We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Deal”
Review of The Star

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Star
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2010

The great thing about the Star is that it owned by, and is right across the street from, the Congress Inn. This means you can use all the Congress Inn's facilities. For example, when we wanted to go to the beach we just showed up at the Congress Inn's beach tent, showed them our room keys, and they set up (at no cost) chairs, umbrella, and towels for our use - no need to schlep them out there, struggle to set them up, and then schlep them back again. You also get a $14 credit for breakfast at ther restaurant but $14 doesn't go very far there. Our room was well appointed, clean, and quiet, but very small. The main portion of the room had just enough space for a queen bed and a dresser with some space to tiptoe around the edges. The location is excellent, very close to many restaurants and just one block from the beach. Overall, it's a good deal.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PhillyAreaShermie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 216 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stayed at the Inn one night on our way to NC. I didn't realize there was an Inn attached to the motel. The young man at check was very personable. Our room was on the 3rd floor, very nice bed , ocean view, robes but no coffee pot or small fridge.Need a shelf in bathroom. To get ice you had to go downstairs and outside to the back of the Inn. We did go to the beach, it was very nice to use the chairs and umbrella service provided and yes tip those young people.The price of the room also included a 14.00 dollar off coupon for breakfast at the Blue Pig. My real issue was no place to get coffee until 0700 when the Starbucks opened in Congress Hall. Also you need a code to enter the Inn after 5:00 pm and we had been given the wrong code, but we were able to get the correct code across the street at Congress Hall. We normally stay at The Montreal Inn, I would not stay here for anymore than 1 or 2 nights due to lack of fridge and coffee maker in room. You have to be in pretty good shape to go up and down the stairs with your bags, no elevator.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank benton1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We stayed at The Star Inn for 4 nights. We have 2 chidren 8 and 4 years old. It was really perfect. The bedroom was really nice (linens in the bed were top notch) comfortable, clean, upscale. The bathroom is a little small (just need to keep tolietries somewhere else. Overall very clean, kitchen was great - we did a downstairs room so had the outdoor patio (which I did not go out in, not interested in the bugs outside - camping is not my thing). Would have liked to see a flat screen TV in the bedroom. We got the It's a Beach Package through Congress Hall (which was FANTASTIC) - it's basically like staying at Congress Hall for less - would 100% go back! We also used the Congress Hall kids camp for got 2 nights for ourselves to a grownup dinner. Congress Hall or The Star Inn is the PLACE TO STAY IN CAPE MAY. If it's JUST ADULTS, I'd OPT for CONGRESS HALL OVER THE STAR (unless $$ is a factor).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEM2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Stayed here July 10th weekend for our anniversary. Awesome retro/shabby chic motel room with neat kitchen efficiency. The room had a king size bed with a separate room with a modern sectional pull out couch. You could easily sleep two kids on couch without pulling it out. Cute little chandelier above couch. Flat screen tv, free coffee, microwave, fridge. Excellent AC. Walls were aqua blue and very cool. If I had to be picky, bathrooms a little cramped, with very little shelving for toiletries and shower was unusual and a little hard to figure out. Never could get the shower head to stop dripping, although housekeeping did it everytime, they cleaned the room. Also, you can use the facilities after checking out. There are shower facilities by pool and by the motel. The other best thing about this motel/hotel (free parking outside room) was that it is owned by Congress hall across the small street and you are entitled to use all the facilities there. At the pool and beach, unknown to us, no need to pack beach chairs, towels, they provide all. Really nice to go to the beach (across the street) and be catered to.They provide umbrellas/tables/lounge chairs/towels at beach if you want. At the pool, we ordered lunch and drinks. Staff was very accommodating, moving umbrellas for shade. Definitely worth the extra $ for this motel. Found room as a last minute deal for about $350/room.

Side note: The kids at the beach and pool are so courteous and accommodating, dragging out heavy lounge chairs with towels and umbrellas on the beach to your location of choice. Why not give them a small tip? We saw many people who did not and the kids were amazingly professional and didn't blink an eye. One day we tried to tip a manager for getting us extra towels and she refused, saying it was her job. What an amazing attitude. Even at Four SEasons/Maui, the beach boys would hesitate and wait for a tip!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank junybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

we love the star inn! it's a great room! the location is half a block to the beach, near all the shopping and restaurants. a nice quiet place across from the majestic Congress Hall. The rooms are spacious, a small living room, decorated nicely and brightly. flat screen TV in the living room small kitchenette, updated bathroom. Nice king size bed in the bedroom, quality sheets and comforter. The bonus about this room is all have a front porch with a rocking chair and swing. the ground floor rooms have a "back yard" that is private and has nice "wicker' furniture. We had a great time when our friends came down for a night, it's a great place to have cocktails! they stayed the night and were comfortable on the couch, which is a pullout bed. The bonus is that if you have another couple with you, the bathroom is between the living room/bedroom, so no one is disturbed if they have to "go"! there is a door to the bedroom which adds privacy, and there is another tv in the bedroom. Maid service is terriffic, rooms are cleaned before 11am, and if you need anything, when you call, it's brought over in minutes. This is part of the Congress Hall, so the fitness room, and pool is included in your amenities. Overall a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neesee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

Husband and I traveled to Cape May in May, 2010 for our anniversary. We chose the Star Inn based on the reviews here on Trip Advisor and got a special rate on Expedia for it (also heard about that on TA).

Pros
1. Amenities of the Congress Hall Hotel at a lower price point - we could use Congress Hall's beach and pool amenities with a cheaper room rate.
2. Great linens! There is nothing more appealing to me than nice linens, and nothing more repulsive in a hotel than thin, hard linens. This hotel's linens were on par with Westin's Heavenly Bed etc.
3. The room included a $14 breakfast voucher for the Blue Pig Tavern, the restaurant at the Congress Hall hotel. We had a great sit-down breakfast in the morning.
4. Location - The Star Inn seems to have one of the best locations in Cape May - close to the beach, close to shopping and food.

Cons
1. The Star Inn is a converted motel, so it wasn't super-super luxe, but it had been remodeled in a fun, modern way.
2. There was a slightly musty air to the room.

Overall, I'd definitely recommend The Star Inn to a friend.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCmetrodogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Close to the central cape may area and beaches. I visited off season with extended family and stayed int he two bedroom. Saved money on meals and drinks as the unit contained mini kitchen and living area. convenient and easy to navigate. No frills and not for romance.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,180 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Shack
Beach Shack
#20 of 37 in Cape May
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star

Address: 29 Perry St, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $100 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Star 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than a block from the ocean, The Star is a classic Cape May beach hotel, lovingly restored to provide an ideal blend of nostalgia, fresh seashore design and modern hotel comfort. The Star offers a range of accommodations to suit the needs of every type of beach traveler, including nine comfortable guestrooms, 10 motel-style efficiencies with kitchenettes, some with private backyards and two luxurious two-bedroom carriage houses featuring full-length decks overlooking the ocean. All feature imaginative, evocative décor that's inspired by the classic beach house experience with lots of bright, sunny colors and playful nautical accents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Cape May
Star Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing