We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families & Knitters!”

Jersey Shore Alpacas
Ranked #2 of 60 things to do in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fleece and Fun for Everyone! Jersey Shore Alpacas is a small, friendly farm located in Green Creek, just north of Cape May, NJ. Our Summer schedule is: July - "open to the public" Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays and private, appointment-only tours Monday-Wednesday only. August - "open to the public" Saturdays and private, appointment-only tours Monday-Friday. Closed on Sundays. Note: we will have a special "open farm" time on Tuesday, July 4th from 10am-noon. There will be no private appointments on July 4th. We'll give you some carrots to feed to our friendly 'pacas during your visit (both open days and private visits). There is no admission charge on "open days," but donations are accepted and much appreciated. You'll love meeting our curious alpacas and browsing in our shop for soft, warm alpaca clothing and cuddly toys! We also carry more than 20 different types of alpaca yarn from Blue Sky Fibers, Alpaca Yarn Company, our Coop, and farm yarn (when available).
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Great for Families & Knitters!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I finished a knitting project while staying in Stone Harbor and wanted to get some yarn to start a new one. I googled yarn stores in the area and after Michael's crafts (no thanks) I saw this little gem. We went to the farm on a Saturday around 11:30 and we were very promptly greeted by Jim. He told us to come around the back and he would meet us. We went around to see the most adorable creatures on the plant. So many alpacas! Jim was very knowledgable and gave us carrots to feed them. We were lucky to get out without being spit on. The store is a knitter haven at the shore and I was thrilled to see the selections of different yarns. Tish was so helpful with selecting the yarn and even gave me a pattern with my purchase. I look forward to going back. Thanks Jim & Tish!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank evogelsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tish C, Owner at Jersey Shore Alpacas, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
You're very welcome! We enjoyed meeting you both and helping you select yarn from Annabel and Marcel Marceau - hope you enjoy thinking of their sweet faces while you knit! Good luck on your hat, and we hope to see you again soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    12
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Alpacas are so cute!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a really fun attraction in the Cape May area and we were really happy to see and pet the alpacas on the farm. The owners are very friendly and knowledgeable about each alpaca, letting us know each of their personalities and their stories. It was free to visit the alpacas and the owners gave out carrots for free to feed the alpacas. The items in the gift store were reasonably priced and the alpaca products were so soft and comfortable. It was an added plus that the owners took the effort to make sure that the products were made responsibly through fair trade agreements. Will visit them again on our next visit to the shore.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JamesLee07030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tish C, Owner at Jersey Shore Alpacas, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
So glad you and your family enjoyed your visit! And we are also very grateful that you took the time to write such a kind review of our farm. The alpacas (and the Carpinellis!) say "thanks!" and hope to see you visit again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great, fun visit!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Looking for something different to do for 3 animal lovers, we found Jersey Shore Alpacas on the internet. On a gorgeous spring morning we arrived and were greeted by the owner who gave us fresh carrots for the alpacas. He was very informative and knowledgeable about his animals and did warn us that they spit. Well, spit a few did, but we didn't mind. There were very young alpacas as well as older ones, and they were comical! After our personal tour we visited the gift shop where there are gorgeous gloves, hats, sweaters and baby items made from alpaca wool. We bought a few items and talked some more with the owner. The alpacas were all cared-for and cute, and the visit is educational. We highly recommend it, especially for children so they can learn early on how awesome alpacas and all animals are!!!

PS I selected family/ teens...there were 3 adults in all with 2 of them acting like teens all of the time. Closest I could do!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank InnAddicted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tish C, Owner at Jersey Shore Alpacas, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your fun and informative review of our farm! We enjoy sharing the alpacas with animal lovers like your family, and the alpacas themselves enjoy meeting "two-leggeds" as well (mostly, they enjoy the carrots, though! LOL!). Thanks again for visiting and for taking the time to write the lovely review! Hope to see you again . . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming stop”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The owners are very friendly and give you carrots to feed the alpacas. The store has adorable gifts that are not too expensive and you feel like you're helping a good cause. The alpacas are friendly and adorable. They each have their own name and personality. Highly recommend as a fun, non time consuming activity.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tish C, Owner at Jersey Shore Alpacas, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your visit to our farm! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with the alpacas and our shop. Yes, the 'pacas are all different, and often people find that they have "favorites," even after just one visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oreland, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I brought my 7 and 10 year old nieces to see the alpacas here last weekend. It was so much fun for them, and the adults as well. We were allowed to feed the alpacas bags of carrots (watch out - they can spit!), while learning about how the farm itself functions. The animals were really beautiful - so great to be able to see them up close and personal. Jim - our host, was so friendly, patient, and informative. He really seemed to enjoy his work. Afterwards, we went into their shop, where they had many beautiful sweaters, hats, gloves, scarves, etc. for sale. There is no fee to come here, although a donation is recommended. The wool was surprisingly soft! I highly recommend a visit here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ibkarenoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tish C, Owner at Jersey Shore Alpacas, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your visit! It's fun for us to be able to share these beautiful animals (not so much the occasional spitting, though! LOL!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jersey Shore Alpacas also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Jersey Shore Alpacas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing