We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the child in you and your friends to this cozy seafood cafe”
Review of Louisa's Cafe

Louisa's Cafe
Ranked #36 of 140 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Serving fresh simple seafood dishes here on Jackson Street since 1980. All our desserts are made right here each morning. Stop by the Chocolate Bar where we have the most delicious Artisan chocolate being made in the beautiful USA! Call for current hours. Our hostess is here at 4. We do not seat any children after 6pm - that is when we begin adult swim. Have fun in Cape May and thanks for stopping by!
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Take the child in you and your friends to this cozy seafood cafe”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This tiny restaurant tucked in a carriage house storefront off the pedestrian mall in Cape May is a one of a kind experience. Through not fancy in the way upscale venues offer dining, it will tickle your fancy if you delight in the imaginative and creative: from childlike pastel painted renderings of floating sea life on tables, walls, and doors to delightfully fresh and delicious seafood, pasta, vegetables, and homemade soups and desserts. On the night I was recently there, Karen who was serving on earlier visits, was cooking these delights to perfection (especially the sea bass) - a tribute to the true apprenticeship offered by the owner/chefs Louisa and Doug.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank docteled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisascafe, Team Louisa at Louisa's Cafe, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear doctoled,
Thank you so very much for not only coming down to Cape May and to our pedestrian mall, but also for stopping by for dinner!

We truly appreciate not only your business but also the fact that you took the time to describe so accurately for everyone our fun hand painted sea life decor as well as our fresh seafood and homemade fare. Everything is made right in our tiny kitchen.

We wanted to thank you most of all for mentioning one of our long time staff members who is an amazing young cook. Your kindness has touched us all here in the kitchen and in the dining room. To say that something is cooked to perfection is the highest compliment we can imagine.

We wish you all the best in your travels and culinary adventures and hope to see you again in Cape May!
Sincerely,
Louisa's Cafe Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    47
    24
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Haven't tried the cafe yet, but HEART the Chocolate Bar/shop!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Louisa's Chocolate Bar is adorable, and the products she's selling are dreamy. We bought several different treats and loved them all. Louisa was there adding to our experience by offering us samples and accompaniments. A lovely place!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisascafe, Owner at Louisa's Cafe, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Cathy B,
Thank you for stopping by the Chocolate Bar and trying some of the most amazing chocolates being made in the beautiful USA!!!! You are such a sweetheart to take the time to HEART our little Chocolate Bar!

We can never stop eating these chocolates ourselves and love to share what American chocolatiers are making with happy and darling people like you!!!

We love how you said the chocolates are dreamy!!! They certainly are. We are making our roast almond and cranberry chocolate bark with the sea salt again this fall.

We wish you all the best and hope you are finding fantastic chocolates in Virginia as well Cathy!

XOXOXO from
Louisa and everyone over at the little Chocolate Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton,NJ
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gem of a Restaurant”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were able to get into Louisa`s right after Christmas 2012. It was a rainy weeknight, so there were only 3 other tables occupied. I had always heard wonderful things about it, and they were right. Excellent and different options on the blackboard menu - I had no trouble finding something vegetarian. The food was wonderful, service was friendly, and the decor funky. Loved the music they had playing as well. BYOB, and off season it`s still open on weekends, but reservations needed...we were just lucky to walk in off the street that night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunlvr302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisascafe, Owner at Louisa's Cafe, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear sunlvr302,
Many many thanks for just spotting us one rainy night and wandering over to eat at our cozy little spot!

I told Doug that you mentioned that you loved the music - he says THANK YOU! He is always doing mixes for our customers as well as our staff to dance around to as we all work at night.

Your positive and accurate review is really what makes Tripadvisor the incredible source for travel that it is so we all thank you for taking the time to write about us and for our generosity of spirit!

Enjoy!
Louisa & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love Louisa's”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We love Louisa's. we make sure we go there every time we are in Cape May. Sometimes we go more than once per visit as we did in Dec 2012. We love the taste and simplicity of the food- their crab cakes rock! Service is efficient and friendly. Their homemade desserts are divine- try the bread pudding with brown sugar whiskey sauce. Yes, it's small and you are close to your neighbor while dining- to us, that is part of the wonderful experience. Reservations are a must. It feels great to be on vacation and get a really good meal that is very reasonably priced. We can't wait to go back when we return to Cape May in April.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gallactictraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisascafe, Owner at Louisa's Cafe, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Our dear Gallactictraveler!

We all LOVE your Tripadvisor handle....bravo for such a great nom de plume!

Thank you so much for taking the time to sign on and write such a nice review for our little place. And we have showed the staff what you said about the service being efficient and friendly! THANK YOU!!!

The bread pudding with the brown sugar whiskey sauce has been on the menu for 32 years - amazing right? We really appreciate that you mentioned the simplicity of our food and that our crab cakes rock! Awwww....thanks!

We wish you all the best and look forward to your comments about our newest bread pudding - the dark chocolate one!

XOXO
Louisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradell, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good things come in small packages”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have often thought of eating at Louisa's but never remembered to plan ahead when I headed down there. This last weekend before Hurricane Sandy I was there with a group of girlfriends. We arrived Friday and on Saturday it occurred to me that perhaps, with a "mandatory" evacuation expected on Sunday, there might be a seating available.
(I use quotes because so many of the local people were saying they weren't going to leave. My friends and I left promptly in the early morning on Sunday).
We got in and enjoyed a great dinner. We were a group of five and I would not recommend more than that number as the tables are all two tops. We were seated at two tables pushed together so one person was really stuck sitting off the end.
The menu had nothing "exotic" on it but was full of the fresh locavore fare that Louisa's Cafe is known for. We had all crab cakes earlier or we would have surely tried them. Instead two of us had scallops and three of us had blue snapper (which we were told is a young blue fish?). Everyone was extremely happy with the freshness of the fish and the delicious preparation. We also had dessert and unfortunately the black bottom pie and dark brownie pie were not the knock-your-socks-off & worth-the-calories treat we expected.
We had a great time and everyone agreed it would be great for two or double-dates. I would recommend it to anyone. The food is prepared with serious attention and if the goal is customer enjoyment they have scored.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisascafe, Owner at Louisa's Cafe, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Christine F,
You were here right before the Hurricane! We are so glad you are ok.

Thank you so much for the GREAT review. We are happy that you enjoyed the scallops and also the snapper bluefish - and yes, these are both local caught items. The snapper bluefish is a smaller species of bluefish and a little more delicate of a texture than the big "slammer"blues that are routinely caught here off the Cape May coast. BUT Doug and I love those huge bluefish as well. Nothing like locally caught seafood for sure!!!

Sounds like you love interesting desserts! You would LOVE my new fig cake - it has not only chopped figs, it also has citrus and deep dark chocolate chunks and nuts.

Come back to see us again and enjoy our little town. Any establishment would be honored to have you dining!

All the best,
Louisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louisa's Cafe also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
West Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Louisa's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing