We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Food -- Prepared well”
Review of Louisa's Cafe

Louisa's Cafe
Ranked #41 of 138 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Serving fresh simple seafood dishes here on Jackson Street since 1980. All our desserts are made right here each morning. Stop by the Chocolate Bar where we have the most delicious Artisan chocolate being made in the beautiful USA! Call for current hours. Our hostess is here at 4. We do not seat any children after 6pm - that is when we begin adult swim. Have fun in Cape May and thanks for stopping by!
Falls Church, VA
Level 6 Contributor
526 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Fresh Food -- Prepared well”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Louisia's serves the freshest seafood, caught daily. It is prepared simply and jazzed up with a few dipping sauces. All of the sides are the same for all of the fish entree's. Nothing fancy here, not fine dining, just good food prepared well. BYOB -- I like that. Cash only -- don't like that. The restaurant only seats 20 and the appetizers, main dishes and desserts are shown on 3 separate blackboards that are erased as Louisa sells out of things. I understood Louisa bakes or prepares most if not all of the desserts. Everything is made on site. The waitress was helpful, friendly, capable and attentive. I'd go back to Louisas.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RussellJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisascafe, Manager at Louisa's Cafe, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear RussellJW,
We are very proud that you as a Top Contributor took the time to so very accurately and sweetly review our little place. You have posted a very responsible review and we wanted to say a big thank you to you!

We all just LOVED that you wrote that our fish is not fancy - just well prepared. Yes - that is us!!!

And yes, all the desserts are all created by Louisa and made in our kitchen -right here. We have been here since May 1980.

Thank you for pointing out to people that we do not take credit cards. We apologize for the inconvenience that you may have experienced due to this policy - we are trying really hard to keep our costs down and fish and dairy products have gone up so much in the past 2 years.

Most of all, we thank you for the time you took to put in a little note about our staff. We appreciate your noting that our staff is helpful, friendly, capable and attentive. WOW - that was so nice of you to point out to everyone.

We all wish you the best in all your travels and hope to see you again when next you find yourself in sweet Cape May!
Sincerely,
Louisa's entire staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    47
    23
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Severn, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Interesting Place”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

After reading so many 5 star reviews we had high expectations. The Mediterranean appetizer variety plate had a delicious selection of nibbles and was beautifully presented. My husband enjoyed his cod entree and I had the crab cakes which were good but would have been better with more spices. We found it very odd that all entrees come with brown rice and shredded raw cabbage, both of which were strange accompaniments for our entree choices. The cabbage was rough cut with little or no dressing. The chocolate pie dessert we shared was yummy. So, there were highs and lows with our meal. We called for a 5:30 p.m. reservation and were told that only 5 p.m. or 7:45 p.m. were available. We went at 5:00 and found it interesting that the restaurant was less than half full the entire time we were there. This is a BYOB, cash only restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karen0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisascafe, Owner at Louisa's Cafe, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear karen0706,
Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and try our newest appetizer - the Mediterranean plate! This plate is simple and nutritious and delicious - the things we all love to eat here. We include almonds, walnuts, dried figs, green natural olives, a grilled eggplant salad and some red grapes and apple slices. We like to keep you healthy!!!

Many people come in and love our brown rice and cabbage salad and although it was not for you, we are excited that you ordered the chocolate pie. We have been making that pie now for 34 years. It is always served with the delicious orange apricot glaze. People come in and order it again and again so thank you!!!

Our reservation policy is really simple when you get to know it - we do not double book tables as is standard policy in many places all over the country. The table we reserve for you is only for you - that is why you saw some empty tables - we were holding them for people who had already called us up. We are very sorry if there was any confusion about this. its a tiny place and we do fill up pretty quickly!

We see that you are a Top Contributor - that is so awesome. Keep on with your travels and your reviews karen0706, Tripadvisor is all about people like you who like to share the fun of travel and dining out.

We all wish you the best in your adventures.
Sincerely,
Louisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Louisa's Cafe Experience”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The place is very small and intimate but so quainte and romantic.
Excellent food and very affordable prices. Friendly service and BYOB which is great after visiting local winerys. Highly recommend putting this on your must do list.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FaytheB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisascafe, Team Louisa's Cafe at Louisa's Cafe, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear FaytheB-13,

Many thanks for taking the time to give us such a great review! We really appreciate that you thought Louisa's is romantic. We have actually had quite a few people get engaged here in the candlelight and it is always such a happy moment.

You wrote so many nice things about us and we certainly appreciate that you highly recommend putting a visit to our little dining room on your must do list. What an honor! THANK YOU! We hope that you come back to Cape May soon and enjoy all there is to do here in every season of the year.

Very sincerely from,
Everyone here at Louisa's Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Take the child in you and your friends to this cozy seafood cafe”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This tiny restaurant tucked in a carriage house storefront off the pedestrian mall in Cape May is a one of a kind experience. Through not fancy in the way upscale venues offer dining, it will tickle your fancy if you delight in the imaginative and creative: from childlike pastel painted renderings of floating sea life on tables, walls, and doors to delightfully fresh and delicious seafood, pasta, vegetables, and homemade soups and desserts. On the night I was recently there, Karen who was serving on earlier visits, was cooking these delights to perfection (especially the sea bass) - a tribute to the true apprenticeship offered by the owner/chefs Louisa and Doug.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank docteled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisascafe, Team Louisa at Louisa's Cafe, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear doctoled,
Thank you so very much for not only coming down to Cape May and to our pedestrian mall, but also for stopping by for dinner!

We truly appreciate not only your business but also the fact that you took the time to describe so accurately for everyone our fun hand painted sea life decor as well as our fresh seafood and homemade fare. Everything is made right in our tiny kitchen.

We wanted to thank you most of all for mentioning one of our long time staff members who is an amazing young cook. Your kindness has touched us all here in the kitchen and in the dining room. To say that something is cooked to perfection is the highest compliment we can imagine.

We wish you all the best in your travels and culinary adventures and hope to see you again in Cape May!
Sincerely,
Louisa's Cafe Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Haven't tried the cafe yet, but HEART the Chocolate Bar/shop!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Louisa's Chocolate Bar is adorable, and the products she's selling are dreamy. We bought several different treats and loved them all. Louisa was there adding to our experience by offering us samples and accompaniments. A lovely place!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisascafe, Owner at Louisa's Cafe, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Cathy B,
Thank you for stopping by the Chocolate Bar and trying some of the most amazing chocolates being made in the beautiful USA!!!! You are such a sweetheart to take the time to HEART our little Chocolate Bar!

We can never stop eating these chocolates ourselves and love to share what American chocolatiers are making with happy and darling people like you!!!

We love how you said the chocolates are dreamy!!! They certainly are. We are making our roast almond and cranberry chocolate bark with the sea salt again this fall.

We wish you all the best and hope you are finding fantastic chocolates in Virginia as well Cathy!

XOXOXO from
Louisa and everyone over at the little Chocolate Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louisa's Cafe also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Louisa's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing