We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Washington Inn

Washington Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Washington Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 140 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Jefferson
Description: We are currently open every day of the week, reservations beginning at 5 PM. Our Wine Bar opens at 4:30 PM. Our hours are seasonal. Please see our website for details.
Monroe, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Our family reserved the wine cellar room for a family reunion and 60th anniversary celebration.
The staff could not have been more gracious. The food was superb. I had the rack of lamb. My daughter had the pork chop. Both were incredible! From the bread to the appetizer to the entree (we had dessert plans somewhere else), there was such attention to detail. This is truly a great restaurant! I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Capebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    647
    191
    54
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice place, not exceptional”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed our dinner here but we weren't "wow'ed" by it. We had heard really good things so we had high expectations. The decor us nice and everything was good, including the service. But, we felt the menu and food were average.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

This place is great. Mostly enjoy sitting at the Wine Bar. TJ is the best. The most genuine, friendly person I've come across. Makes you feel welcome and is always on top of service. Then comes the food...it is fantastic!! Personal favorites are the happy hr $1 oysters, then the crab cake and braised lamb cavatelli...wow!! Wine flights are a great opportunity to try very nice wines without breaking the bank.
If you've never been here, you're missing out. If you have been, then you know what I'm talking about...can't think of a better place for romantic night out or just hanging with friends. Oh...also got an education on amaretto!!

Helpful?
Thank foodieboy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Original and Still at the Top”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The Washington Inn, in the heart historic Cape May, has a lot of competition. The city has had a restaurant renaissance in the past 30 years that doesn't show signs of waning. But, in my book, the Washington Inn comes out on top year after year. Happy hour, every day from 5 - 7 features buck-a-shuck local oysters and quite reasonably priced wine flights. The dining menu changes seasonally and has daily specials including locally sourced seafood and vegetables. It isn't the most cost effective place to eat in Cape May but is by far the best value. The wait staff is knowledgeable and attentive. We have dined there with large groups and small and the consistency has proven itself year-after-year for the past 30 years! I highly recommend the Washington Inn for a true Jersey Shore dining experience. Oh, and let's not forget the free valet parking in a not-so-parking-friendly part of town.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbury, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent experience overall, highly recommend”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

While skeptical that fine dining could really be truly fine, at Cape May - I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was attentive, the ambiance was charming, the food was superb, and the overall experience was nothing short of excellent. As far room for improvement, I am not sure their wine menu is priced on par with value, and it's almost too extensive of a list. And, the average age of the clientele is definitely above 55, but not sure if that's anything the establishment can correct.

We started out with specialty cocktails, ordered off the tablet. They did not disappoint. We had two appetizers - the oysters and scallop dish. I recommend both, but definitely going with the special oyster of the day as part of your oyster selection. For main dishes, we had both versions of the sea bass (one local black bass and one Mediterranean sea bass served whole) and both were excellent. The preparation on both dishes were fabulous. We had a lovely (but expensive) bottle of wine with dinner. What was especially enjoyable was our waiter knew we were in no hurry and wanted to enjoy and drink our bottle of wine slowly. He didn't rush our dishes coming out, nor in taking them away but was just around to check in with us as far as timing - and he got it right. If you have a special occasion or just have a big budget to spend, best fine dining in southern sea shores of NJ is Washington Inn.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington Inn also viewed

 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing