We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Star

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Star
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We recently spent a Saturday night at The Star Inn. We were in the original part of the inn which is reserved for adults only. Our room, although small, was adequate and very clean. The linens are all top quality. The bathroom was spacious and beautifully renovated. Our room had a small walk in closet with bathrobes. It has a flat screen tv and a very comfortable bed with a view of the ocean from the bed. Check in was fast, easy and friendly. Air conditioning was not working properly but in November was not a big issue and we opened the windows which was wonderful.
The Inn is quiet and the staff could not have been more helpful. Because of its location next to Congress Hall, it is so convenient to everything and walked all around Cape May to the many shops.
We indulged in massages at the Sea Spa at Congress Hall and had a wonderful breakfast at The Blue Pig, both highly recommended.
Cape May is such a wonderful destination for a weekend getaway and basically untouched by the wrath of Sandy (thankfully).
I cannot wait to return to The Star Inn again soon.

Room Tip: book early and go to the inn (adults only) . We had wanted a king but settled for a queen and it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dtowntravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    85
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
106
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I found myself at the The Star Inn because I live on the waterfront in New Jersey and I had to evucated my home due to flooding caused by Hurricane Sandy. I am very familiar with Cape May because I have vacationed here all my life, but until this time I never stayed at The Star Inn. The very best part of this property is location. Once you park your car, you will never have to move it again unless you want to go out of town, because everything that you will need is in walking distance.
As for the hotel room itself....I have found it to be very clean and comfortable. The bedding is a very nice quality and the people who run the hotel are very friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wonderfullywarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley,NJ
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were surprised that the Star was not as nice as was advertised. Congress Hall may own it and sell it as one of their prize propterties but it needs to be completely updated. The kitchenette was from 1970's as was the bathroom. It was very clean, and the location was good but it was terribly over priced for the accomodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler,PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I booked a one night weekday special, $99 for an ocean view king. Very cozy, quaint room with ultra comfortable bed and quality bedding. Feather pillows and down comforter were nice. Bathroom was tight and the seal on the shower door didn't seal so you had to direct the shower spray away from the door to prevent flooding the floor. The third floor has many low ceiling points so a taller person would need to beware. My husband banged his head multiple times. Might be a little too small for us staying longer than a night or 2. The 3 flights of stairs were rough also, carrying a heavy suitcase. Otherwise, the room was very quaint,clean and did afford a nice view out toward the ocean. We could hear other travelers coming and going through the rather old doors and fixtures. I believe there were only a few rooms occupied that night so it could have potentially been worse with a full house. We got a $14 breakfast voucher for the Blue Pig, which truthfully would only have covered one person's meal. Congress Hall was very lovely and you do get to use their amenities though being there offseason, we didn't really utilize. It is a quick walk to the quaint shopping area and lots of restaurants. The Pilot House had a lovely menu and we dined in front of the fireplace that was very cozy on a cold night. All and all a nice trip and we would love to return in warmer weather. Might try one of the efficiencies next time. #20 looked to have the best view.

Room Tip: Watch the low ceilings on third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Maryland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We visited Cape May on a whim and arrived with no reservations. We drove around and were considering Sandpiper or Congress Hall but The Star was so much cheaper. We opted for the efficiency on the second floor and could see the ocean from the Adirondak chairs on the front porch. The decor is rather retro and bright but everything was clean, the linens were all very good quality and great water pressure in the shower. The location being so close to the beach and shopping was perfect. We will definitely consider them again.

Room Tip: The efficiency is nice because of the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Although the location is ideal, the accomodations at the Star Inn were not as pleasing on our return trip. For one, the room we were given, which was more expensive than our first stay was smaller, not as nice, and the shower was tiny and leaked all over the floor of the bathroom. A guest from a wedding at Congress Hall was next door to us and kept us up all night slamming doors and talking loudly. I agree with the other reviewer that the walls are paper-thin. This disruption went on for about 2 hours, so we got little sleep our last night there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BR06_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were there for a wedding at Congress Hall, part if the Star Inn properties so all amenities were included. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed in the section with a Starbucks located in the lobby. Rooms are well maintained. The rooms are cozy you would not want to hang out in there long. A beautiful ocean view from the 3rd floor. If you have a tall member in your group they must be careful not to hit their head. All in all a great place to stay and be close to everything available in Cape May. For a Cape May property the price is about average. The convenience makes it worth the cost.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deezy0691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 1,028 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#12 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#17 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 1,061 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#5 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star

Property: The Star
Address: 29 Perry St, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Star 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than a block from the ocean, The Star is a classic Cape May beach hotel, lovingly restored to provide an ideal blend of nostalgia, fresh seashore design and modern hotel comfort. The Star offers a range of accommodations to suit the needs of every type of beach traveler, including nine comfortable guestrooms, 10 motel-style efficiencies with kitchenettes, some with private backyards and two luxurious two-bedroom carriage houses featuring full-length decks overlooking the ocean. All feature imaginative, evocative décor that's inspired by the classic beach house experience with lots of bright, sunny colors and playful nautical accents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Cape May
Star Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing