We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Albert Stevens Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albert Stevens Inn
Ranked #7 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ashtabula, Ohio
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Albert Stevens Inn is easy to locate and in a quiet location with plenty of parking. Jimmy, the owner is genuine. He is honest and can read people well and knows what to suggest. My favorite detail is the rack of menus of area restaurants in the sun porch. This helped us choose a place to dine. The room was OK. The breakfasts were OK. If you like B&B's and if you like Victorian this place might be for you. I agree with a previous writer... way too much hype on this place. We expected more from reading the reviews.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OhioSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
73
433
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
131 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Based on the rave reviews and the descriptions on the Albert Stevens Inn website, we had very high expectations for our stay. Unfortunately it did not live up to the hype for us. This is a difficult review to write since we know that Jim is dealing with his wife's surgery and serious back problem but we thought the inn was just average. It is very clean and the rooms are nice. The bathroom had a smell of mold in the shower and the shampoo, soap etc were very modest at best. At other B&B's we have stayed at the towels are luxurious as well as the linens and the beds are triple sheeted. There was a lovely spread on the bed but just double sheets. As for the breakfasts, they were three courses but consisted of modest things that you would make at home, with just a sprinkle of powdered sugar on for instance the one belgian waffle to make an attempt to look special. We expected more from the #1 rated B&B in Cape May based on the reviews on tripadvisor and the descriptions of breakfast on their website and the price we were paying for our room. And the afternoon tea was equally unimaginative or special based again on the reviews etc. Additionally we felt the Inn was a little out of the way on a one way street. It was in walking distance to the mall but was far from the beach. It is not located in the historic district.
As I said, I feel bad writing this review due to the issues the innkeepers are facing but I think it is fair to anyone considering staying there to hear our view as well so they are not disappointed. Additionally in the room was a business card asking for candid reviews to be posted on Tripadvisor so that is what I am doing....posting our candid review. WIshing Lenanne continued healing and good health.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank katerachel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeagullCapeMay, Owner at Albert Stevens Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We are always very grateful and thankful to the hundreds of past and present guests that have given us great reviews that have enabled us to continue to work on this very old building and B&B, improving the building when possible and always enhancing the amenities. Karen has given me a lemon and now it is time to make lemonade with some shameless self promotion so millions of people around the world can see what the Albert Stevens Inn is about.
Most importantly, The Albert Stevens Inn is located in the Historic District, please check the map.
Curiously she picks on a poor defenseless Belgium waffle as an example of a modest America made at home breakfast. It was an apple cinnamon buttermilk waffle with yes, a little powdered sugar sprinkled on top accompanied by butter and syrup and skinless sausage. Since the first course was a fresh fruit salad and the last course a Strawberry Almond cake made from scratch, did the Belgium waffle need more fruit on it? Yes, by golly this is the typical modest American breakfast eaten by millions of Americans every day. Did Karen even try it? Maybe, but she insisted on scrambled eggs every day due to a dietary restriction and we happily complied with her request. Additional breakfasts included such ordinary everyday American breakfast foods as pureed raspberries assembled as a low fat vanilla yogurt parfait, poached eggs with optional pesto, lean Canadian Ham and of course, my wife’s awesome Lemon Blueberry coffee cake. Also served that three day weekend was a completely different fruit salad and Sherry eggs with another home made coffee cake. Modest everyday breakfasts ordinary Americans eat every day. Many of our repeat guests usually tell us in advance which of their favorites they want during their stay. Please note that during her three day stay never was a mundane breakfast casserole served to anyone. While we are capable of making a good breakfast casserole, most breakfasts on made on top of the stove every morning, hot and fresh.
The Saturday afternoon tea ( I do not recall Karen being there) consisted of two very different and delicious imported brie cheeses with sliced fresh baguette, grapes, awesome homemade brownies, a vegetable cream dip (crowd favorite), premium crackers, along with ice tea, lemonade, and Italian Sangria. Also available from our 24 hour drink center are assorted hot teas and coffees, cream sherry and red wine. The next two days were more modest, but featured freshly made cookies along with a cheese dip and premium crackers and all the above beverages.
The smell of mold in the shower? I could not detect that and my wife calls me the “nose”. I cleaned the bathroom myself seeking out some unfriendly mold but the only thing I found was that my cleaning staff is doing a fine job keeping a tired bathroom very clean. There is absolutely no mold in that bathroom! The best compliment we ever received was from a guest who commented how clean the bathroom was, because unfortunately she become very ill and spent the night on the bathroom floor. What Karen might have smelled is the scents from our new line of handmade America soaps that she alluded to as modest. Most of our current guests have noticed the better soaps and appreciate the upgrade. Yes, the Shampoo was ordinary, but we had a big supply that is now nearly gone and the new line of shampoo will be in the bathrooms by the time this published. Please note that this very line of soaps and shampoos is used in another very prominent B&B in Cape May. A proven winner we will happily continue to use. Also, all bathrooms contain a makeup remover washcloth, shower caps, eye and facial makeup remover along with a generous supply of tissues. BTW, I am not saying that Karen did not smell something other than scented soap. An old building, is capable of sometimes producing offensive extraordinary scents or odors that might occur at any time for one reason or another. However, not one time during her three day stay did Karen bring this or anything else to my attention, nor did she do so during check out. Her disingenuous statement of having to write a review because of a card in the room asking her to do so does not hold up with closer examination. Just check to the left of her review and one can see the prodigious amount of reviews she has written meaning she was going to write a review regardless of any card. Also, alongside that very same card is another card clearly stating “please let Jim know if you need anything to make your stay more pleasant...” Strangely, she choose to ignore that and never said anything to me about what she needed. Curiously, she has nearly 100 various reviews but other than the Albert Stevens, no reviews of other Cape May B&Bs. As a conscientious B&B owners we want our guests to be comfortable and go to great lengths to achieve that goal within the constrictions imposed by an old building. I make it a point to know as much as possible about what other B&BS offer, upgrading accordingly and know more about the other accommodations than she alludes to.
For instance, our luxurious beds linens are comparable to 600 thread count, many of our guests have commented on how comfortable they are and inquired how and where they can be bought. A few have made the purchase, others balk at the cost.
As far as tripled sheeting is concerned that is done by establishments that are more interested in reusing the same blankets and bedspreads or duvets again without washing to save on laundry costs. Some may wash more often and it does make for a good looking bed, but most have eliminated their bedspreads. The linens and bedspread here on washed on a regular basis, by far the best way to keep anyway any potential bedbug problem. We do have extras for every bed, which is expensive, but permits the bedspreads and linens to be regularly cleaned. Water here is pricey but we maintain cleanliness. Although it may come to a point where if enough people want it, the expensive bedspreads will be eliminated and replaced with triple sheeting by far the cheaper way to go. Additionally, using more sheets cost, so they usually are not using the better higher thread count sheets such as ours. If anyone out there knows of a B&B here in Cape May that uses tripled sheeted 600 thread count sheets, drop me a line.
BTW, I dare say very few, if any B&B in Cape May uses the quality of towel that we presently have in all rooms. At the time of Karen’s visit her room did not have these high quality towels but other rooms did because we were conducting a survey to see if guests really did notice towels of the highest quality. While the survey was inconclusive, the towels are in all rooms now and no I will not mention who makes them.
Yes, the B&B is located on a small one way street (only six buildings on Myrtle Avenue counting the corner properties) with free parking that complements our free onsite parking for all vehicles that enables guests the luxury of using their vehicle with the assurance that a parking spot will be available to them upon their return. The west end of the Washington Street Mall is only a short walk of two and one half blocks away. Congress Hall only three blocks away.
All of this is a negative? Be here during the summer and see what an advantage this street is!
Yes, nearly five blocks from the beach but most guests simply use our complimentary bicycles (with locks) and backpack beach chairs with beach towels and bike to the beach. It is an easy walk for most people. Again, the Albert Stevens inn is located in the historic district, check the map.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Love this place. Jimmy is a wonderful host. His wife was recovering from surgery, so he was doing double duty. He even drove to pick up some guests from a restaurant in a driving rainstorm when no taxis were available.
He has the common area stocked with everything you could think of. Sherry, wine, coffee, water, and soft drinks. There are cookies, brownies, candies, and in the afternoon, cheeses. Want something more? (Really!?) Just ask, and you shall receive. What a great host and experience!

Room Tip: About a 3 block walk to all the best activities and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjmartintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey Brook, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I knew the perfect combination for a long time, The Albert Stevens Inn and Cape May, NJ. It's a B&B and the rooms are beautiful. The breakfast and snacks are fantastic. The inn keepers must be the best, their recommendations certainly are. The location is just right for leaving the car and walking around Cape May. Now that my wife has passed away, I still go and nothing's changed. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: What to say? The availability chart provides photos and descriptions that are accurate. The inn is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrs_sx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Albert Stevens Inn in Cape May was absolutely what my husband and I wanted in a B&B. Jimmy (the proprietor) couldn't have made our 3-day stay any more enjoyable. As soon as we got to this adorable, quaint B&B the week after Labor Day, he welcomed us with a warm smile and made us feel at home. He explained about different things to do and see and places to eat. Our room on the first floor was plenty spacious with all the amenities you could want but still gave us the feeling of stepping back into the early 1900's. (And being on the first floor, we did not hear any noise from anyone coming or going.) From the parlor to the dining rooms to the front porch (complete with rocking chairs), it was like stepping back to the turn of the century. The breakfasts were delicious and served with smiling attention. He and his staff made sure every detail was thought of. We may just be making this B&B an annual getaway.

Room Tip: We only saw the Tapestry Room on the first floor and it was perfect. No noise from people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Albert Stevens Innfor 3 nights immediately following Labor Day. Upon arrival, Jim greeted us and spent 20 minutes or so telling us about the Inn, Cape May in general, and some specific recommendations for restaurants and activities. His recommendations turned out to be well founded.

The room we had on the first floor was clean and quiet, air conditioning was totally functional and quiet. Bathroom was large and modern. Room had WIFI, a must for my technologically addicted spouse.

Breakfasts differed every day but all started with fruit or some type of light breakfast appetizer, followed by either eggs, french toast, waffles, and a piece of cake for "dessert. All very tasty and served by the friendly staff. Of course, unlimited coffee, tea, etc. Afternoon "snacks" were "delish" - brownies, various cookies, sangria. etc.
All "help yourself".

The Inn is walking distance to Washington Street with its shopping and restauramt choices. The beach can also be "walked" although it is a little further then Washington Street. Beach chairs, bicycles, towels are all provided at no extra charge. And since we stayed 3 nights mid week September, our third night was 50% off. A nice deal.

Jim was always available as necessary but was never intrusive as is sometimes the case with other B and B's.

Next time we travel to Cape May, our first choice will be the Albert Stevens Inn.

Room Tip: All rooms are probably nice, to avoid stairs, try for one of the 3 rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ml1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

On Aug 23, we returned to The Albert Stevens - but this time, we brought our good friends. Just like last year, it was more than amazing. Jim and his staff make it look so easy, but it takes a lot of preparation and business acumen to run this show (or B&B). Each recommendation from Jim is absolutely golden. Now I sound like Blago..LOL. We really love The Rose room and hope to enjoy it again next year...and next year..etc. For a list of Pro's (but no Con's): Wow..the breakfasts and the afternoon snacks made our day. Everything is very well-kept and very clean. Each room is unique and we can say that our room had high-quality shower accessories. Parking is abundant. Bikes and beach chairs are available for guest use. Thank you Jim, Lenanne, and staff for your attention and care. Looking forward to next year's stay at The Albert Stevens!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs1140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,175 reviews
1.2 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
679 reviews
1.4 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 39 in Cape May
634 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Stevens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Stevens Inn

Property: Albert Stevens Inn
Address: 127 Myrtle Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1237
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert Stevens Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albert Stevens Inn is a lovely place to stay in Cape May. Just outside of the town center, the Inn is quiet and peaceful. The innkeepers are extremely friendly and helpful. The general atmosphere of the Inn captures the romantic aura of Victorian Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Albert Stevens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing