We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid value, especially for family.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Star

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Star
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Houston, TX
1 review
“Solid value, especially for family.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

The motel suite was clean and comfortable, with a small deck in front and sitting area out back. Use of the Congress Hall amenities was a definite plus. Good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ehouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    90
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
114
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
469 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

It's across the street (Perry street is not busy and simple to cross) from the Congress Hall hotel (with which the Star Inn is affiliated), a short block to the beach, and a block in the other direction from the quaint downtown shopping district ... great location!

The Star Inn is a smallish, older, 3-storey house, which has been converted to an inn. Not a modern luxury hotel by any standard, but very nice, clean, and fairly updated, with good service. We stayed on the third floor with an ocean view ... nice, but watch your head, since the roofline intrudes into the room! The bathroom is nicely updated, but the location in the eaves makes it difficult to stand up (the mirror over the sink is fairly useless (only a foot and a half high between the sink and the sloping roof) but there is a mirrored wall to the side (not a big deal). Towel and linen service twice a day is great for a beach hotel!

Only problem during our 5 day stay was the last night when some very unruly (and most likely drunk) people had a protracted and recurring shouting and door slamming match (in the hallways and outside)! Not pleasant in the middle of the night!!

The amenities at the Congress Hall across the street are all available to guests of the Star Inn (including complementary umbrella, chair, and towel service on the beach!). The Blue Pig restaurant in Congress Hall is good, and Star guest receive a $14 daily credit toward breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MassCouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Star Inn with our two young children (ages 2 and 7). We stayed in room 22 on the second floor. It was a 1 bedroom .....very roomy and clean. There was a small kitchen area with a sink, frig, microwave. A nice size bedroom with a king size bed and living room area with a pullout couch. The bathroom was very clean. The room had a small balcony area in the front with 2 chairs and a table. You can walk over to Congress Hall and use the pool. plenty of shopping and restaurants all around. I would stay thee again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackieda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

Great location (1 block to the beach). The room (#4) very clean with a modern look (leopard color carpeting, large class shower with subway style tiles, aveda bath products). It was wonderful being able to use the free beach chairs, umbrellas, and towels at the beach (supplied by Congress Hall Hotel). Enjoyed the coupons for a free drink and pastry in the morning. We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
113 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

Having read a lot of reviews, and knowing Cape May quite well (and NOT liking the "Victorian" nonsense) I booked 5 nights at the Star Inn with slight trepidation, but reasonably confident that we would have a good time.
Well, it was much better than we had expected! The room (14) on the ground floor was a two room plus small kitchen "efficiency". The rooms were large, very clean, newly decorated and well furnished in a modern, mildly "ironic" style (leopard skin carpet etc). The bed was great - large and very comfortable. We had a tiny, secluded back yard all to ourselves, with deep soft cushions on the seats, plus a less private but very pleasant front porch with a swing seat and a rocking chair. The Congress Hall staff were pleasant and efficient: an elderly neighbour told me she was having difficulty getting into her room. I mentioned this to the receptionist and within five minutes she was being assisted. It turned out that she was rather confused - it wasn't her room at all!
We visited just before the Memorial Day holiday and benefitted from the pool-side staff's training session. Lots of cocktails (not free, of course) served by very friendly people.
I imagine it could well be frantic during the height of the holiday season but for us it was a very relaxing, no problems break. And for a very reasonable price (even with the dollar at $1.50 to the pound!) We'll go again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobfromKensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Star Inn on a weekday night in April–we got a great deal on Expedia. I was not sure what to expect and was overall happily satisfied. We got a room in the hotel efficiency section. I do need to mention a few negative points, but the room and hotel was beautiful.

First of all, you need to check in at the Congress Hall check in around the corner. No where was this mentioned and it's really kind of important. So we figured it out and dragged our luggage back and forth. Also, they did not offer the coupons for the breakfast, I had to ask for them I called and then went back over to Congress Hall to pick them up. As well, they did not mention the free WiFi password, I had to ask about it and get the password. I feel like these things should not have to be asked for by the customer. However, the room was better than we expected. The furniture was very nice in a chic design and very comfortable. Nice lamps, carpeting, bedding, colors, etc. There is a sweet little private porch area for each room, as well as a lovely swing and chair on the front porch. The kitchen had all the utensils, and each of the two rooms had a TV. A big flatscreen in the main room where you can lounge on a sectional sofa.

Also, you have access to Congress Hall, though it was too cold for swimming in the pool in April. We had a drink at night in The Brown Room a very cozy bar at Congress Hall. The design was chic and modern but with nods to the history of the hotel. The blazing fireplace was awesome as well.

We would definitely stay at the hotel again! The design was great and the bed so comfy!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyjoblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

My husband and I just came from Cape May this past weekend. We also usually stay at Congress Hall, but the prices are very high.

We had a very easy check in process, received our coupons and got a great parking spot in the lot. Went out for dinner that evening and found a parking spot in the same lot, no problem.

We loved our room. It was a little warmer than usual and the A/C didn't work, we called and they immediately put in a window unit, without interrupting our great ocean view.

If I had any complaint, the shower was wonderful, but the bathroom was a little small, we have room #3, right up the stairs.

Loved the coffee shop and front porch. People couldn't have been friendlier or helpful.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryK598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#15 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star

Property: The Star
Address: 29 Perry St, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Star 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than a block from the ocean, The Star is a classic Cape May beach hotel, lovingly restored to provide an ideal blend of nostalgia, fresh seashore design and modern hotel comfort. The Star offers a range of accommodations to suit the needs of every type of beach traveler, including nine comfortable guestrooms, 10 motel-style efficiencies with kitchenettes, some with private backyards and two luxurious two-bedroom carriage houses featuring full-length decks overlooking the ocean. All feature imaginative, evocative décor that's inspired by the classic beach house experience with lots of bright, sunny colors and playful nautical accents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Cape May
Star Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing