We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely stay again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Periwinkle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Periwinkle Inn
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will definitely stay again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Periwinkle this past weekend and loved it! We stayed in room D which was very nice with a private balcony. The bed was soooo very comfortable. I did have one complaint though, there is an outside door that leads to the stairs for rooms C & D and when you go into that stairwell I could smell cigarette smoke. Thankfully the smell was not in our room ( one time I did smell it slightly by the bathroom). Overall though it was a very nice room and we will stay there again next Oct. ( We would live to stay there during the summer when we are down but it's a little too pricey for us in season.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwoje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello Valued Customer,

We at the Periwinkle Inn want to thank you for your comments. We do apologize for the smell of smoke. There is absolutely no smoking allowed within our rooms. If we were made aware we would have looked into that immediately and provided you with another room option if that was available. We would also like to thank you for your kind words. We would love to see you next season! We look forward to hearing from you

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    110
    32
    31
    40
See reviews for
145
106
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bloomfield new jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The new improvements didn't help the place if that was the owers intention. We have stayed at the Periwinkel many times in the past but sorry to say this was our last attempt. There isn't enought space to write a really good review but I am going to try to make it short and complete.. Please read all the other poor reviews and trust the writers. I don't like to sound negative and trying to be as positive as I can . I have stayed in motels on interstate highways in the United States that were better than this place traveling to Florida. The Periwinkel gave me the impression of being put together or remodeled in a very inexpensive way with very little amenities. I have a laundry list of thing i found to be wrong with this place . again ther isn't enough space to put it in the this review. After writing this review all i can come up with is that the periwinkel inn gives you a place to sleep and shower for an all cash payment. Its had to believe that The Periwinkle only takes Cash only , no credit cards or checks just hard cold CASH! , maybe that is the owner/management is like or appeals to be?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank gerard_c154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hello Valued Customer,

I do apologize for your inconvenience. We are working on the mentioned issues. During renovations we had a serious issue with the company that we went through. We were told only 7-10 days prior to opening they could not have the order completed. We had to get what we could to open, things will be different next year. The cash only policy has always been in effect during high season only. We are a small inn and rates are high per swipe times the grand amount. We are also open only six months out of the whole year so that does not help us either. We do apologized and would have loved to get your feed back at time of check out or anytime during your stay that you were unhappy. If there was something we could have done for you we would have done it. Thank you for your comments and appreciate your business

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

As I write this review 6 out of 10 most recently posted were negative. There is a reason. This will make 7 out of 10. The walls are so thin at this property you literally cannot sleep. I was up all night the first night I stayed. It sounded as if whoever next door was really sick because there was coughing all night and a child crying. I confirmed with housekeeping that the headboards for the two rooms were on the same wall. You could hear noises on the ceiling as well, which I could not understand at all as my room was carpeted. I wanted to check out the first night and asked for a refund. I was told there were no refunds and that was the response. No other alternatives were offered. Just "there are no refunds".

"Not a friendly office staff" was noted in previous review. Upon doing some research on the web, the owners are documented in numerous places to be adversarial. A direct quote from
a blog:bloggingcapemay.blogspot.com/.../periwinkle-inn-owners-speak-out-about. html - Cached
"Jan 30, 2013 ... If you saw the Hotel Impossible show about the Periwinkle Inn, you know that the owners of the Periwinkle did not come across well."
I can confirm that.

Other complaints were poor lighting, which translate to not being able to read a book, Also the wifi does not work, I called the front desk and was advised to use the neighboring Ocean Club wifi which would not work unless the slider door was open.

The noise continued each night-after losing three nights sleep I checked out early, losing approximately $700 and went and stayed at a Sleep Inn. It was worth it to me to not have anything more to do with this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank solotraveler711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillington, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Amenities lacking, such as no dresser, no mirror in suite, no luggage rack, very dim bathroom lighting, TV stand is way too low, no lighting at microwave & counter area. Room was very clean, and office staff were cordial enough, but these things we were accustomed to at the Periwinkle were no longer provided.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello Valued Customer,

We apologize for the inconvenience. We did order all custom furniture this winter and sadly the company told us ten days before we opened that they were unable to deliver on their part. We had to get whatever was available at that point. We are working on all the things you have mentioned. Again we apologize and hopefully you will reconsider us for a future stay. We appreciate your business.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed exactly one year ago at the Periwinkle. While it was clean and the grounds were very nice, as well as the location near the beach, the beds were hard, pillows flat and the room was very old. But after it appeared on Hotel Impossible, the changes have been very positive. The rooms are immaculate and lovely. Mattress much improved and pillows great. People who stay here are classy. Only problem is that the rates went up exorbitantly from last year, so we cut our stay short. I also learned from a friend who was going to return this summer that she couldn't afford it any longer.
One suggestion is to add a free breakfast in the morning. If you are going to charge these kinds of prices, you need to offer guests breakfast. Nearest bagel place is a few blocks away.
Another suggestion, as addressed on Hotel Impossible, is to allow credit cards. Carrying around hundreds of dollars is not a comforting feeling. The excuse given on the show was that omitting credit cards kept the rates down. But that is not a viable excuse any longer as the rates are now very high.
Also noticed that some guests who stayed had a problem with check in. We did as well. Were told at 2 that our room was not ready until 3, but we learned later that that was not the case. It was ready, but we were not allowed access until 3. Not a very nice policy, especially for return guests.

Room Tip: Take the upper floors. A drunk from the next hotel meandered over, entering the Periwinkle's ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank PuffyWinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hello Valued Customer,

Thank you for your comments and concerns. We did have to raise the rates due to the renovations. We are also such a small inn that we do not have the room for any restaurant to be on the property. We also do not have room for appliances to prepare food. As for the credit cards, the rates are very high and we are only open six months out of the year so it is a great amount of money in fees. We apologize for the inconvenience but check in time is anytime after 3pm and before 8pm, which is stated on your confirmation. If the room is ready we do call you as soon as it is. We must wait for the housekeeping staff to have the room completely done to check you in early. We appreciate your business

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Don't expect to get into your room before the check-in time. Well, maybe if they are in a good mood you can get in around 2. Any other hotel will give you the room earlier if it is ready. This place lies and says your room isn't ready. If you stay, don't pay until 3!
We don't like the make-over either.
Not a friendly office staff.

Room Tip: The best rooms are third floor ocean facing but expect to pay $20 a night extra if you try to reserv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
14 Thank lovesCapeMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello Valued Customer,

Thank you for your comments and concerns. We do apologize that you had to wait until 3pm but if the room is ready before hand we do call you as soon as possible and get you in. We do confirm check in time when you book with us. Check in time is anytime after 3pm and before 8pm which is stated on our website as well. We do appreciate your business and maybe we will see you in the near future

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We arrived at the inn and found out that there had been a misunderstanding and that we needed to pay cash for our stay of 4 nights. After some discussion we were able to work it out. We had a great stay, however. The room was newly remodeled and immaculate. The beds were very comfortable and the micro and fridge were a plus. The grounds are excellently maintained and groomed. The pool area is immaculate. Our room had a great view of the Atlantic. This is a peaceful, quiet and small place. We are planning to return to the Periwinkle next year. It's a gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seekerofshells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Front Office Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hello Valued Customer,

Thank you for sharing your experience and kind words with us at the Periwinkle Inn. We do appreciate your business and would love to see you next year! We try to make every customer happy and are pleased we were able to help. See you next year.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#16 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Inn

Property: Periwinkle Inn
Address: 1039 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cape May
#14 Family Hotel in Cape May
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Periwinkle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Cape May Hotels go the Periwinkle Inn is top of the line! Cape May, NJ is Americas very first seashore resort, and it is the home of the oceanfront Periwinkle Inn Hotel. Cape May is located at mile zero on the Garden State Parkway. The Periwinkle Inn is located on famous Beach Avenue, with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and steps from the white sands of Cape May Beach! All boutique-like rooms offer modern amenities including flat screen TV's, free wi-fi, microwaves, refrigerators and ocean views with private balconies or patios. We have 7 different styles of rooms including 2 room suites. Our Five star outdoor pool is heated and includes free pool/beach towels. We offer new chic designs while giving our guests an unmatched level of service. We care and we do everything to service our guests and provide wonderful vacation memories. Our hotel attracts travelers from all over the world. The Periwinkle Inn has a distinctive waterfront location, and is right where the Cape May promenade starts. We are located in the heart of Cape May City around many restaurants, sightseeing and everything else Cape May's got to offer. With a large heated pool, shuffleboard court, sandbox, BBQ grills surrounded by flowering gardens, we provide an ideal location for your Cape May family vacation. Stay with us, you will call it your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Periwinkle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periwinkle Hotel Cape May
Periwinkle Motel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing