We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice tavern in Cape May” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Pig Tavern

Blue Pig Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Pig Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 137 Restaurants in Cape May
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Perry Street
Description: The Blue Pig Tavern serves American cuisine-nostalgic, simple and fresh. Executive Chef Jeremy Einhorn has implemented a delicious farm-to-table menu featuring fresh produce, herbs and eggs from our very own Beach Plum Farm, located less than 2 miles from the restaurant! In the warmer months, dine on our wonderful, secluded patio. In the cooler months, cozy up to our magnificent dining room fireplace. The Blue Pig Tavern drives its name from a gambling parlor sited at Congress Hall in the mid 1800's. Earlier still, in the 1700s, Elias Hughes operated a tavern for whalers on this site. It was the first tavern in Cape May.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
509 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Nice tavern in Cape May”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was our first visit to Cape May and, being Sunday lunch time, we were limited in our restaurant choices. The Blue Pig Tavern did not disappoint. The Sunday brunch dishes were well prepared and the service was prompt and courteous. It was very interesting reading the history of the tavern and hotel while we dined. It may not be the best restaurant in Cape May, but the Blue Pig Tavern is a good one.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johncgore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    392
    206
    101
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Such a letdown......”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We vacation and visit Cape May often and have eaten in many of the restaurants there. My wife and I took our children here for a Christmas Dinner that they advertised and required advanced reservations. When we arrived and ordered our food it was just 'ok'. What really disappointed me and made me angry was that when it came to ordering our dessert we were informed that they had run out of a few of the choices. If they required an advanced reservation and they knew how many people to expect that evening wouldn't it stand to reason that they would have exactly the right amount of items to provide for their diners? Prior to this, my wife and I decided to dine at the Blue Pig Tavern during the slow season and when we were seated it took nearly 15 minutes before any of the servers came to our table....and this was for lunch and we were the only people in the restaurant. As a matter of fact, the manager who had been sitting with other administrators of the hotel noticed that we hadn't been waited on and came over to our table himself. I can recommend quite a few other places that provide better service and better cuisine. It's a shame because the hotel is an awesome place to stay and visit. So much history there...now if they can only provide an exemplary dining experience to go along with the atmosphere of the rest of the resort.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mistermikeNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
405 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Food Just Ok, Service Horrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have been going to the Blue Pig for many years and tried it once again. We had reservations and still had to wait 20 minutes past our reservation for a table as if we didn't have a reservation at all. Once we were seated, we waited for someone to notice us and even bring us waters. When we finally complained, we were assigned an agitated waiter as if he really didn't want another table. The rest of the evening was a constant wait - for salads, entrees and check. Once the food arrived we said to ourselves "we waited for this" as is was just average, nothing special. I don't think I will be returning anytime soon unless I hear it is under new management. There are too many other places in Cape May where the service and food is much better and, when on vacation, the last thing I need is this type of frustration.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank STEBAY711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

During the day this place is nice enough but at night the dimmed lighting and fireplace create a romantic ambience. Also The Cheese and cured meat platter and the shrimp cocktail are may favorite things on the menu.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed a recent meal at the Blue Pig. The wit staff was excellent. The barley and quinoa salad was incredible and tasty. Our dinner was very good and the atmosphere with the real wood burning fireplace made it a great spot on a cold winters night.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RichS230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Pig Tavern also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Blue Pig Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing