We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting NJ History”

Historic Cold Spring Village
Ranked #13 of 59 things to do in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic Cold Spring Village (HCSV) is a open air living history museum that invites all visitors to find meaning, pleasure, relevance, and inspiration in the exploration of southern New Jersey's past. It is a nonprofit, educational museum that is open during the spring-summer season. The centerpiece of the museum is a re-created rural Southern New Jersey town of the "home spun era" set on more than 30 acres. The Village will open for the 2017 season June 27th. We will kick off our special weekend events on June 17th!
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Interesting NJ History”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Our visit took us back to a very interesting time in history. Chatting with the trades people and visiting the historic homes and shops was a wonderful way to spend an afternoon. Lunch at the Old Grange was excellent and the goodies from the Village bakery were delightful.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Fortmyersgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    80
    18
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Islip, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An enjoyable & educational experience!”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

As you you enter this beautifully restored historic village, you will be transported back to the 19th century! At each building, the costumed interpreters demonstrate & explain the importance of their crafts relative to how they lived in the 1850's. A few of these trades that we had fun watching were book binding, pottery making, basket weaving, and the Blacksmith & Print Shop's. We stopped by the Bakery for a delicious homemade pastry and followed that up with 2 scoops at the air conditioned Ice Cream Parlor. We completed our visit with a trip to the Country Store for a few select purchases. If you are looking for an interesting & fun couple of hours for a relatively inexpensive $10 admission, then be sure to include the Historic Cold Spring Village on your list of things to do in Cape May!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank SJKK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a pleasant day!”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We went on a sunny day so it was barely crowded. I guess everyone was at the beaches. Every employee was very friendly and more than happy to answer any questions we had and they were all very knowledgable about their trade and the buildings on the grounds. My 9 and 12 yr old daughters loved making the corn husk dolls and the free horse carriage ride around the grounds. The Village has many trees so the heat was not as much of an issue as we thought it would be. All employees left their areas at the same time for a half hour lunch break. That's a good time to visit the country store or get something to eat on premises until they come back. We found a coupon in one of the beach magazines to save a couple dollars. It was $32.00 for 2 adults and 2 children admission. We enjoyed the few hours we spent there.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Pgh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great day at Historic Cold Spring Village”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I visited the Village for a special antiques show and sale. I was impressed by the number of antiques vendors they had present. There was a really nice crowd of people there as well so the whole grounds felt very alive and welcoming. The grounds are beautiful and well-maintained (the earlier reviewers are just plain wrong). Their costumed guides were around to answer questions and I sat in on a really interesting interpretation of one of the buildings, all which were open and some had demonstrations too. The bakery, ice cream parlor, and restaurant at the Old Grange building were all open. Lunch at the Grange was good, albeit a little pricier than expected. But the new owner/chef is Tony Clark, so I guess he can charge whatever he wants! Admission to the village is only ten dollars- the nice afternoon I had there made it well worth it. There's not much you can do at the Jersey Shore for less.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank sjrzgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villas, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable Visit.”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I have just read some of the unfavorable comments made by some visitors to the Village.
I have no idea what they had to complain about,They paid NOTHING to enter,There is no costs for walking around and admiring the architecture of the old buildings, Open or
closed,(Not boarded up)
Some people are never happy about anything, Instead of just enjoying the outdoors
they would rather just find something to bit-- about.
To all the people that donate thier time and efforts to make the Village such and enjoyable place to visit, I say "Thank You" for a job very well done.
Ignore the "Find something wrong with everything crowd"
I have been to the Village many times and have never been rudely spoken to by anyone.
Keep up the GOOD WORK.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Stew13rosiebel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Cold Spring Village also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Historic Cold Spring Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing