We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good breakfast”
Review of The Mad Batter

The Mad Batter
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mad Batter is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 138 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lafayette Street
Description: A Cape May tradition for over 30 years! The nationally acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant is located at the Carroll Villa Hotel in the heart of the historic district. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, desserts and cocktails are served on the European-style front porch, garden terrace, and sky-lit dining room. Breakfast offerings include fresh squeezed juices, homemade fruit breads, and entrees such as crab benedict, oatmeal pancakes, or orange & almond french toast. Lunch entrees include the Maryland crab cake sandwich, fish & chips, and Waldorf chicken, as well as an assortment of salads. Dinner options are always inventive and the seafood is extraordinary. Entrees include award-winning jumbo lump crab cakes, juicy steaks, chicken and fresh fish specials daily. A sumptuous selection of desserts is made daily. The Mad Batter Bar features Happy Hour, 19 beers on tap, a reasonably priced wine list, and a martini list sure to please. Live music and special events are planned throughout the year.
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My daughter and I had a very good breakfast at Mad Batter. Someone recommended we go there so we thought we'd give it a try. There were people waiting out front when we walked up but it didn't take too long to get inside. Old Victorian mansion. We sat toward the back. It was nice!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donnat220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    985
    599
    239
    78
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
755 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Quaint atmosphere”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The attraction here is the setting in an old Victorian mansion.
Food is fresh and simple,rather good altogether but not fancy.
Decor is funky.
Coffee is a big disappointment cafeteria style and not always hot.
Service swift..
Restroom an afterthought.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MILOUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear MLOUW,

Thank you for dining with us and writing a
review.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the food
and atmosphere!

We do apologize about our coffee. People usually
rave about it. But we will look into it because we may
need to calibrate our coffee machine.

Thank you and hopefully you can dine with us again
soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Had Dinner at the Mad Batter. The food was just fair. Had a shrimp dish over pasta it was fair. My husband liked his sea bass. We had poor service. The menu said that the beer we wanted was on tap which it was not. They brought my husband a bottle and he said he wanted draft. The waitress forgot about his beer and had to be reminded to bring it after a substantial wait. In addition the waitress had an attitude. Sitting outside was nice but we will not go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindafromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear lindafromNJ,

Thank you for dining with us.

We apologize that you had a bad experience
with us and the confusion with the beer on our
menu. There is no excuse about the service you
had. We have talked to all of our servers about attitude
and good service!

We are sorry and maybe you can dine with us again
another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant !”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We had this restaurant recommended to us by locals and it did not disappoint. Upon arrival we were seated outside on a beautiful night. We were looked after quickly by Beth. We had entrees and our meal which were good. Margaritha pizza and ceasar salad, shrimp and scallop saute on lobster ravioli and a skirt steak. We finished it with dessert carrot cake and poached pear in belgian chocolate. The price was a bit expensive but acceptable. All in all a good restaurant experience

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dan200362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach
2 reviews
“33 years of great dining experiences”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Sitting on the front porch,enjoying a great Sat morning brunch, my husband and I recalled the many years of good meals with friends and family here in this great restaurant which has changed decor and menu to keep it interesting yet comfortable for those who want familiarity. You can bring children here or enjoy a totally adult experience in the beautiful bar area, and music on weekends. Give this great place a try for great food and atmosphere that can't be beat a block away from the beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mad Batter also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to The Mad Batter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing