We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Periwinkle Inn was a good choice”
Review of Periwinkle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Periwinkle Inn
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Periwinkle Inn was a good choice”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Periwinkle Inn is perfectly situated in Cape May.
The rooms are upgraded and very nice. Two queen beds in the room provided 8 built in drawers under the bed for great storage. The room and bathroom were kept very clean. The cleaning staff very thorough and nice. (worked around us). Nice size balcony.
The pools both adult and kiddie were kept very clean and a good size. The play area for children and shuffle board provided us much fun. Real nice fish pond in front was a beautiful touch.
Overall I would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front for a clear view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siona68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    112
    32
    31
    42
See reviews for
153
107
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

My husband, 17 year old daughter and I made a last minute decision to head to Cape May (my ALL TIME FAVORITE beach town) for a one day/night spur of the moment adventure. We usually rent a house in Cape May for a whole week, but this year spent our vacation time inland boating/waterskiing with my brother and his family.) Because it was last minute AND high season availability was understandably slim and our hotel choices limited. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor I felt clear on the expectations for Periwinkle Inn---they definitely WOULD charge for our extra guest (which they did), and I would not to bother "trying" to upgrade, negiotiate better pricing, room upgrade, etc. We arrived before the appointed check-in time of 3 pm, and the front desk seemed a little frazled, but they were true to their word and called me as soon as our room was ready-- around 1 pm. I was happy to be able get us settled in early (while my husband & daughter enjoyed some beach time.) All in all we LOVED EVERY MINUTE of the afternoon, evening, night, and morning we spent at this PERFECTLY LOCATED, clean, quiet, comfortable Periwinkle Inn. We were very pleased with our overnight here, and would definitely consider it for a future "quick trip" to the every enchanging Cape May.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor right by the elevator, with a view of the pool and ocean. It was just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdippity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here in May 2014. The location was great right across the street from the ocean. We had a studio suite which included a kitchenette and a living room. Only one complaint about the service is when they prepped our room they did not turn on the refrigerator. I stocked the fridge with cold beer and when I went to get one the beer was warm because I noticed the fridge was off. The rooms are noting fancy, but they were clean and well appointed. I guess I am spoiled from usually staying at 5 star hotels and resorts. As far as value goes I think it is a little overpriced for what you get, but then again isn't everything at the Jersey shore. Overall a decent place to stay in Cape May.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Beautiful pool. Great location with a trolley stop. Rude staff who charge extra to reserve two rooms near each other or have an extra person in a room that has two beds! Won't accept credit cards or personal check if you are out of state. Had to bring $1000 in cash which should've been a tip-off.

Reserved a room for 3 people and only were given towels for two.

Twin bed was made up with no fitted sheet... Instead a queen flat sheet that was tucked in so that a quarter of the mattress was exposed! Who wants to sleep on that?

Thanks to being featured on Hotel Impossible, it definitely looks nicer than when we checked it out a couple years ago and opted for another location, but the mattresses are already saggy and the fixtures are all super cheap. Shower faucet separating from wall and nowhere to hang towels in bathroom. Certainly wouldn't want to stay here in two years. It will be totally run down again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Rachelewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed at the Periwinkle Inn over July 4th for 5 nights (only place I could find at the last minute!) Very clean, well maintained property, nice pool & pool area. The rooms decorated in minimal Ikea style of modern- little amentities in the room- (no bureau- drawers under the bed frame!) Bathroom, though small clean, room clean & kept cleaned every day, with ample fresh towels & a big plus- beach/pool towels everyday! My only fault was- I think they could provide beach passes since you are paying a lot for the room- but beach access directly across the road! That is a big plus, too! Just realize when you go to Cape May using the beach does cost per person and you can find very little free parking in town- have plenty of quarters for the parking meters!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Momplus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had a great time. Within walking distance yo promenade and shops. Trolley also stops in front. Very kid friendly, nice grassy area near the pool for kids to play. Room was very nice, and the grounds crew were very tolerant of the kids balls going in the pool.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daniemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I think there are many pros and cons to this property. We had an Ocean Front room and yes you had to pay for the view -- but they told us up front. Yes we had to pay cash or else we would be assessed a 3% fee which I think is ridiculous, but we did know up front. We also had more than two in our room, so that was also assessed an extra fee per person, which I also though was stupid for a property where there was nothing "extra" being consumed - no free breakfast or anything like that, so who cares if 4 people are in a room with two queen beds? It sleeps that many, right? They don't discount you if you only have one person... I digress. Yes we knew in advance so that is our fault for paying it.
Upon our arrival at 3 PM, I checked in at the front desk. Nice check in area, but for a non-smoking place, it smelled like an ash tray and was not very inviting in that way. I gave my name to check in and waited as the lady did what she needed to do to get us in.
While I was waiting, I couldn't help but notice a very pregnant woman who was not looking happy in the lobby. She was speaking with another employee and asking if her room was ready yet. The woman told her it wasn't. The pregnant woman then stated that they had been in town since noon and that she was very hot and couldn't be in the sun any longer and just wanted to get into her room. The employee informed her that check in was between 3 and 8. Well, it was after 3. If they knew she was there at noon and that there was a chance not all of the rooms would be clean by 3, why wouldn't they have gone and done that room earlier so that the person who is in town and ready to check in at 3 would be able to get in her room. Between 3 and 8 is an unacceptable response when you are paying for the room and the website says 3 is check in. I understand not being able to check in at noon - that is a crap shoot when you arrive early, but if check in is at three then you should be ready to go.
Our room was ready, however, so we were given our keys and off we went. Room 314 was a nice room - it was clean, and it had a great view of the ocean and the pool. The lawns on property are very well maintained and true to their website in terms of their appearance.
The room had a small fridge and microwave in it which was nice. My son brought leftovers back to the room and figured he would heat them up later. But we had a problem, there was no paper place, plastic utensils or anything to assist with this. I would have brought my own, but I figured if the room would have the set up like it did with all of that, that there would be something to use. So be aware, you might need your own things.
The beach was right across the street which was convenient.
The pool was cold, so obviously not heated, but the kids had fun in it non the less.
Lots of off street parking for the people at the hotel.
I do think that it is a bit pricey for what you got. I have stayed in many bed and breakfasts in Cape May and payed less or the same at at least there you have breakfast included.
But since we were not in the room much, we enjoyed everything the town of Cape May had to offer. It wasn't a bad place to stay, just wouldn't be my first choice.

Room Tip: Room 314 was a good "Ocean Front" view. However the two buildings out front which looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CHH1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#7 of 37 in Cape May
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#18 of 37 in Cape May
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Inn

Property: Periwinkle Inn
Address: 1039 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cape May
#14 Family Hotel in Cape May
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Periwinkle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Cape May Hotels go the Periwinkle Inn is top of the line! Cape May, NJ is Americas very first seashore resort, and it is the home of the oceanfront Periwinkle Inn Hotel. Cape May is located at mile zero on the Garden State Parkway. The Periwinkle Inn is located on famous Beach Avenue, with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and steps from the white sands of Cape May Beach! All boutique-like rooms offer modern amenities including flat screen TV's, free wi-fi, microwaves, refrigerators and ocean views with private balconies or patios. We have 7 different styles of rooms including 2 room suites. Our Five star outdoor pool is heated and includes free pool/beach towels. We offer new chic designs while giving our guests an unmatched level of service. We care and we do everything to service our guests and provide wonderful vacation memories. Our hotel attracts travelers from all over the world. The Periwinkle Inn has a distinctive waterfront location, and is right where the Cape May promenade starts. We are located in the heart of Cape May City around many restaurants, sightseeing and everything else Cape May's got to offer. With a large heated pool, shuffleboard court, sandbox, BBQ grills surrounded by flowering gardens, we provide an ideal location for your Cape May family vacation. Stay with us, you will call it your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Periwinkle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periwinkle Hotel Cape May
Periwinkle Motel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing