We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little motel in Cape May, NJ”
Review of Periwinkle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Periwinkle Inn
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great little motel in Cape May, NJ”
Reviewed June 15, 2008

My husband and I booked a mid week stay at this lovely motel at the last minute and what a pleasant surprise! Although the property barely resembles the '60s motel it once was, the owner has put many creative touches to the grounds and buildings to make it so. We stayed in room 105 which was at the end of the building. The pool was steps from our patio which is where I hung out. There was open area around the pool with grass and flowers and did not have that crammed in feeling some of the other motels in Cape May has. The beach was across the street and that is where my husband hung out. He would walk over for lunch (even the regular rooms have a double cube sized frige and microwave) and go back to the beach. It was the best of both worlds! There were few kids there at the time we went and there was a family of four next door but we didn't hear them until they slammed the sliders on their way out early one morning. I think the parents had had enough of the kids fighting and left in a bad mood. Everything was spotless thanks to a great staff. Front office staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. We were also able to purchase a half day extra and did not have to check out until 6 PM which was fantastic! The only reason I didn't give an excellent rating was because the pool closed too early at 7PM. Otherwise, we'll be back again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Liked — Good value, very clean
  • Disliked — pool closed too early
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank 1976RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    112
    32
    31
    42
See reviews for
153
107
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

I have been staying at the Periwinkle for several years and my parents have been coming here at least once a year for over 20 years. The staff has always been more than helpful and the rooms are always clean. The pools (there is a kiddie pool too!!) and grounds are very well kept and you can't be any closer to the beach. This is not a party hotel and is very quiet at night. I have stayed at other hotels in Cape May and this is the best !!!
If you are looking for a quiet, clean and relaxing place to go in Cape May.....this is the place!!

  • Liked — Clean, Quiet
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank njadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2008

I have been going to Cape May since 1968. I have been staying at the Periwinkle Inn for over 18 years. This hotel is alway spotless inside and out, we have never had a bad vacation at the Periwinkle. The entire staff is extremely freindly and courteous. The pool area is perfect for everyone especially for a family with children. My two children have grown up there. This is a real family get away in Cape May.

David Lardier

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank laquar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Owner at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2008
Hello Mr. Lardier! We thank you for the feedback and look forward to seeing you again this season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2008

We have been going the the jersey shore all of our lives, one of our favorite places to stay is the Periwinkle Inn! The staff is friendly and accomodating--they even love to take my daughter for a swim in the pool for me! They have a play area for the kids, a great pool and are literally right across the street from the beach! So our daughter has the best of both worlds.
The rooms are spacious and clean with all the amenities of home! And Periwinkle Inn is just blocks away from the center of town, so we would take a stroll in town to have dinner, then go on Cape May's quaint boardwalk or play minature golf!
Overall, we enjoy staying at the Periwinkle Inn every vacation we spend down there because we always feel like family!

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank anna_butler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clayton, nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2008

I have been searching for a place like the PERIWINKLE INN for about 5 years. A friend told me about this site and that the PERIWINKLE INN's reviews were not so good, so i felt that justice needed to be served. So i decided to write this review for this wonderful hotel. I wanted some place that had a big clean pool and a big grassy area where i can just lay on my lounge chair and just soak up the sun. At night the PERIWINKLE INN shines with white lights. All rooms have a private patio or balcony. I tell all of my friends to go to the Periwinkle Inn!

  • Liked — The property pool area.
  • Disliked — Pool is closed at night.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank flaviac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broofin74
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2008

Periwinkle Inn is a very nice oceanfront hotel! I found my home away from home! I have been to Cape May many times, and I have stayed at almost every hotel there, and if I did not stay there I definantly went to a lot of the properties to check them out. Hands down Periwinkle Inn is one of the nicest hotels on the island! From the staff to the beautiful pool there is no other place like this in Cape May. The rooms are clean and kept up. I was shocked to read some of the bad reviews on this motel. I couldn’t disagree more. Periwinkle Inn is a sure bet!

  • Liked — the layout of the motel was unique and inviting
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank broofin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2007

Just got back from the Periwinkle. We had an opportunity to book a late summer vacation as our children start school later in the month. Rooms were dirty and smelly. Housekeeping didn't arrive until late in the day and spent all of 30 minutes in our suite - and it showed. Not much vacuuming, bathrooms only wiped down. Carpet was filthy. Rooms were very small and tight - couch was TERRIBLY uncomfortable - all of the furniture was uncomfortable. So, after we put the kids to bed, sitting up watching TV or playing cards was like doing so in a public waiting room (worse probably). Lighting was bad - one key window was blocked by the stairwell. We had an ocean front room and balcony but there was a huge spotlight that shined right into our sliding glass doors - so we couldn't leave them open at night and enjoy the ocean breeze.

There were no chairs inside the pool area, only cement benches. While we were there with our kids we suffered on those benches or jumped into the pool with them.

There was no place to hang our beach and pool towels (all of our own) to dry. The staff said we weren't allowed to use the deck railing (even the back deck, not visable from the street) but there wasn't anyplace else to hang them, No hooks or lines. It meant we had to drape towels all around our rooms at night- which were already very small and tight.

Bedroom was about 30 stairs (three sections of stairs) from the bathroom. Tricky for a 6 year old to navigate in the middle of the night.

Grills didn't work well- it took 40 minutes to cook a few burgers.

Staff didn't seem to know much about the town - where a particular resturante was, the nearest pharmacy, about the various Whale Watching cruises. The office stunk like cigarette smoke and half of the staff wasn't at all friendly (some were very sweet and friendly though).

I, too, didn't like having to pay in cash. The fact that they don't take charge cards speaks to the importance they place on customer service. In fact, I arrived with exact change ($803.22)and the poor gal at the front desk was beside herself with appreciation because she was running out of change. How can you only take cash without having enough of it on hand to make change?

I also got the impression that there are regulars who have been coming over the years. The week we were there it was mostly seniors who knew to bring their own chairs for the balcony!

The plus side - the location is great and the courtyard grounds are kept very nice. Shuffleboard and a sand box kept the kids busy as we cooked dinner. The rear deck on the suite is shared, but nice. The guests are more quiet and reserved than the party crowds we saw at some nearby motels.

But, I do not think I'd go again. Too many down-sides without any bargain!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Quality of Room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JCzisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2007
Hello.

Our establishment is surprised to learn of such dislikes in regards to our rooms. We pride our place with cleanliness, and if a guest tells the front desk that they felt their room was not being serviced/ cleaned, we would have fixed any problems to the customer's satisfaction. We wish we had we been made aware of it. The housekeeping staff arrives late in the day for make ups because they do the check outs first. This affords us to give the rooms out to customers who do not have a room yet. This is a courtesy, since we feel it is only fair to the arriving customer to have the room ready so they can enjoy it.

Traveler's Checks may have been a more secure method of payment.

Everyone on our staff is a wealth of knowledge. All you have to do is ask.

The street light issue is the city of Cape May's responsibility. We are sorry about this, but this is out of our control.

The couches are brand new; we just purchased them in April, and have heard the couches were in fact very comfortable from other guests.

As far as the towel issue, we do in fact have a large clothesline in the back of the property near our bike rack for all of our guests to use. Also, there is a clothes line in every room at the tub area. Towels hung on our front balcony are not very pleasing to the eye.

The pool issue deals with a new state law where all parents have to be in the pool area with their children. Tables and benches are provided while enjoying your children in the pool.

Again, Periwinkle Inn is sorry to hear this review and we wish it was brought to our attention. We have been in business for over 35 years and the majority of our guests are returning satisfied customers.

Sincerely Yours,

Periwinkle Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#7 of 37 in Cape May
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#18 of 37 in Cape May
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Inn

Property: Periwinkle Inn
Address: 1039 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cape May
#14 Family Hotel in Cape May
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Periwinkle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Cape May Hotels go the Periwinkle Inn is top of the line! Cape May, NJ is Americas very first seashore resort, and it is the home of the oceanfront Periwinkle Inn Hotel. Cape May is located at mile zero on the Garden State Parkway. The Periwinkle Inn is located on famous Beach Avenue, with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and steps from the white sands of Cape May Beach! All boutique-like rooms offer modern amenities including flat screen TV's, free wi-fi, microwaves, refrigerators and ocean views with private balconies or patios. We have 7 different styles of rooms including 2 room suites. Our Five star outdoor pool is heated and includes free pool/beach towels. We offer new chic designs while giving our guests an unmatched level of service. We care and we do everything to service our guests and provide wonderful vacation memories. Our hotel attracts travelers from all over the world. The Periwinkle Inn has a distinctive waterfront location, and is right where the Cape May promenade starts. We are located in the heart of Cape May City around many restaurants, sightseeing and everything else Cape May's got to offer. With a large heated pool, shuffleboard court, sandbox, BBQ grills surrounded by flowering gardens, we provide an ideal location for your Cape May family vacation. Stay with us, you will call it your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Periwinkle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periwinkle Hotel Cape May
Periwinkle Motel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing