter

The Mad Batter
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mad Batter is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 142 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lafayette Street
Description: A Cape May tradition for over 30 years! The nationally acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant is located at the Carroll Villa Hotel in the heart of the historic district. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, desserts and cocktails are served on the European-style front porch, garden terrace, and sky-lit dining room. Breakfast offerings include fresh squeezed juices, homemade fruit breads, and entrees such as crab benedict, oatmeal pancakes, or orange & almond french toast. Lunch entrees include the Maryland crab cake sandwich, fish & chips, and Waldorf chicken, as well as an assortment of salads. Dinner options are always inventive and the seafood is extraordinary. Entrees include award-winning jumbo lump crab cakes, juicy steaks, chicken and fresh fish specials daily. A sumptuous selection of desserts is made daily. The Mad Batter Bar features Happy Hour, 19 beers on tap, a reasonably priced wine list, and a martini list sure to please. Live music and special events are planned throughout the year.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We always come here when we are are downing Cape May. The breakfast platters are huge and they are always delicious. You can eat out on the front porch or indoors. We love the French toast, you can order it anyway you like.

Thank aswierk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear aswierk,
We are so glad you enjoyed our French toast! It is one of our most popular items. Come see us again soon! Happy Hour is everyday 3-6!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,095)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,221 - 1,225 of 2,095 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014

The Mad Batter is without doubt the best restaurant in Cape May! We make it a habit to go there at least one every visit. The crab cakes are the best you can find anywhere. The atmosphere is great, the seating is great for our extended family and they don't mind having children in the party. We have always had great wait-staff. Be back again next year!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear David H,
Thank you for your review! I am so glad to hear that you and your family enjoy visiting us year after year! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Went there after reading about the place on trip advisor, I had the pineapple mimosa, which was delicious. & the famous orange/almond French toast. Which was very good but I have to admit.. Didn't taste anything like orange.. My boyfriend had the eggs Benedict. Which.. He gets at almost every place we go, he wasnt impressed.. The plate was small, said the potatoes weren't good & there was barely any hollidase sauce on it. Also the waitress we had (seated outside which was very pretty) didn't pay is much attention. Would I go back? Maybe not. But nice atmosphere, and the prices weren't THAT bad.

Thank Chrissynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Chrissynj,
I'm sorry to hear that your experience at the Mad Batter was not quite what you were hoping for overall. I do, however hope that you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Our family enjoyed a delightful Saturday evening at Mad Batter. It was a nice mix of seafood and meat dishes. For some reason in our many visits to Cape May we had missed dining there. We were seated on the porch that let us enjoy the people watching throughout our dinner. The quality of the food was excellent and it was obvious they used fresh quality ingredients. It's also nice to have a dessert tray with homemade offerings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dzabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Dzabo,
Thank you for your review! I am so glad to know that you and your family enjoyed yourselves during your last visit to the Mad Batter! We take pride in all that we serve here, from our clam chowder down to our triple chocolate cake! We look forward to seeing you again soon, don't forget, Happy Hour daily, 3-6!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Friday on a beautiful August day down the shore you will have to wait in line for breakfast/lunch and dinner. We put our name on the list at the Mad Batter as numerous people stood outside waiting to be seated. It took just five minutes and we were seated inside in a lovely dining area looking out at a small gardened patio. Our waitress was very attentive. We ordered vodka lemonades while those around us had mimosas. Breakfast and lunch were being served so we ordered a grilled chicken wrap and a burger. Both were wonderful. The staff was very friendly, accommodating and cared to seat people quickly. After your meal take a stroll down the the lovely street with beautiful Victorian homes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Kate B,
Thank you for your review! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves during your visit! We look forward to seeing you again very soon! Don't forget that Happy Hour is everyday from 3-6!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mad Batter also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to The Mad Batter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing