We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Delightful Family Stay at the Periwinkle Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Periwinkle Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Periwinkle Inn
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glen Rock, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delightful Family Stay at the Periwinkle Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed 4 nights: Wed. - Sun. into Labor Day Weekend. We loved it! Our room was clean and comfortable (2 queen beds). We really liked having the mini-fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room. We had breakfast in our room every morning. Our room opened onto the pretty courtyard and pool. Our children enjoyed the pool and shuffle board court. There is also an outdoor shower for rinsing sandy feet before entering your room.
The location is great - right across the street from the beach! You could walk back to your own clean room to use the bathroom rather than using public restrooms at the beach. The beach is sandy and beautiful! The waves are boogie-board heaven for the kids! And several times, we saw a pod of dolphins diving through the waves just off shore! We brought our own beach chairs and umbrella so we did not have to rent them. You do need to purchase beach passes - very reasonable. Price varies depending on how many days you need.
You get a parking space with your room, but we often walked down Beach Avenue past all the charming houses to the restaurants and arcades (about a 10 minute walk). We enjoy walking on a summer evening. (Parking near the restaurants can be difficult to find.)
We would stay here again. Our pink motel by the sea!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misty2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, General Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,
we are just writing to tell you that we appreciate your taking the time to tell us your thoughts on our property, and we hope to see you again soon. We have updated all of our rooms and hope you will give us another try.

Sincerely,
Periwinkle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    109
    32
    31
    40
See reviews for
144
105
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I just stayed that teh Periwinkle for 3 nights - we had a small suite that included a separate bedroom and living room with sofa bed and efficiency kitchen, and a balcony overlooking the courtyard and pool. This set up was ideal and comfortable. The room was very clean, and housekeeping kept it that way all 3 days. Flat screen TV in the living room was nice - we brought a small DVD player to plug in - which worked well. There was an old TV in the bedroom - no remote except the one from the LR worked for just the cable box.

We read warnings that the beds are uncomfortable, so we brought our Queen sized memory foam topper and this was a life saver I think. My wife really needs a comfortable bed.

The location is great -- the hotel is situated at the very beginning of the promenade that runs 1.4 miles along the beach to the jetty end. 10 minute walk to the central business district. There was a beach entrance and beach pass sales booth directly across the street as well - beach access was free since the life guards were gone. Usually $5/day and $10 for a 3-day pass (in season). You could easily walk to restaurants and bars in town, and even next door at other hotels. This location (about 4 blocks from the center) is a bit quieter, but not far from the "action" such as what Cape May has to offer.

The front desk staff were very welcoming and helpful. I had to ask for shampoo and conditioner, which is free upon request. Nice little vials - so they know they would be stuffed into suitcases every day, thus the "by request" policy. Understandable. Ask at check-in though.

Families with young children would love this place. They have a regular pool and a 1 foot deep kiddie pool. Also a big sandbox, playhouse, and toys on the courtyard lawn. The courtyard is very nice -- the place has a french/european look ... a bit more charming than many of the beach front "motels".

Price was good - and we did shop. Booked it through Bookings.com.

We will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, General Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello and thanks so much for your input. We hope to see you again real soon . All of our rooms have been renovated so everything is brand new!

We hope to see you at the Periwinkle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I've been going down every summer to Cape May, NJ for 27 years now. There are very few properties that compare to the Periwinkle Inn. The rooms are a nice size, clean and most have updated bathrooms. If you ask for extra towels, they are very amenable. The staff are friendly, courteous, and helpful. Since it is located further down the beach from the arcade, it is very quiet and relaxing, which is why we chose it for this particular weekend. The soap is small so we usually bring our own. The property is well kept and there is plenty to do for a small hotel - shuffleboard, a life-size doll house, sandbox and pool as well as across the street from the beach. Relaxtion is key here......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, General Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello and thank you for caring so much about us that you took the time to tell us your thoughts on our service, i am happy to inform you that we have updated all of our rooms and we hope you will give us a try again!

Sincerely,

Periwinkle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomfield new jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The hotel could have been cleaner and the room could was in need of remodeling at the very least. We had to go to the front desk twice for clean towels and extra small bars of soap. The room had a slight oder and needed new carpeting. I thought the hotel was a bit pricey and not worth the stay. If your going to stay at Periwinkle Inn bring plenty of cold hard cash, thay don't except credit cards or personal checks only CASH. Payment is in CASH only.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
47 Thank gerard_c154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Front Office Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hello and I am so sorry that your stay was not 100% enjoyable here at the Periwinkle Inn. I only wish our guests would tell us when there are problems like this with vacuuming! We certainly would have jumped right on it to send someone else down to your room and vacuum immediately. All guests need to know that we are in the process of renovating our hotel before the 2013 season. We thank you all for your patience!

We look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Periwinkle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We booked last minute to this Cape May hotel and were influenced by the reviews that mostly used adjectives such as clean and pretty. It's very hard not to notice that the property is truly well maintained and landscaped. The pools are clean and the guests are generally quiet. It kind of went downhill from there. The elevator was quite roomy and clean, and was an unexpected plus in an older building such as this one. However, once we opened the room door, we were daunted by the dirty-looking reddish brown, speckled, and worn-out carpet. The bathroom was clean and it appeared this is where anyimprovement had been done. The wall-to-wall green glass tiles were quite beautiful, and the small toilet looked new. However, there were no hooks on the doors or elsewhere for towels or anything else, and not stall shelving for soap or shampoo. Speaking of soap, once we got those two small, flat bars of hotel-sized soap, we never got anymore for the next 4 days. We called front desk, and after they were done accusing us of leaving the room too late for housekeeping as the reason we didn't have soap, and we rebutted that the housekeeper had come, made the bed, but not vacuumed or left soap, we were told to come down to get some ourselves. Our room was not vacuumed for our entire 4-day stay, and we finally got soap the last night only because we went to get some ourselves. Apart from that, the room was fine and the hotel is across from the beach, so very convenient. We had two beds that were a bit hard and very high pillows. We wouldn't stay here again. At almost $300/night for the weekend nights, we felt customer service and houseekeeping left much to be desired, and the carpet was just disgusting to walk on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
34 Thank macksammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, General Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hello my valuable guest! We at the Periwinkle Inn do appreciate your business more than you know! I just wanted to tell you that we are doing a MAJOR renovation before the 2013 season hits! Hope to see you this season coming up!

Sincerely,

Periwinkle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel is clean, a little dated but decent. This was my first time in Cape May and my family and I loved it. The hotel is a little pricey but most of Cape May is anyway. The pool was really nice except the lawn chairs were on the outside of the pool area which was a little strange. I have a 5 year-old and there is no way I could sit outside of the pool area so I had to sit on the ground. The location isn't the best but with a little one, it was nice to be in a quieter area at night and early morning. I do agree with the other reviewer...the beds were not comfortable at all. I have to say that overall, we had a pleasant stay and although I would try another hotel next time (just because that's what we like to do) I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite is definitely worth the extra money if you have children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mchase92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hello our Dear Past Guest,

The Periwinkle Inn wants to tell you that we appreciate your thoughts on our services and we hope that you will consider us again. We have just reopened and all is brand new! We renovated each and every room just for wonderful people such as yourself.

Thank you again we try every time to make your stay memorable.

Sincerely,

Periwinkle Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livingston, NJ 07039
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was the 1st time in Cape May that we stayed in a motel rather than in a B&B, and only because it was last minute booking for Labor Day and nothing else was available. No wonder this hotel was the only one that had vacancies, even during Labor Day. The price was very-very high, no breakfast included, no restaurant on premises either. We payed $1089 for 3 nights in a standard room with 2 queen beds ( by the way, very uncomfortable beds). The hotel has neither the Victorian charm that B&B offers, nor the luxuries that really nice hotels provide ( and there are a bunch of luxury ones right near Periwinkle). If all of this is of no significance for you, if you come to Cape May not for it's ambiance but only for the beach, then this review is not for you, just disregard it. As for me, never again! Not worth the money!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
36 Thank tsilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Front Office Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Here at the Periwinkle Inn we are responding to your review to tell you that we appreciate your feedback and do take all concerns seriously. We would like to invite you back and hope yo will consider it because we have renovated each and every room here at the Periwinkle Inn hotel in Cape May

Sincerely,

Periwinkle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#6 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#2 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#13 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#18 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#14 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avondale by the Sea
Avondale by the Sea
#15 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Inn

Property: Periwinkle Inn
Address: 1039 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cape May
#14 Family Hotel in Cape May
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Periwinkle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Cape May Hotels go the Periwinkle Inn is top of the line! Cape May, NJ is Americas very first seashore resort, and it is the home of the oceanfront Periwinkle Inn Hotel. Cape May is located at mile zero on the Garden State Parkway. The Periwinkle Inn is located on famous Beach Avenue, with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and steps from the white sands of Cape May Beach! All boutique-like rooms offer modern amenities including flat screen TV's, free wi-fi, microwaves, refrigerators and ocean views with private balconies or patios. We have 7 different styles of rooms including 2 room suites. Our Five star outdoor pool is heated and includes free pool/beach towels. We offer new chic designs while giving our guests an unmatched level of service. We care and we do everything to service our guests and provide wonderful vacation memories. Our hotel attracts travelers from all over the world. The Periwinkle Inn has a distinctive waterfront location, and is right where the Cape May promenade starts. We are located in the heart of Cape May City around many restaurants, sightseeing and everything else Cape May's got to offer. With a large heated pool, shuffleboard court, sandbox, BBQ grills surrounded by flowering gardens, we provide an ideal location for your Cape May family vacation. Stay with us, you will call it your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Periwinkle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periwinkle Hotel Cape May
Periwinkle Motel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing