We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Pleasant”
Review of The Star

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Star
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We took advantage of an off-season weekend offer, and enjoyed the 2nd floor suite in the hotel. The two rooms were just right, with a kitchen/living room and good-sized tv (as opposed to the microscopic one in the bedroom, which my wife thought was a computer monitor). It really was a pleasant stay, with proximity to the beach, as well as Congress Hall, where we enjoyed the fire and people-watched. As another commenter has noted, this is not the Ritz, but it is cozy and comfortable, and made for a reasonably-priced winter escape.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelbMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for The Star
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 214 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

I've been here one time before, and it is always clean! The location couldn't get any better, right in town in the middle of everything! It also is a great value for what you get! Blue pig tavern is great too!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Believe06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had a great Valentine's Day weekend at the Star Inn. Wow, this place is so underrated. We stayed in the inn, which had a B&B type feel. The coffee shop was closed for winter, but we like being away from all the commotion of Congress Hall. The room was well kept and had a great smell of plain ole clean. The size of the room was just right with some room to move around the super comfortable king bed. There was a wall mounted flat screen TV/DVD. Bathroom was also clean and adequately sized. I would have preferred a better shower head, but I think it was a water saver. The reservation gave us full access to Congress Hall. It was winter so there wasn't much to take advantage of. The fitness center is small, but probably gets no use in the summer. The Inn has off street parking on site. Great location! It's half a block from Washington St Mall and about 1 block to the beach. The one and only negative was that our town view was really no more that view of a back of a few buildings. Honestly though who cares. We'll probably stay here more often now that we've found the place.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanney9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We've been going to Cape May for years and have often wondered about the Star Inn. We had a chance to stay this past weekend and it was lovely. We stayed in the motel on the 2nd floor and fell in love with the hotel. I loved the decor and the amenities. We already booked the hotel again for the summer! We would highly recommend the Star Inn!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We normally stay the Virginia Hotel, a sister facility of the Star Inn. However on this January Thaw weekend the Virginia was booked so we were attracted to the good rate at this hotel. In the nearly 2 decades we have been visitng Cape May, we have noticed the Star seems to be always full. Well no wonder. We picked a nice upper level room with balcony,efficiency kitchen and separate bedroom. It was clean and spacious. The bed linens were fresh and relatively new. The kitchen was equipped so that you could prepare a number of light meals ,not simply boil water.It's a very nice package situated right between the beach and the Washington Street Mall.So now I get why it is so popular. It ticks all the boxes for an extended family vacation stay.
Those seeking the Presidential Suite at The Ritz level of luxury-should look elsewhere.

Room Tip: We liked the upper floor end unit room 24.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carandken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The star inn is a great family hotel. Our room had a living room, and kitchen which was great for making snacks and letting our little one roam around. The hotel had pack and plays and cribs provided. The location was awesome, we could see the ocean from our room, and congress hall was across the street for good restaurants and walking around. It's a great weekend getaway. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moneyshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The king size bed was very comfortable in unit 10. The living room was nice and cozy and during the day the windows are so big that there is a lot of natural lighting. Two tips for Congress Hall: 1) get softer bath robes 2) get better in room coffee, such as Mars Drinks single serve the like.
The spa massages we had at Congress Hall were phenomenal and the cocktails at the Brown Room were yummy! We love Cape May!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ishtar569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,220 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Shack
Beach Shack
#20 of 37 in Cape May
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#13 of 37 in Cape May
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star

Address: 29 Perry St, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $103 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Star 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than a block from the ocean, The Star is a classic Cape May beach hotel, lovingly restored to provide an ideal blend of nostalgia, fresh seashore design and modern hotel comfort. The Star offers a range of accommodations to suit the needs of every type of beach traveler, including nine comfortable guestrooms, 10 motel-style efficiencies with kitchenettes, some with private backyards and two luxurious two-bedroom carriage houses featuring full-length decks overlooking the ocean. All feature imaginative, evocative décor that's inspired by the classic beach house experience with lots of bright, sunny colors and playful nautical accents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Cape May
Star Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing