We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect setting for my family gathering”
The Abbey
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Abbey
Main Kitchen Main Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The Abbey
Main Kitchen
Main Kitchen
Main Kitchen
First Floor Bathroom
Kitchen Powder Room
Laundry ROom
Front Parlor
Library
Dining Room
Charleston Bedroom
Natchez Bedroom
New Orleans Bedroom
Newport Bedroom
Brighton Suite Bunk Beds
Brighton Suite King Bedroom
San Francisco Bedroom
Brighton Bathroom
Saratoga Bedroom
Savannah Bedroom
Newport Bathroom
Newport Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Cape May, Cape May County, New Jersey

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maureen R
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“The perfect setting for my family gathering”
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The Abbey was a marvelous backdrop for my family (24 adults) to celebrate my mother's 80th birthday. The entire house is richly appointed with both Victorian and contemporary furnishings and the completely renovated kitchen is amazing! The posted pictures just don't do it justice. I spent a good deal of time in the kitchen and found everything I needed - with the exception of a rolling pin and a broom (though there were four vacuums). The location is great- offering both privacy and convenience to town as well as the beach. The landscaping was also gorgeous and we enjoyed the outdoor spaces as much as the indoor spaces (the outdoor shower was magnificent). The owners, Barbara and I.C., are very personable and accommodating and go out of their way to make their home warm and inviting for their tenants. I hope to reunite my family here again very soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene B
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding choice in Cape May for a large house rental”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We recently rented this nine bedroom, nine bath house for four days so that friends and family from near and far could see our daughter in a play at East Lynn Theater. The house is the most photographed in Cape May - a real Victorian gem that was completely renovated about a year ago. We have rented houses for about 30 years and have never rented one the was so well equipped. The house is beautifully decorated with period furnishings and the fully up to date kitchen is well designed for entertaining! We used every bedroom - and also had a successful party for the cast and crew of the play. Everyone found that the house, in addition to being beautiful inside and out, was also quite comfortable and practical for a large group. The owner is very accommodating, and there is a linen service that delivers just what you need to the house before you arrive. I could not recommend this property more highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A Victorian gem with all the modern conveniences
Liked least: Having to give back the keys
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion B
Randolph, New Jersey, United States
1 review
“A little bit of heaven!”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

11 girlfriends recently stayed at the Abbey. From the moment we walked in, we felt peaceful, happy, and relaxed!! We dined out, though there was everything we could possibly have needed in this big beautiful home; the kitchen was the envy of every woman in our group. We all had our own bedrooms (a few stayed in the same rooms, but had separate, comfortable beds), many bathrooms, and luxurious mattresses!!
We were able to sit around the kitchen bar together as we had breakfast and the front porch was so comfortable for our wine and cheese in the afternoon. While there were many televisions, we didn't have time to watch one. We all marveled at the time, effort, and love it must have taken to refurbish this lovely home! We would certainly recommend this beautiful Abbey!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The kitchen and the ability to walk to the beach, shops, and dining.
Liked least: leaving!!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2014
Receiving your very encouraging review helps to remind us of why we worked so hard to make this home and property a place for friends/family to gather and make new and wonderful memories together. Thank you for caring so well for the house during your stay; we would love to welcome you back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy M
Blackwood, New Jersey
1 review
“Wedding at The Abbey”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

My wife and I were shopping around for a shore destination as the backdrop of our wedding; specifically, we were looking for a beach front location. As we searched, we couldn't find anything that really captured what we were looking for. Then we stumbled upon The Abbey. Immediately, we agreed that would be the place. We called the property owner, Barbara, and she graciously facilitated the process in making The Abbey our wedding destination. It really was a seamless process. After booking The Abbey, the real work began. To start, the property has a max capacity of 100 people, which was perfect for us. We then had to organize the vendors. The city of Cape May limits the vendors that can be used. At first we didn't like this aspect of the experience, but in the end it was much easier because the vendors we chose were knowledgeable with the area and rules and regulations that follow. In addition, they were all awesome. The Abbey has a relatively large side yard that attaches to the back driveway which is also big. This allowed us to work with the tent company in utilizing both spaces. The yard was large enough to hold seating for 100 guests plus the dance floor and the driveway allowed us to have a bar area big enough to fit 10 table top stations. At the lower part of the driveway, we were able to place the required his/her bathrooms. With access to the porch, additional seating at the bottom of the driveway, and the inside of The Abbey, our guests enjoyed a one of a kind experience. We were easily able to reserve a space on the beach for our ceremony that took place one block from the house. The guests enjoyed the short walk from the ceremony to The Abbey. Parking wasn't an issue because there were a number of parking lots we could have rented out and we chose one just a block away from the location. Some guests parked there and others found parking on the street. No issues. We rented the Abbey Fri, Sat, and Sunday nights with the wedding taking place on Saturday. An FYI for Cape May, most hotels require a two night stay. We did get The Montreal to allow one night stays- but only gave us 10 rooms. This was really no issue either as most guests enjoyed the two day get away which allowed us to spend Friday and Saturday night with most guests, and Sunday night with intimate friends and family. It truly felt like we had a three day wedding. The Abbey does have a 9pm noise ordinance. The cops did come three times during the reception; however, they were kind and did uphold the 9pm ordinance. At 9pm, the DJ left, and most guests stayed on site and enjoyed the night late into the evening. It truly was an amazing weekend, and amazing experience, and the perfect location. I realize most people aren't going to say, "Your wedding was just okay." But we got many, many genuine compliments on the day. It took me a while to write this but we just got back from Cape May and of course we visited the Abbey and I knew I had to take the time to get this out. If you're planning a smaller wedding (100 or less), do consider this wonderful location. If you have any questions about vendors or anything else, do email me at teddal@comcast.net and I'd be more than pleased to share our experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2014
Thank you, Teddy, for taking the time to post this wonderful review - it was a delight working with you and Allison. We are kindred spirits in the detail department. I would love to work with you in the future should you wish to stay again at The Abbey, and we wish you both the very best! I do have to clarify that effective Jan 1, 2014, Cape May has instituted a new ordinance that only allows for properties that are zoned commercial to offer events; The Abbey is zoned residential. I am always delighted to offer wedding lodging for weddings and receptions that are held elsewhere; legally, I can allow a wedding on site that has as its guests only those that are covered under the lease (26), so there is an option for a very intimate wedding at The Abbey.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don E
Catawissa, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great location & huge house”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Walking distance to everything, Large house with plenty of rooms and space for everyone to spread out. Wrap around porch and fenced in yard makes it great for kids. Plenty of off street parking. Newly remodeled kitchen has everything you need in it, and then some. Mrs Tillman was very accommodating and great to work with!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed working with you and your family and so appreciate the care you administered during your stay - we hope you will consider returning in the very near future :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewed November 3, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2013
You are so very welcome, Diane! We hope you, your family and friends will return - thank you for caring for and appreciating The Abbey - we love hearing stories of the wonderful memories that are made at The Abbey.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PA
Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2013
Love, love, love your daughter's question - she is welcome anytime along with her family and friends :) Thank you for appreciating all the hard work; we're so glad the house was so comfortable for you, allowing you to enjoy your stay in Cape May. We look forward to your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing