We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long lines but worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lobster House

The Lobster House
Ranked #15 of 136 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Long lines but worth the wait”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were looking for a seafood restaurant to replace the Two Mile Landing in Wildwood Crest, and after some searching this is the place. Warning . . . the lines are long. I mean, long. Get there early to avoid the worst of it. They don't take reservations or call-ahead seating, so be prepared. The food is good, fresh seafood, much higher quality that some of the touristy places in Wildwood.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,282
    830
    430
    205
    138
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bustling atmosphere”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

On a recent visit to Cape May, a local took us to this memorable popular seafood restaurant on the waterfront. Upon entering, the enormous bar adorned with nautical photos is filled with lively patrons of all ages and friendly bartenders. A raw bar is within the bar as well. The outdoor dining area is surrounded by departing boats and bustles with patrons. Our table had a perfect vantage point from within. Our kind and knowledgeable waitress , Faith, explained the raw bar and appetizer selections. The fried tomatoes are ripe, not green, but were hot, juicy and sweet. A large, hot loaf of crusty bread covered in seasonings , accompanied the tomatoes and was immediately sliced, slathered in butter and devoured. My caloric splurge was on the Shore Dinner consisting of a one pound split lobster, mussels, clams and shrimp in a steaming bowl of white wine. I didn't even mind the bib lovingly tied by Faith! Last to finish, I took 2 servings of bread pudding home to share. The price was quite reasonable, considering the freshness and quantity of the seafood. A delicious way to begin a Cape May adventure!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adicwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landisville
Level Contributor
85 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice deck”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We enjoy the Lobster House. We go into the fish market, ordering our food, pick up in back, going out on deck and eating by the boats and water. Very good Manhattan and New England Clam Chowder. We also enjoy the fish sandwiches. The selection is not as much as the restaurant, but the food is very good, prices are reasonable and the view is great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not expected”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

It is such a large place, I guess I just expected mediocre food, but we were pleasantly surprised. We got in late, about 10pm, the waitress was not annoyed and was very sweet. Her name Tia. I wanted a vegan choice and they made me a wonderful platter of grilled vegetables. My husband ordered from their menu and requested the pasta aldente, and it came that way. It was wonderful that they cared enough to try to accomadate me when so many other places do not.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teri10309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

First visit to the well- known landmark. Great lobster salad, and cole slaw is better than mine! I recommend this restaurant. They don't take reservations, so expect to wait. To avoid the long lines for dinner, try lunch. Great variety, and oh that onion bread!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nnjpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster House also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to The Lobster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing