We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to stay in the winter, especially when in the summer it's far too expensive.”
Review of The Star

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Star
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The king size bed was very comfortable in unit 10. The living room was nice and cozy and during the day the windows are so big that there is a lot of natural lighting. Two tips for Congress Hall: 1) get softer bath robes 2) get better in room coffee, such as Mars Drinks single serve the like.
The spa massages we had at Congress Hall were phenomenal and the cocktails at the Brown Room were yummy! We love Cape May!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ishtar569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 221 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night (12/22). The inn is clean. And they have great linens and nicely appointed rooms although a little on the small side. The lobby was decorated nicely for the christmas holiday....the gas fireplace was warm and welcoming and needed it was soooo windy and cold which brings me to my only real criticism. The windows were pretty drafty but thankfully the room wasn't cold. I would certainly come back here because the location can't be beat. Don't forget to get your breakfast voucher for the Blue Pig!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJpunkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

just went for 1 night 12/21/12, was a great time to go and enjoy the Christmas lights, fine dinning and just hanging out "pre" Christmas, very romantic for those looking for a getaway or just a girlfriends weekend. The Inn was in a great location, walking to everything, rooms were modern, quaint and very clean. Would definitely go back

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REGINA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We loved everything about The Star Inn - the decor, cleanliness, location, and comfort. There was a swing and chair out front and a lovely courtyard with 2 wicker love seats and a table out back. Fantastic place to chill, which is just what we did! Oh, and the customer service was great!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, which I would definitely do again for the courtyard space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunlvr302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We recently spent a Saturday night at The Star Inn. We were in the original part of the inn which is reserved for adults only. Our room, although small, was adequate and very clean. The linens are all top quality. The bathroom was spacious and beautifully renovated. Our room had a small walk in closet with bathrobes. It has a flat screen tv and a very comfortable bed with a view of the ocean from the bed. Check in was fast, easy and friendly. Air conditioning was not working properly but in November was not a big issue and we opened the windows which was wonderful.
The Inn is quiet and the staff could not have been more helpful. Because of its location next to Congress Hall, it is so convenient to everything and walked all around Cape May to the many shops.
We indulged in massages at the Sea Spa at Congress Hall and had a wonderful breakfast at The Blue Pig, both highly recommended.
Cape May is such a wonderful destination for a weekend getaway and basically untouched by the wrath of Sandy (thankfully).
I cannot wait to return to The Star Inn again soon.

Room Tip: book early and go to the inn (adults only) . We had wanted a king but settled for a queen and it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtowntravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I found myself at the The Star Inn because I live on the waterfront in New Jersey and I had to evucated my home due to flooding caused by Hurricane Sandy. I am very familiar with Cape May because I have vacationed here all my life, but until this time I never stayed at The Star Inn. The very best part of this property is location. Once you park your car, you will never have to move it again unless you want to go out of town, because everything that you will need is in walking distance.
As for the hotel room itself....I have found it to be very clean and comfortable. The bedding is a very nice quality and the people who run the hotel are very friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wonderfullywarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were surprised that the Star was not as nice as was advertised. Congress Hall may own it and sell it as one of their prize propterties but it needs to be completely updated. The kitchenette was from 1970's as was the bathroom. It was very clean, and the location was good but it was terribly over priced for the accomodation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,251 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,359 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#15 of 37 in Cape May
275 reviews
0.9 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star

Address: 29 Perry St, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $108 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Star 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than a block from the ocean, The Star is a classic Cape May beach hotel, lovingly restored to provide an ideal blend of nostalgia, fresh seashore design and modern hotel comfort. The Star offers a range of accommodations to suit the needs of every type of beach traveler, including nine comfortable guestrooms, 10 motel-style efficiencies with kitchenettes, some with private backyards and two luxurious two-bedroom carriage houses featuring full-length decks overlooking the ocean. All feature imaginative, evocative décor that's inspired by the classic beach house experience with lots of bright, sunny colors and playful nautical accents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Cape May
Star Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing