We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely dining experience at Exit Zero”
Review of Tisha's

Tisha's
Reserve with OpenTable
Tisha's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 138 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Jackson
Description: In the Spring of 1988 on the corner of Pacific and Spencer in Wildwood New Jersey, Letitia Negro opened a ten table restaurant known for "Home Cooking". The $9.95 three course price fix menu featured family favorites and "Made from the heart" cuisine. The food, like its Restaurant School graduate chef/owner, was genuine, unique and unforgettable. The end of Tisha's Home Cooking came early in the 1990's, but in turn became the beginning of Tisha's Fine Dining in Cape May. In 1995, Paul Negro, son of Letitia, and his wife Jennifer continued the tradition here in Cape May. Paul took what he learned from his mother, added his own talent and love for food, and established a great following. Some things have changed in the city and the restaurant has now moved from the solarium building on the beach to its new home on the Washington Street Mall. No matter where they are Paul and Jennifer will proudly continue the tradition of love and passion for food and people in honor of Tisha, an amazing friend, mother and chef.
Toms river
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lovely dining experience at Exit Zero”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I were in Cape May this past weekend (March 14-16, 2014). As we were having our breakfast at the inn we were staying at, we met a lovely couple who frequent Cape May on a regular basis. They recommended Tisha's. for dinner. They also recommended that we make reservations.
We followed their advice and made reservations. You can buy Cape May wines at the restaurant; however, we brought our own.
This restaurant was just great! The service was top notch and the food was delicious. We did see quite a few people trying to dine without reservations (it was a Saturday night), but they were told they had no openings.
We had a delightful dining experience from beginning to end. We would definitely return to this jewel of a restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    810
    328
    83
    41
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of our Favs in Cape May NJ”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We went to Tisha’s in Mid March for a birthday dinner. We have been there numerous times before and were pleased with both service and the food. The prices are fair, especially for a shore town, and you get good value for your dollar. The atmosphere of the place is nice: not too dark, and not “diner-y.” Nice music playing. They have 2 rooms; I prefer the back room. It’s quieter, and less people come in and out the door.

Not only is their food pretty consistent and of good quality, but it is BYOB. I am able to enjoy wines I like from my cellar, and it doesn’t push my bill up. (Just an FYI, there’s a liquor store pretty close if you want to snag a bottle in town, though)

It’s situated right smack in the middle of the Cape May Mall, so it’s easy and convenient. They have a newish patio out back. While we didn’t eat out there this time (20 degrees and 30mph winds!!), we have eaten out there before. I really like an outdoor option. It actually started to sprinkle while we were there, and the umbrella over the table was more than adequate to keep the spritz off of us as we continued through our summertime dinner.

There were three of us this time. One had Chilean Sea bass, one had Veal Medallions, and one had Gnocchi in Gorgonzola sauce. Everyone enjoyed their meals. We all also had the lobster bisque soup. Very good, but just a tad pricey, in my opinion. Was good, though. Dinner comes with a nice salad. In the past, I’ve had their PEI Mussels in Thai spices /coconut milk as an appy there (it wasn’t on the menu this time). That is really good!

Overall, one of our favorite places to go in Cape May.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheMoonfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, United States
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had a nice quite dinner in this understated restaurant. The food, we both had salmon was excellently prepared. Staff was friendly and gave the impression they liked what they were doing.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deptford, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay!”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Everytime my husband & I go to Cape May NJ, We always go to Trisha's.The food is very good, service too & the locations is great. Nice clean place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeLaw14NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We dine here regularly and it is always top notch. The seafood risotto is excellent and the fried calamari is not to be missed. They are served with some hot peppers which we love. The lunches here are also extremely good. Another huge plus for Tisha's is it is BYOB.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tisha's also viewed

 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Tisha's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing