We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the food!”

Union Park Dining Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Union Park Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 137 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Howard Street
Transit: n/a
Description: Across from the ocean, this elegant dining room serves classic American food with a special touch. Union Park Dining Room received New Jersey Monthly Magazine's 2005 thru 2016 Critics Choice Award as one of the best restaurants in New Jersey. Working his magic behind the scenes, chef John Schatz has overseen the kitchens of some sophisticated eateries in the Philadelphia/South Jersey area, including the former Maureen's in Cape May. The large, spacious dining rooms with their fireplaces, cherry & mahogany furniture & antique fixtures are romance personified. Settle in for a memorable meal. Private dining rooms available from 8 to 42 guests. Banquet Facilities: Located in the historic Hotel Macomber, union park dining room is available for both casual & elegant parties, receptions, special occasion dinners or complete weddings. Our facility can host groups up to 130 people, depending on the type of reception you desire.
Summit, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Loved the food!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Ordered a steak special that was really good, but large and expensive. Service was very good, but we thought it was a little strange he took a picture of us with his own camera!?

Helpful?
Thank MissSiss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    122
    51
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Consistently Outstanding”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is our favorite Cape May restaurant, a "must" every summer we vacation here. The food and service is consistently outstanding. This year we had the prix fixed menu - while limited in selection, the offerings were outstanding. The short ribs were particularly wonderful, and the desserts were amazing!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptainPetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pricey but, good food/atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Having frequented Cape May for 10 years, finally tried this restaurant. Nice atmostphere, good service, good food and overall a nice experience. One nit, although not crowded at the time we dined there....seemed to be served at a slightly quick pace. Other than that will try it again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelinManPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the money.”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This place does not live up to its reputation. We chose to go here solely because of the menu online. The food looked interesting and innovative. When we got there we were disappointed because it just seemed a little dowdy and old-fashioned. The bones of the place are gorgeous but the decor is frumpy and out-dated. Also, we were the only people under 50 there, and our reservation was at 8:00 PM. We didn't let all that bother us though, since we came for the food. Our waiter was nice but totally disorganized, dropping silverware, knocking a menu out of my boyfriend's hand, etc. My boyfriend ordered the lamb, and I ordered the salmon. The lamb was one of the most expensive items on the list, and totally not worth the price. The portions were tiny, and the lamb was not prepared nicely, it was chewy and flavorless. Also, the only thing that came with it were a few green beans and a dollop of mashed potatoes. My salmon (with crab meat and tomatoes) was delicious, I ate the whole thing. So maybe if we hadn't ordered the lamb, we wouldn't have been disappointed, but we just expected more. Also, the waiter spent most of the time doting on a group of 10 older women, and completely ignored us...we didn't want dessert and were waiting for the check, and he ran over and quickly gave us dessert menus without giving us the chance to say we weren't interested. Then he finally comes back and we ask for the check. He ends up serving dessert to the 10 women and talking to them for a good 15 minutes before finally bringing us the check. He did apologize though. We really didn't have a problem with him and thought he was nice, but it was the icing on the cake. We won't go back to Union Park, it wasn't terrible, just not for us.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Grandmastyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overrated and very expensive”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

There are so many other restaurants I would eat at over this one at Cape May. It was expensive and the food was nothing that special. Liked Frescoes, 410 Bank Street, Ebbitt Room, Black Duck on Sunset, and Tishas. All these are expensive and comparitively more worth it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marlboroAGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Park Dining Room also viewed

 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Union Park Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing