We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location on the beach”
Review of Periwinkle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Periwinkle Inn
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Benelux
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ideal location on the beach”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

A lovely motel that combines an ideal location directly across the road from the beach, and a pool as a beach alternative. The rooms are well-equipped, clean and well-situated. The only downside I found with the stay was the absence of a strong wi-fi network. The personnel are pleasant and willing to provide tips and useful information for your stay. The motel is close to restaurants and a walk away from downtown. Its the third time we've been there and I'd gladly return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExPatBorderWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Valued Customer,
Thank you so much for the kind words. We appreciate your business and would love for you to stay again and experience the new renovations. We worked really hard all winter and are very proud of how it has all come together. Keep us in mind for your future stay. Hope to hear from you soon.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    112
    32
    31
    42
See reviews for
153
107
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Right across the street from the beach, great views of the ocean, friendly staff and clean. What more can you ask for? Well, the beds were not that comfortable but sleeping on vacation has never been my thing anyway. Overall, I would definitely recommend staying here and I would stay there again next time I visit Cape May.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hello Valued Customer,
We appreciate your comments you are very kind. We are newly renovated this year and I'm pleased to let you know we have new mattresses along with everything else! We are very proud of it and would love for you to come back and see us to experience it. Call us anytime. Hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Charming and cozy with a great location and staff! This is the perfect seaside get away for families and those of us just looking for a little rest and relaxation, the perfect beach retreat! The periwinkle exudes whimsical charm of a yester year family feel right on the cape may beach!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kellysweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Valued Customer,
We are very pleased you had such a memorable stay. We are newly renovated this year! We would love to have you and the family back for another vacation. Please consider us and give us call anytime. Let's make more memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our room was very nice (nicer than you'd expect from the outside of the Inn) but it was the attention we received from the proprietor and her son that stood out. My fiance fell on the concrete (long night at Cabana's), we went to a kids' baseball tournament for hours the next day and when we came back we took off the makeshift bandage to find large chunks of rock embedded in his hand which would explain the pain. I went to the front desk and asked the young woman where i might buy tweezers. At that time, a man came in behind me and went behind the counter. He asked what I needed and when I told him, he became concerned and told me he'd get me his "kit." I was afraid my fiance wouldn't allow me to try to dig out the stones but Jerry offered to come down and help, saying he's helped so many kids with huge splinters and similar injuries that it was no problem. He brought his kit and his mom, Claudia, showed up with more First Aid. Rather than worry about litigation, together they saved us a trip to the ER. Service like that is unheard of these days when you can't even get a waiter to give you a few aspirin for a headache. I'd asked for a new top sheet as there was blood all over it but they called someone and the whole bed was remade immediately with crisp white sheets.

Our room was a suite with a bedroom and separate living room/kitchen which opened out to the pool (which we didn't use - we were either out shopping/eating/drinking or at games). The room was well worth the price compared to other places on the water and perfect for two couples or a couple with children.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor that open out to a patio by the pool are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kym C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Valued Customer,

We at the Periwinkle Inn would like to thank you for expressing your thoughts on your experience here. We do remember the spill and were more then happy to help him out. I'm sure he will never forget the night at Cabana's. We are glad he had a good time and would love to have you back. We are newly renovated this year from top to bottom. Come check us out and call anytime. The girls in the office will be more then happy to help you out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillside, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just stayed last weekend and was pleasantly surprised. We arrived 2 hours prior to check in time and our room was available. Staff was courteous and friendly, I believe I was checking in by the owner. Pool was very clean and kids had a blast! Really liked the medium sized refrigerator in the room. We had it stocked up for the weekend. WiFi reception in room was very weak (#112)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 528Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Valued Customer,

Thanks for your input and kind words. We are newly renovated this year and would love to see you again. We did work on the Wifi during the winter and as of right now we are able to connect with a great signal. If you are looking to come back give us a call anytime. We will be happy to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We just stayed there in August of 2012 and the staff wehn we checked in was anything but friendly. First, I had a cashiers check made out to the hotel which is as good as cash, but was not exceptable, I needed a Travlers check or cash. Second when we asked if our room was ready (it was after 3:00 PM) we were told there was some damage to it and it was not guarenteed until anytime between 3-8 PM that day. Third as we were waiting to check in my spouse asked if she could use a bathroom, she was told NO, there are public ones on the beach. When we came back from the bank with cash suddendly we spoke with the owner who was nicer but tried to explain away her staff's rudeness by just saying they had a complete turn over that day and were very stressed. Our room was just okay and are beach view was limited, I would not recommend staying here, the price was not equalivant to the value.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean FRONT room or you will just get one with a view and a not so private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Valued Customer,

We are sorry you had a bad experience and would love to have you give us another shot. We are fully renovated this year. We would like you to recommend the Ocean View or Facing Ocean rooms so you can get a great view. We apologized for the experience at check in and we do have a public bathroom now as well. Please consider us for a future stay. We appreciate your business. Give us a call anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stayed here with my wife and one year-old daughter in June 2012 and loved it so much, we came back that August. My friend Jason B. who lives and works in Cape May recommended it as a great family spot.

The Periwinkle Inn falls somewhere between the quaint intimacy of a bed and breakfast yet with the convenience and amenities of nearby high rise hotels. There's a wonderfully welcoming alcove as you approach that contains a coy pond, small shuffleboard court, pool, and playhouse with adjoining sandbox. Our daughter spent plenty of time among these treats - even hanging out in the playhouse with its toys to escape a light rain one afternoon. Rooms have a balcony or little porch that face this cool courtyard. We were delighted to have such a home base for our stays.

Perfectly situated on Beach Avenue, you're right next to the ocean and an easy walk from most everything. If you don't like to stroll Beach Avenue, there's even a trolley that will pick you up right by the Periwinkle and take you to the shops and restaurants on the Washington Street Mall. The Inn will give you a free pass when you check in.

The rooms at the Periwinkle are standard but clean and convenient. We enjoyed the use of a good size refrigerator and strong water pressure of the showers. These are advantages that many bed and breakfasts don't have. Room service was excellent and the staff was welcoming.

As I was walking our daughter to sleep in her stroller one night, another Periwinkle guest saw us coming back. She was with her older kids and remarked how she had done the same with them. They'd been coming as a family for years and I know my family will literally be following in their footsteps.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

We can not express how thankful we are that you have chosen us for your summer vacation. We are very pleased to say we are newly renovated this year and would love to have you back to relax. Hopefully we can give you another great experience. Call us anytime for rates and dates, the girls in the office will be more then happy to assist you. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#7 of 37 in Cape May
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#18 of 37 in Cape May
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Inn

Property: Periwinkle Inn
Address: 1039 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cape May
#14 Family Hotel in Cape May
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Periwinkle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Cape May Hotels go the Periwinkle Inn is top of the line! Cape May, NJ is Americas very first seashore resort, and it is the home of the oceanfront Periwinkle Inn Hotel. Cape May is located at mile zero on the Garden State Parkway. The Periwinkle Inn is located on famous Beach Avenue, with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and steps from the white sands of Cape May Beach! All boutique-like rooms offer modern amenities including flat screen TV's, free wi-fi, microwaves, refrigerators and ocean views with private balconies or patios. We have 7 different styles of rooms including 2 room suites. Our Five star outdoor pool is heated and includes free pool/beach towels. We offer new chic designs while giving our guests an unmatched level of service. We care and we do everything to service our guests and provide wonderful vacation memories. Our hotel attracts travelers from all over the world. The Periwinkle Inn has a distinctive waterfront location, and is right where the Cape May promenade starts. We are located in the heart of Cape May City around many restaurants, sightseeing and everything else Cape May's got to offer. With a large heated pool, shuffleboard court, sandbox, BBQ grills surrounded by flowering gardens, we provide an ideal location for your Cape May family vacation. Stay with us, you will call it your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Periwinkle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periwinkle Hotel Cape May
Periwinkle Motel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing