We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Puffin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Puffin
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Great Family Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We all really enjoyed the stay. Location of the apartment is right on the center of everything (beach, restaurant, shops). We had a fantastic week-end with the kids.

Thank you so much :-)!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    19
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
47
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed in the Rose Suite with 2 adults and 2 teenage girls. As the other reviews indicated, it's in a great location between the beach and the mall and the owners have done a nice job keeping it clean and presentable. The kitchen and bathroom are newly re-done, and well maintained. The amenities in the kitchen were surprisingly ample, although we just did breakfasts and snacks in the room. The space felt and looked clean; and despite the dark woodwork in the main hallway of the building, the suite was surprisingly bright. Our main complaint was that the mattresses in both bedrooms were very uncomfortable and quite slanted. My daughters moved out of their beds and tried the pullout couch in the kitchen area, which was no better and in fact probably worse. One curiousity was how the place stayed clean between guests. We were complying with the 10 a.m. check out, and in fact vacated by 9:40 a.m., the guests that were moving in after us were already there waiting to move in to the room with their luggage and a german shepherd and black labrador in tow. I don't know what the pet policy is there, but I am very sensitive to animal fur, so if the situation were reversed with us moving in after the next guests, it could be a problem, as the cleaning people were no where to be found. So if you are animal allergic, I would check on their policy, I was just surprised to see people moving in with 2 giant dogs (and 2 kids too!) I am sure they don't change the bed coverings, quilts, etc. between guests so the animal thing bothered me. But despite that curiousity, it was a nice few days to spend and very quiet as we just arrived and left as the Memorial Day hullabaloo was beginning.

Room Tip: Rose Suite is on the second floor, so be prepared to climb a flight to get up to the back bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank JDK1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelMeister1949, Guest Relations Manager at The Puffin, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
As one of the owners of the Cape May Puffin, we welcome customers questions and concerns and we take them seriously. We want everyone who stays at the Puffin to have a wonderful experience.

There are several misunderstandings with this review that I would like to address.
.
1. The dark woodwork in the parlor is historic chesnut. We take great care to maintain the historic integrity of the Puffin. There is ample lighting in the parlor for safety and security, but it's soft light that provides a cozy atmosphere.

2. The "guests" who were checking in at 10 am were the owners of the Atlantic Suite on the 3rd floor, not the Rose Suite which is on the 2nd floor. Owners are allowed to bring their pets, however, guests are not. When owners bring their pets (which is rare), they do a thorough cleaning before they leave.

3. I do not know anything about a German Shepherd on the Puffin property. The Atlantic Suite owners brought the black lab. It's possible that someone was walking the shepherd on the sidewalk which the owners were checking in.

4. We regret that our guests did not find the mattresses comfortable. This information will be passed on to the Rose Suite owners for their evaluation and action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheswick,Pa.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

We spent five days at the Cape May Puffin House in the top floor Atlantic Suite. The suite is a great size for a family of four but could handle a party of six. You have to walk up two flights of stairs to gain access but we didn't mind and actually booked it because of the little outdoor private deck off of the kitchen and the king size bed. The suite itself is very private and fairly quiet for a home consisting of four rentals. It comes with sheets, linens, towels, and the kitchen has all the appliances needed to prepare any kind of meal you want. There is no dishwasher, but again, no big deal we didn't mind. The front porch is so inviting and relaxing with the hanging flower baskets, wicker furniture, little lamps on end tables for in the evening and the little fish water fountain in the front flower bed is just so calming to listen to. There was no WI-FI in the Atlantic Suite so we had to purchase it through a website in order for my husband to keep in contact with his job and also for us to check out directions, times of business, and other info we needed during our stay. All in all, we had a very relaxing and enjoying stay, we came home very relaxed and are already missing the beach and sound of the ocean. Thank you Tina & Craig, you have a great vacation suite and we appreciated your time and help with all the questions we had.



We did a lot of walking and sightseeing during our stay. Here are some of what we saw and enjoyed:



1) The beach which is only a half block from the front porch of the house. Just turn right when you walk off the Puffin House porch and there it is.



2) Sunset Beach with the sunken cement ship, daily flag lowering service at sunset with U.S. Military Casket flags.

Also, be sure to look for "Cape May Diamonds". (We picked some off the beach and will putting them in our rock tumbler)

http://www.njsouth.com/Sunsetbeach.htm



3) The Washington Street Shopping Mall for souvenir shopping, ice cream parlors, & couple restaurants. Just turn left off the Puffin porch, walk two blocks and your there.

http://www.washingtonstreetmall.com/



4) A walk along Beach Avenue just to see the beautiful homes/rental condominiums.



5) Cape May Lighthouse and Cape May Point State Park.

http://www.state.nj.us/dep/parksandforests/parks/capemay.html



6) Bay Springs Alpaca Farms. They are only opened Saturday & Sunday from 10-4 so we didn't get to actually go in and check it out, but we did manage to take of picture of some alpacas that happened to be out in the field by the entrance having some "lunch"

http://www.bayspringsalpacas.com/



7) There is an Acme Market about five minutes away to pick up whatever food or supplies you might need. But they charge $4 an hour for parking, so we just walked from the Puffin House to get what we needed.



8) On the way to sunset beach is the World War 11 Lookout Tower. It was closed on our stop there but we did stop check it out and read it's history placards that were along the walkway.

http://www.capemaymac.org/content/subpage_main.aspx?id=2030

Room Tip: If you can, pick the Atlanitc Suite, It has a private deck to relax with you morning coffe or a late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BVnLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Holly Suite, with two adults and two young children. It fit our needs well. I especially enjoyed sitting on the front porch with a book. The Puffin is very close to the beach and the pedestrian mall. The house itself is beautiful and the onsite owners are very friendly and welcoming to young kids. We hope to return next year!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMorris28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We loved our stay at the Holly Suite At the Puffin in Cape May. It's bright, clean and in the perfect location. A couple houses away from the beach and the outdoor mall. We had a blast!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgoz37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware Water Gap, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

My wife and I and our 4 month old daughter came down before Thanksgiving and it was perfect for us. The Holly Suite is really a small apartment and had a kitchen with everything we needed. Mike and Nancy Duvall were great hosts and really made our stay excellent.
The location in Cape May is right near all the stores and we could take the baby in the stroller for walks and over to the grocery store to get what we needed. We would definitely come back and stay some time as in the summer it would be right near the beach.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

My sister and I just stayed at The Puffin for 7 nights. We normally stay in one of the many B & B's in Cape May but this time we wanted to have our own kitchen to cook some of our own meals. I had read a lot of reviews here on Trip Advisor for places to stay and The Puffin had great reviews. So... I called and talked to Mike Duvall, who along with his wife Nancy, are the innkeepers at The Puffin, and made our reservations for The Terrace Suite. We got there around 7:00pm and Mike was so helpful getting our suitcases out of the car and into our suite. It was dark when we got in so we could not wait for morning to checkout The Puffin. We were not dissappointed - it is beautiful!! Mike's flowers in the front of the Inn were gorgeous as well as the front porch. And...the Terrace Suite is GREAT!! The Inn is on Jackson Street, only two blocks from the ocean one way and only 2 blocks from the Washington Square Mall the other way. The weather was great during our stay so we walked a lot. We would set on the front porch and watch the carriages and trolleys go by and just people watch!! We basically parked (onsite parking) and walked everywhere. The Terrace Suite is roomy, has a nice kitchen fully stocked with dishes, coffee maker (coffee and tea bags too), pots and pans and even a dishwasher!! It has 2 large bedrooms, 1 very nice, large bathroom and a great living/dining area and everything was so clean! The Terrace Suite has its own entrance and only 2 steps down into the suite (lower level of house). What a pleasant surprise when Mike showed us there was also a washer/dryer we could use!! Mike and Nancy are two of the sweetest people! Mike had some great recommendations for places to eat and things to see. We had a really nice visit with Nancy one morning on the front porch. When we came back from one of our many walks around town that afternoon we found a beautiful plate full of cupcakes waiting for us in our kitchen on the counter!!! We will for sure make The Puffin one of our top spots now in Cape May to stay. We will without a doubt stay there again (hopefully next year!). Thanks again Mike and Nancy for a wonderful stay in our beloved Cape May!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lisap50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Puffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Puffin

Property: The Puffin
Address: 32 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1465
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cape May
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back into the Victorian Period at "The Puffin”, one of Cape May's most historic and distinctive Victorian properties located in the heart of Cape May’s Historic District. “The Puffin” is centrally located on historic Jackson Street, just a half block from the beach and only a few steps from the Washington Mall's fine shops and restaurants of Cape May. The Puffin Victorian suites has a unique architectural Dutch Colonial design. Relax on our wraparound veranda while reading a book, surfing the internet or enjoying your favorite beverage. Enjoy the historic ambiance, watching horse drawn carriages and trolley cars as they pass down Jackson Street. Whether you plan your journey sight-seeing, escape to the beach, shop, bike or relax, the Puffin is the perfect location for an exciting Cape May adventure. We are child and family friendly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing