We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere!”

Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 140 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $55
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: The Peter Shields Inn quality cuisine bursts with freshness and creativity. The Peter Shields offers a la carte dining along with a four course chef’s tasting menu. Also expect to find weekly menu additions that incorporate fresh and innovative ingredients. The magnificent ocean views are the perfect scenery to celebrate a special occasion or simply enjoy a memorable dining experience. In the summer months, outdoor dining is available on porches overlooking the ocean. The Inn also specializes in both casual & elegant ocean front weddings. For the absolute finest local and seasonal fare, Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant is a favorite of residents and visitors to Cape May alike. Additional Details: Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room.
Columbiaville, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We ate here and the food was great. The atmosphere was very romantic! We loved how special the waitress made us feel!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    116
    47
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Elegant ocean front dining”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We live in Cape May and come here often. The beautiful surroundings and ocean views from the Inn style restaurant and pleasant work staff make for a great dining experience. 5:30pm - 6:30pm they offer a great value prix fixe menu and the restaurant is byob. If you come to Cape May, NJ the Peter Shields Inn should definitely be a consideration for dinner.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First Time Visit”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went for dinner on February 13, 2014. From the time we walked in until the time we left we the staff was friendly, tentative and accommodating. We ate in one of the dining rooms next to the room with a fireplace. After opening our bottle of wine and ordering our dinner we enjoyed our first glass of wine next to the fire. For our dinner my wife ordered the Valentines Tasting menu that included Cream of Potato soup,
Prawn appetizer, Hangar steak with cartelized onions and mashed potatoes and dessert. I had the Cream of cauliflower soup, the Yellowfin Tuna Tartare and the Hangar Steak. The cauliflower soup was succulent, while not too heavy. The Yellowfin Tuna Tartar was a more than ample portion that created an explosion of flavor in your mouth while remaining balanced. The Hangar steaks were good perfectly medium-rare, as the chef recommended. The portions of steak were great. All courses were presented with a high degree of artistry. My wife and I both took home about half of the steak. We enjoyed our desserts and had our coffee once again by the fire. Our server, Harriet, never rushed us and was very friendly. We concluded our visit with a tour of some of the 9 rooms at the Inn. If you are looking for a gem in historic Cape May, we highly recommend the Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant. You will not be disappointed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Emil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very romantic”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband and I decided on the spur of the moment to have dinner here. When we arrived on a Saturday night without a reservation we were graciously welcomed at the door, even though they had served their last reservation 90 minutes before. The host quickly checked to make sure the kitchen staff had not started to break down the food prep area already, and we were seated in an intimate dining room with a cozy fireplace. The restaurant is located in a beachfront mansion, and I can't wait to go back in the warmer months so we can sit outside watching the waves roll in. We were surprised to learn that this was a BYOB, but, no problem if you forget to bring wine. The restaurant is allowed to sell NJ wines, and we had a very nice bottle from the Cape May Winery. The menu was pricey, but worth it. I am a chef, and my husband is in the restaurant business. We are not easily impressed when we go out to eat, but the Peter Shields Inn is now on our list of one of the best meals we ever ate. The setting was gorgeous, service was attentive and professional. Even though we were late arrivals, no one made us feel rushed. We were treated like welcome guests to a friends home. Looking forward to our next visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hhtsLucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“elegant and charming”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The atmosphere is so charming and yet elegant in this beautiful old house. A glowing fire adds to the warm ambiance. We tried the 4 course menu as well as the 3 course. They were both wonderful. The chef was kind enough to accommodate a special request for his superb scallops that we so enjoyed the last time we dined there. The chocolate lava cake is the perfect ending to a fabulous meal. Coming from Miami where great restaurants are everywhere, it is hard to find fine dining in a small town. Peter Shields proved to be a delightful experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant also viewed

 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing