We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service”
Review of The Mad Batter

The Mad Batter
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mad Batter is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 137 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: International, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lafayette Street
Description: A Cape May tradition for over 30 years! The nationally acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant is located at the Carroll Villa Hotel in the heart of the historic district. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, desserts and cocktails are served on the European-style front porch, garden terrace, and sky-lit dining room. Breakfast offerings include fresh squeezed juices, homemade fruit breads, and entrees such as crab benedict, oatmeal pancakes, or orange & almond french toast. Lunch entrees include the Maryland crab cake sandwich, fish & chips, and Waldorf chicken, as well as an assortment of salads. Dinner options are always inventive and the seafood is extraordinary. Entrees include award-winning jumbo lump crab cakes, juicy steaks, chicken and fresh fish specials daily. A sumptuous selection of desserts is made daily. The Mad Batter Bar features Happy Hour, 19 beers on tap, a reasonably priced wine list, and a martini list sure to please. Live music and special events are planned throughout the year.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went there at 1015a,alot of people waiting which is fine. Got seated at 1040 and did NOT get food until 11:15a. By then my wife and I had 5 cups of coffee before the food came. I wanted a bagel with salmon (lox) and cream cheese and they already ran out of that. Very expensive. A glass of OJ 16 oz is $6.00!!! I could buy 2 containers of OJ in the store for that amount of money. ANother breakfast place Uncle Bills was much better and OJ was $3.25. I wrote separate review for that.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sinustacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hello sinustacky!

Thank you for visiting us for breakfast! I agree that it is very frustrating when you have your mind set on ordering something and then you find out that it has been sold out!! We try and make sure that we have enough ingredients so this doesn't happen but on occasion it does unfortunately happen!

Our orange juice is fresh squeezed from florida oranges with absolutely no additives! You pay for what you receive!

We hope that you have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    941
    586
    230
    76
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

There was a very long wait to be seated. The inside seemed like they had stuffed way too many tables in it. It felt so cramped inside. Our waiter was a complete arrogant, weirdo. The food was average breakfast type food, nothing special and the price was just average too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SlimShady73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brossard, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent price/quality ratio”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went to the Caroll Villa after many delibarations about where to eat. We did not regret our choice. This is not a fancy restaurant but you will find good food, good quality and good prices. We sat at the bar prior to our meal and enjoyed the casual atmosphere. I had the burger and it was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have been there numerous times in the past and it was always very good. It had been awhile so we thought it would be nice to go for dinner over the 4th of July weekend. The food was just very average at best. My fish was very bland and my daughter's pasta was over cooked. My husband said his salmon was just okay but nothing special. My daughter's boyfriend wanted mussels over pasta but we were told the chef wasn't doing any special orders. So he ordered mussels and a side of pasta and poured the musses over it himself. The chef couldn't do this? I mean really,,,,that's how you accommodate your customers? anyhow just very average this time and for the money certainly not worth it...there are much better places in Cape May to dine and get good value for your money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi Oan,
Thank you for dining with us we are sorry that your experience was not up to par.
Our kitchen tries to be as accomodating as possible but July 4th weekend is very over whelming. Our goal is to have everyone have a positive experience and enjoy their meal we are sorry that you were not happy.
Sincerely,
Pam Huber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great food”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Went there for our last night in Cape May. I had a fish special & my husband had steak. Both were very tasty. We also had the wings for an app. They are crispy & delicious. Sitting on the porch is fun for people watching.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E_White176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mad Batter also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to The Mad Batter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing