We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“You'll be Happy you decided to stay here....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Periwinkle Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Periwinkle Inn
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bethany, Connecticut
1 review
“You'll be Happy you decided to stay here....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This summer will be the 13th consecutive year our family has stayed at The Periwinkle. Great place for families with kids of all ages. Within walking distances to most Cape May activities and restaurants as well as steps to the beach. Owners and staff are as good as it gets.In the past we have stayed at three other Cape May establishments prior to hanging our hats at The Periwinkle. We continually return to the same place every summer for a reason, you'll be happy you decided to stay here.
The Vecchio's...

Room Tip: Book early for summer months, Feb / March of that year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Front Office Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback we truly appreciate it! We hope to see you again soon this season! All of our rooms are brand new!

Sincerely,

Periwinkle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    100
    30
    30
    38
See reviews for
136
99
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The periwinkle location is perfect for us.I always enjoy the color and layout when we first drive up to register. The motel face's the beginning of the promenade overlooking the ocean. We like the pleasant walk of a half mile or so on the promenade to the center of activity and a little further to the outdoor mall.
The motel is well kept ,a nice pool , elevator convenient parking. The balconies present a chance to sit and relax seeing and breathing in the ocean air. As a life long Jersey resident the Periwinkle lends itself to a flavor of the old time Jersey shore . The actual last date we stayed at the Periwinkle was Sept 2011 not 2012 but this the program does not allow me to let that on. We stayed at another place in Oct 2012 on account of some deal but will be back to the Periwinkle in the future.

Room Tip: ask for ocean view , first floor if you have kids to access pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elratongmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and appreciation that we all do here at the Periwinkle Inn. We would love to have you come and stay again. We are newly renovated so everything is brand new! We are very excited and would love to have you come check out the improvements. Hope to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in early June and were so happy we chose this place! It is directly across from the beach! The hotel room was clean and well appointed and even had a little kitchen, which was great for breakfast in the morning. It is a little further down from the main attactions, but we like it that way, as it was very quiet - it's a great place for families to stay. Good restaurants were within easy walking distance.There was an inground pool as well as BBQ's available if you wanted to make some burgers! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starchild0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, General Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello to our appreciated guest!
We are just writing to tell you that we are very happy that you decided to take the time to write about our services and we hope you will give us another try, because we have updated each and every room at our property, and we feel you just may love it!

Thanks again!
Sincerely,

Periwinkle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed 4 nights: Wed. - Sun. into Labor Day Weekend. We loved it! Our room was clean and comfortable (2 queen beds). We really liked having the mini-fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room. We had breakfast in our room every morning. Our room opened onto the pretty courtyard and pool. Our children enjoyed the pool and shuffle board court. There is also an outdoor shower for rinsing sandy feet before entering your room.
The location is great - right across the street from the beach! You could walk back to your own clean room to use the bathroom rather than using public restrooms at the beach. The beach is sandy and beautiful! The waves are boogie-board heaven for the kids! And several times, we saw a pod of dolphins diving through the waves just off shore! We brought our own beach chairs and umbrella so we did not have to rent them. You do need to purchase beach passes - very reasonable. Price varies depending on how many days you need.
You get a parking space with your room, but we often walked down Beach Avenue past all the charming houses to the restaurants and arcades (about a 10 minute walk). We enjoy walking on a summer evening. (Parking near the restaurants can be difficult to find.)
We would stay here again. Our pink motel by the sea!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misty2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, General Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,
we are just writing to tell you that we appreciate your taking the time to tell us your thoughts on our property, and we hope to see you again soon. We have updated all of our rooms and hope you will give us another try.

Sincerely,
Periwinkle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I just stayed that teh Periwinkle for 3 nights - we had a small suite that included a separate bedroom and living room with sofa bed and efficiency kitchen, and a balcony overlooking the courtyard and pool. This set up was ideal and comfortable. The room was very clean, and housekeeping kept it that way all 3 days. Flat screen TV in the living room was nice - we brought a small DVD player to plug in - which worked well. There was an old TV in the bedroom - no remote except the one from the LR worked for just the cable box.

We read warnings that the beds are uncomfortable, so we brought our Queen sized memory foam topper and this was a life saver I think. My wife really needs a comfortable bed.

The location is great -- the hotel is situated at the very beginning of the promenade that runs 1.4 miles along the beach to the jetty end. 10 minute walk to the central business district. There was a beach entrance and beach pass sales booth directly across the street as well - beach access was free since the life guards were gone. Usually $5/day and $10 for a 3-day pass (in season). You could easily walk to restaurants and bars in town, and even next door at other hotels. This location (about 4 blocks from the center) is a bit quieter, but not far from the "action" such as what Cape May has to offer.

The front desk staff were very welcoming and helpful. I had to ask for shampoo and conditioner, which is free upon request. Nice little vials - so they know they would be stuffed into suitcases every day, thus the "by request" policy. Understandable. Ask at check-in though.

Families with young children would love this place. They have a regular pool and a 1 foot deep kiddie pool. Also a big sandbox, playhouse, and toys on the courtyard lawn. The courtyard is very nice -- the place has a french/european look ... a bit more charming than many of the beach front "motels".

Price was good - and we did shop. Booked it through Bookings.com.

We will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, General Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello and thanks so much for your input. We hope to see you again real soon . All of our rooms have been renovated so everything is brand new!

We hope to see you at the Periwinkle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I've been going down every summer to Cape May, NJ for 27 years now. There are very few properties that compare to the Periwinkle Inn. The rooms are a nice size, clean and most have updated bathrooms. If you ask for extra towels, they are very amenable. The staff are friendly, courteous, and helpful. Since it is located further down the beach from the arcade, it is very quiet and relaxing, which is why we chose it for this particular weekend. The soap is small so we usually bring our own. The property is well kept and there is plenty to do for a small hotel - shuffleboard, a life-size doll house, sandbox and pool as well as across the street from the beach. Relaxtion is key here......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, General Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello and thank you for caring so much about us that you took the time to tell us your thoughts on our service, i am happy to inform you that we have updated all of our rooms and we hope you will give us a try again!

Sincerely,

Periwinkle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomfield new jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The hotel could have been cleaner and the room could was in need of remodeling at the very least. We had to go to the front desk twice for clean towels and extra small bars of soap. The room had a slight oder and needed new carpeting. I thought the hotel was a bit pricey and not worth the stay. If your going to stay at Periwinkle Inn bring plenty of cold hard cash, thay don't except credit cards or personal checks only CASH. Payment is in CASH only.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
47 Thank gerard_c154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Front Office Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hello and I am so sorry that your stay was not 100% enjoyable here at the Periwinkle Inn. I only wish our guests would tell us when there are problems like this with vacuuming! We certainly would have jumped right on it to send someone else down to your room and vacuum immediately. All guests need to know that we are in the process of renovating our hotel before the 2013 season. We thank you all for your patience!

We look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Periwinkle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#11 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#17 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 1,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#5 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#3 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
0.8 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#2 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 987 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#9 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Inn

Property: Periwinkle Inn
Address: 1039 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cape May
#14 Family Hotel in Cape May
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Periwinkle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Cape May Hotels go the Periwinkle Inn is top of the line! Cape May, NJ is Americas very first seashore resort, and it is the home of the oceanfront Periwinkle Inn Hotel. Cape May is located at mile zero on the Garden State Parkway. The Periwinkle Inn is located on famous Beach Avenue, with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and steps from the white sands of Cape May Beach! All boutique-like rooms offer modern amenities including flat screen TV's, free wi-fi, microwaves, refrigerators and ocean views with private balconies or patios. We have 7 different styles of rooms including 2 room suites. Our Five star outdoor pool is heated and includes free pool/beach towels. We offer new chic designs while giving our guests an unmatched level of service. We care and we do everything to service our guests and provide wonderful vacation memories. Our hotel attracts travelers from all over the world. The Periwinkle Inn has a distinctive waterfront location, and is right where the Cape May promenade starts. We are located in the heart of Cape May City around many restaurants, sightseeing and everything else Cape May's got to offer. With a large heated pool, shuffleboard court, sandbox, BBQ grills surrounded by flowering gardens, we provide an ideal location for your Cape May family vacation. Stay with us, you will call it your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Periwinkle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periwinkle Hotel Cape May
Periwinkle Motel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing