We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it...”
Review of Periwinkle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Periwinkle Inn
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it...”
Reviewed August 7, 2007

We have just returned from a week long stay at the Periwinkle Inn and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Periwinkle Inn is a beautiful and affordable choice for anyone looking to vacation in Cape May. Their promise of excellent service, location and lodging was met, all within this quiant ocean-front establishment. My children made great use of their big pool, while my wife and I enjoyed the relaxing and homey atmosphere. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, while providing a nice environment for families on vacation.

Having moved to South Florida after residing in Southern New Jersey for 30 years, I was looking forward to returning to the Northeast. Our stay at the Periwinkle Inn allowed me to re-experience all of the fond memories I had of Cape May.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank schmeizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    112
    34
    32
    43
See reviews for
154
111
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2007

We liked the Periwinkle Inn. We rented one of the rooms that had a stove/microwave/sink and came with a full accompaniment of dishware.

The decor definitely screamed 70's or 80's. We had our own patio, were on the first floor, and overlooked the pool. We really liked how clean the place was - full housekeeping daily including changing of sheets and so forth.

Didn't like that you couldn't have your chairs next to the pool however our kids are old enough where we just sat outside our room and watched from there.

Loved the beach access! It's also located close enough to the action where you can walk to the arcade but it's far enough away where it's quiet at night.

I'd stay there again!

  • Liked — proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — no chairs around the pool
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank New_Englander225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

From the moment we checked in we felt we'd been HAD. Over $250/night for a dingy room with dirty linens and ZERO amentities. We asked to depart early, even offering to lose our original deposit of 2 nights, but the Periwinkle manager would not refund our money. Like another reviewer said, I felt as though my complaints were met with disdain - I was out of luck for being sold a bill of goods on the [--]website. I won't return. At least the kids had fun. Very disappointing for our family vacation.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank mendy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

The worst hotel ever old outed dump no good one pool with no chairs around the pool and no bathroom to use while you are waiting for your room to be ready . Did not stay and they refused to refund my money. Dirty not nice.

Helpful?
4 Thank berncentra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2007

Staff made us feel as if the rusted leaking pipe was our problem, and since they had other guests arriving we had to keep the room despite the smell and obvious mold problem. The heater made it smell worse, so we suffered the cold with the patio door open to get some fresh air.
They finally changed the room the next day after changing the pipe and shampooing the rug didn't get rid of the smell. Although we had been told only a smaller room was available, we did not receive any discount, on our $480 3 night rate. In addition, we requested a time extension on sunday of 2 hours and were told only 1 hour was possible even though it was obvious that most guests were checking out, and the previous day the maid had not gotten to our room until after 4PM.
I know we will not return to this inn even though the final accomodations were Ok because the office staff are not marketing oriented. I believe they have a loyal following from years past,and really don't care to woo new customers.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — leaking pipe, moldy smell made everything else secondary
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank SeekingsunMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2007

We knew we would enjoy our short stay by the welcome we received during check in. Our room was ready earlier than expected and we were able to access it with no problem especially after our long trip. The room was clean, bright, airy and had a lot of nice amenities, i.e., toiletries, blow dryer, good supply of towels, nice desk set up, armoire and sufficient closet space. I especially loved the private balcony. The rates were great and the beach is right across the street. We will definitely be back for a longer stay.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank LeoHowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2006

My first time staying at the Periwinkle was in May of '05, which prompted my return this past week. The Periwinkle offers lovely rooms with a nice view. The rooms are clean -- very important to me. The grounds and the pool are nicely kept. Directly across the street is an entryway to the beach -- very convenient. My only complaint is that the beds are not very comfortable and maid service comes around late -- in our case, about 2:45 pm. Other than that, I will be staying there again!!

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank jez830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
691 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#15 of 37 in Cape May
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Inn

Property: Periwinkle Inn
Address: 1039 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cape May
#14 Family Hotel in Cape May
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Periwinkle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Cape May Hotels go the Periwinkle Inn is top of the line! Cape May, NJ is Americas very first seashore resort, and it is the home of the oceanfront Periwinkle Inn Hotel. Cape May is located at mile zero on the Garden State Parkway. The Periwinkle Inn is located on famous Beach Avenue, with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and steps from the white sands of Cape May Beach! All boutique-like rooms offer modern amenities including flat screen TV's, free wi-fi, microwaves, refrigerators and ocean views with private balconies or patios. We have 7 different styles of rooms including 2 room suites. Our Five star outdoor pool is heated and includes free pool/beach towels. We offer new chic designs while giving our guests an unmatched level of service. We care and we do everything to service our guests and provide wonderful vacation memories. Our hotel attracts travelers from all over the world. The Periwinkle Inn has a distinctive waterfront location, and is right where the Cape May promenade starts. We are located in the heart of Cape May City around many restaurants, sightseeing and everything else Cape May's got to offer. With a large heated pool, shuffleboard court, sandbox, BBQ grills surrounded by flowering gardens, we provide an ideal location for your Cape May family vacation. Stay with us, you will call it your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Periwinkle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periwinkle Hotel Cape May
Periwinkle Motel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing