We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What Happened to the Jetty?!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Jetty Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jetty Motel
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What Happened to the Jetty?!”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

OK, first we want to say that we have faithfully stayed at the Jetty for over 5 years now. Our more recent visit gave us pause. We Love the Jetty & hate to complain, but this time our stay beckoned us to give it a review, so the next unsuspecting vacationers might be informed of these issues, allowing them to make an informed decision whether to stay or go.

The view is spectacular & the staff are pretty friendly & the rooms accommodating, given the age of the Motel. We clearly understand that they had a hurricane the week before our vacation stay, but what we encountered this time around made me very sick with a terrible chest infection that ruined my entire annual vacation! I know that this is the reason, because a similar situation occurred 2 years ago at a Red Roof & my Doctor blamed it on mold in the room. He warned me to never stay in a room that has experienced water damage again. But this was our vacation week & we sooo Love the Jetty Motel, we decided to give it a chance.
The suite had a terrible smell of mold & I mentioned to my husband that they now had a dehumidifier in the room, as we had stayed in the same room in July & there was none at the time. Also, the large living room throw rug was replaced from prior pictures we had taken in the room.

It was quite obvious to us that they had taken on water in the room, as the grass out front was completely gone, and again we compared to pictures taken in July. We literally dumped gallons of water daily out of the dehumidifier!

The "Chamber Maid" assigned to our room did not leave us any cups, tissues(I used a lot due to becoming sick), soaps, etc. We also saw her yelling at another worker that had been friendly to us over the years & cleaned our rooms to perfection. Very unprofessional! Finally, we got the other lady to clean our room towards the end of the stay & things were much improved.

What I would like to say to the Jetty Corporation, if I could find an owner online(almost impossible!), is that there is a necessary upgrade needed to these suites, and that they should have at least told us of the rooms mildew/mold issues & asked us if we would prefer another room. They also, need to check in with the Management periodically, to verify that their staff are professional & doing their job.
We like it so much there & hope to stay there again, given we know that the personnel will take this seriously & act on it, but it also takes the corporation owners to do something as well.

Room Tip: Stay in upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sandra Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    54
    13
    11
    14
See reviews for
38
52
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stone Ridge, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Great location and very clean. We loved being the last hotel on the strip. Convenient to everything. The pool looked nice, we headed for the beach and walked every morning on the ocean side walk way.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynngore54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Staff is over friendly and nice! Perfect location on beach as it's the last motel right on the beach. Pool area should be open from 8am to 8pm. Room was HUGE. However, did not have microwave. Advice to the owners - for about $60 you can put a microwave in EVERY room, it doesn't need to be an efficiency room b/c it has a microwave. A TV stand would also help b/c the dresser is small. The maid was excellent on our first day there but, we had to ask her to clean our room the rest of the stay, it was annoying. The room was spotless though. The pool is is clean. The wi fi is very good.
We would stay again. But they should make the above adjustments anyway.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank royalstation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Staff was very friendy, fast ckeck in, clean pool and clean room. Place was nice and location good, no screaming party animals as some tend to do down the shore because they are not allowed to be wild at home lol. The thing we wished was the pool would of been open to use from 8 am to 8 pm not 10 am to 6 pm.

Room Tip: Tell them what YOU expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hereitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Located at the absolute western end of Beach Avenue the Jetty Motel offers an unparalleled location in Cape May. If you are here for sun, surf, and sand then this is the place.
Clean and comfortable but no frills. Coffee pot? Microwave? Hairdryer? - Look elswhere.
Beach access and little traffic? - This is it.
Stayed for three nights and no complaints. Friendly staff and good neighbors.
If you want a spa, there are better choices. If you want to enjoy Cape May, stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mylestoogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Literally right next to the beach. Little diner next door with decent breakfast. Very friendly staff and excellent service. Not too far from anything; we could walk from the motel to the CMBO hawkwatch platform via the beach in about 15 minutes. You'll need a car to get to the farther spots like Hidden Valley or the Beanery or the marina. Very reasonable rates, but then again we were there at the end of the season. Only complaint is the bright lights in the courtyard.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

The place is located perfectly. We spent as much time out of our room as possible. Sleeping at night was tough, the A/C was loud and we couldn't leave the windows shut either because it smelled so musty in our room. Room size was great, beds comfy enough. But our clothes smelled like the room, even our teens minded it. We enjoyed the pool, actually spent all possible time there becuase of the room smell. Didn't want to complain becuase the place was packed and we couldn't afford another place becuase we figured we wouldn't get our $$ back. The room appeared clean as was the entire grounds but maybe the carpet needs replaced or there is a mold/mildew problem that you can't see. Really affected our enjoyment level - even when we got dressed up for fathers day dinner out - we smelled like the room...ugh. They keep the windows open alot I guess, even then..... I did buy air freshener. Since we were out of the room we walked alot, so many other places to stay we'll try somewhere else next time. We were disappointed....so much potential, but if you can't beathe in the room, makes it hard to enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank Pennypup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
The South Winds
The South Winds
#22 of 37 in Cape May
25 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#5 of 37 in Cape May
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#28 of 37 in Cape May
215 reviews
1.2 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
650 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#14 of 37 in Cape May
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetty Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetty Motel

Property: Jetty Motel
Address: 2nd and Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Jetty Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jetty Motel is only a few steps away from the beach. Here you can swim in the Atlantic, go fishing, or just have fun. We have a full-sized pool with a separate kiddie pool and spacious pool deck. The Jetty offers rooms with two double beds or one king-sized bed featuring air conditioning or heat, cable television, refrigerator, and daily maid service. Washers and dryers are available, and ample off-road parking. We are also close to one of the best birding spots and within walking distance to regularly scheduled bird and butterfly walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetty Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetty Motel Cape May
Jetty Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing