We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always pleasant at the Washington Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Inn

Washington Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Washington Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 136 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Jefferson
Description: We are currently open every day of the week, reservations beginning at 5 PM. Our Wine Bar opens at 4:30 PM. Our hours are seasonal. Please see our website for details.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always pleasant at the Washington Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The genial atmosphere and wonderful staff alway make our outings at the Washington Inn top notch in every way and this past July 4th was no different from our past experience. This time we hosted our niece, nephew and their two year old daughter. The meal was great as always. The waitress could not have been nicer or more entertaining to the two year old.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 542Randy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    183
    51
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinner at Cape May Washington Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently celebrated a significant anniversary by dining at the Washington Inn in Cape May. We love their intimate bar and cocktails--a nice place to wait while your table is being prepared. We have had the same waiter --Godfrey (I think)--several times and he is very attentive without being intrusive. The food is always top notch. Although the dining area can be loud, it is no more so than most restaurants now.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lioness49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We ate here July 4th weekend. Made a reservation on Open Table and our table was ready as soon as we walked in. Excellent, friendly service. Delicious meal. Filet Mignon excellent as was our appetizers. Pretty presentation. Nice atmosphere. Small menu though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 3girls3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brossard, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Top price but not top food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were looking forward to eat at this place after all the good reviews we read. There is an extensive wine list and priced accordingly. The menu is not very elaborate but you will find fish and meat. The presentation of the meals is impeccable. I had the NY Steak and it was just average. The meat was not tender and not cooked appropriately. A good steak is grilled outside and tender inside. Mine was too tough inside, not good quality for a 49$ steak. My friend had the lamb chops and they were not cooked enough. Medium rare is not uncooked. Overall although the place is beautiful and the service impeccable but we were disapointed with the overall price/quality ratio. We don't mind paying top dollars but we expect top quality and it was not there. Sorry.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous dinner and theater package”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We found the Cape May Stage dinner packages on the theater's web-site and was delighted to know Washington Inn was include - reservations were really simple, the staff was very pleasant and accommodating and helped us get to the theater from the restaurant and the vallet parked our car knowing we were doing the package. What more could you ask for - it was fabulous experience!

The prefix menu had great selections and the salmon was the very best! We highly recommend the restaurant and plan to go back when in Cape May again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CLT-BasedTravaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington Inn also viewed

 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing