We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best inn in Cape May!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bacchus Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bacchus Inn
Ranked #14 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgeton, New Jersey
1 review
“Best inn in Cape May!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

John and Lisa do their utmost to make you feel welcome and special. The rooms are comfortable and well designed. Lisa makes the best breakfasts that even my picky husband will eat! Thank you to John and Lisa for taking the time and making the effort to make us feel welcome, comfortable and like one of the family!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanbill98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    17
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
155
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
08080
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

We found the Bacchus Inn online and hoped it lived up to the pictures. It did. What the pictures don't show are the innkeepers and the peace.

I found the front porch a good spot to curl up with a book. There is a fireplace there that offers a cozy spot to relax. I am a early riser so it was nice to get out of the room and go downstairs to read before breakfast. The enclosed porch is just off the dining area.

My girlfriend enjoyed breakfast the most. Breakfast was at 9:00 but John was out with coffee and muffins about 7:30. It didn't matter to me because they have a little coffee maker on the porch which I used about 6. Breakfast was great. Lisa made these savory eggs with a side of bacon and fruit. She is as good a cook as a host. She made us dinner reservations that evening.

They have bikes which were nice. It was a little cool but if you stay off the oceanfront it is not cold. Biking is a great way to get around.

We stayed in the Napa room. It looks like the picture. THe room has a lot of light so make sure you draw the blinds if you like it dark in the morning. THe room has a TV. The bed was fine.

In the afternoon they have refreshments. I enjoyed a glass of wine and some cheese. Ok, 2 glasses of wine. My friend had lemonade. We both had some cookies. John is a nice host. He knows the restaurants that gave us several options. The other couple at the inn had been there before and said they really enjoyed the innkeepers company. I have to agree.

John and Lisa will see us again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaca_guyNJUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

This was the third year we stayed and the Bacchus Inn and each time has been wonderful. John and Lisa always take time to talk even though we know they have to be extremely busy. The Bacchus Inn is close to the beach and shopping areas. Our room was spacious and had everything we needed even a DVD player. There are a variety of books and DVD's. They provided beach towels, beach chairs, and bikes. I love the wine and cheese and cookies in the afternoon. It's always a relaxing time chatting with the other guest on the front porch. Breakfasts are delicious! I can't say enough about The Bacchus Inn.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank csisti11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

We've been going to Cape May for quite a few years and this was our first time at the Bacchus Inn. We'll be back again though because it's everything you'd want in a B&B. The bedroom was comfortable, had a tv and dvd player, and just enough space. The bathroom was a little small, but not cramped, and had a shower stall with lots of spouts and options of water sprays. Our room was listed as a deluxe, and offered on site parking, but not all rooms had that included. They offered a hearty breakfast, and a daily wine and cheese gathering. This would be a perfect B&B for first-time B&B guests.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiddo104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, DE
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

We celebrated our 10 year Anniversary at The Bacchus Inn. Our room was perfect.....clean, spacious, gorgeous furnishings and a private bath. Lisa and John are the Innkeepers who make you feel so at home. Our breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. It is very easy to understand why most of the guests are repeat guests. We will be also.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SabayhoundNewark_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

My wife and I enjoyed our stay so much we added an extra day. I truly believe that says it all.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProspectTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

Staying at The Bacchus Inn is a summer tradition for me and my husband now. We come several times throughout the summer for various occasions and can’t say enough good things about it. The Innkeepers know us by name and have a warm welcome for all of their guests. Throughout the years, we have brought almost everyone from our family to visit here as well because we enjoy it so much, and they all share our opinion at the end of the stay. The incredible breakfasts, inviting atmosphere, relaxing rocking chairs on the porch, and even the outdoor shower for cleaning up before the ride home keep us coming back.

One of the best things is the variety of rooms that they offer. When we are having a special weekend, they have the more expensive, fancier rooms. When we just want a little weekend getaway on a budget, they have smaller less expensive rooms as well. As can be expected, the smaller rooms aren’t as fancy and sometimes the bathroom is not inside the room and can be a bit small, but our experience is just as enjoyable (especially with a little more money still left in our pocket!) It’s amazing the ingenuity used in converting a Victorian mansion into a B&B. We have stayed at other places in Cape May and found them either overpriced without the number of amenities offered here, or just stuffy and not the type of place I would want to spend a relaxing, casual weekend at the beach. The Bacchus Inn is the perfect blend of comfort, casual elegance, and fun.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybug_21s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.8 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#6 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bacchus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bacchus Inn

Property: The Bacchus Inn
Address: 719 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2307
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John & Lisa Matusiak welcome you to their charming seasideCape May Bed & Breakfast. The Bacchus Inn is located in the primary historic district of Cape May New Jersey and is only a short walk from the fabulous shops, restaurants, and Cape May Beaches. The inn consists of 2 buildings, which are across the street from one another; the "Main House" and the "Cottage". ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing