We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great casual place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pilot House - CLOSED

Pilot House
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Pilot House, Cape May restaurant offers something for everyone.From scrumptious appetizers to mouth watering entrees & delectable desserts; everything from the freshest and finest in seafood, veal, chicken, beef and pork dishes, to mouth watering sandwiches salads, and of course; the most talked about in all of the Cape May restaurants, the Pilot House "gourmet burgers." The Pilot House is proud to stand among the very top of Cape May's restaurants with quality fare, service, and selection, at the same time offering, "affordable family dining".
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great casual place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We tried the Pilot House on a whim and were very pleased that we did! The food is interesting and varied, not your average casual-bar food kind of place. It was hard to pick something but we ended up with a variety of dishes to try and they were wonderful! We had some generous drinks. Prices are reasonable. The staff was friendly and very helpful, made some excellent recommendations. The restaurant is near lots of shoppping spots, so make this part of your itinerary if you hit Cape May in the near future.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karlise13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    29
    12
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“World Class Food & Service...at Casual Prices & Dress”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

If you enjoy excellent food at great prices, with world class service, go to the Pilot House. Yes, the Pilot House. The owners of Peter Shields have purchased it, and chef Carl Messick is in the house. I had the tuna tartare and the day boat calamari and the presentation as well as the food was magnificent. I started out with a Cucumber Lemonade, a sophisticated and delicious cocktail.

That cocktail, and the outstanding service, are the courtesy of Sean, the manager of PSI restaurant and now Pilot House. From the minute we walked in, the hostess was welcoming and accommodating. Our waitress was attentive and professional.

I was there with three other friends and everyone was blown away. I should mention that the night before we had dinner at PSI, so the continuity of the culinary excellence was not lost on us. The only difference - this time we were in shorts :-).

Thank you Jeff, Carl and Sean for continuing to raise the bar of excellence in Cape May!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cape_May_Local99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delightful ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Went there for quick lunch and it was great, quick and delicious. Only error was services, a little slow for 2:00pm lunch, never saw a manager and server helping pour water refills got 90% in the glass & the other on the floor. Will return for dinner.

Helpful?
2 Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New Owners, Great Impression”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

My husband and I stopped into the Pilot House for the first time since it is under new ownership. We had heard various comments but we wanted to try it out for ourselves. We were very impressed.

Our visit was on Wednesday, July 9th about 7:30 PM and it was just the right time to pop in. We always sit at the bar and dine and we were very pleased with the knowledge and service of the staff.

We started with the Shrimp Appetizer special, which was excellent.

For dinner tonight, I had the Turkey Burger with the option of a side salad instead of fries. Turkey was prepared just right and the portion was large but not too much. The salad had a hazelnut dressing with just the right amount of seasoning.

My husband enjoyed the fish and chips so much, that he'll have that again the next time we stop in. The portion size for the Fish and Chips was too much for him this time so we have more at home now to enjoy a second time around.

Overall, we really enjoyed the meal, the atmosphere and plan to return again for a taste of something else on the menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 540kathyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Kudos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Had not been there for years but read it is under new ownership and gave it a try. The menu was a little limited but our entrees were great and service was cordial and attentive. Turns out it is now owned by Peter shields. One of Managers, Cassandra checked on us and thought it was a nice touch. You can also eat at bar. Will return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bobk1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilot House also viewed

 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing