We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”
Review of Ocean Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Club Hotel
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

went last august....after much research of all the properties..previously stayed at A B&B...was with a small dog at time...I i decided on Ocean Club Hotel...i am more the boutique style hotel goer..must have all fairly new amenities....and this sure did ...We stayed on second floor Soaking tub Suite...and tried to go to a higher a higher floor and the King suite with sitting room but they were booked ....loved the buday though....a little small for 539.00.a night....would rather have the extra sitting room and tv....the sea salt was excellent as was the bar and pool....and location....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    165
    70
    24
    31
See reviews for
191
253
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

The Sea Salt Restaurant and Ocean Club Hotel was our venue for our weekend beach wedding getaway. The hotel was extremely accommodating, giving our guests the private sun deck cabana rooms and allowing us to host our reception on the sun deck in a "family style" setting. Sarah (event planner) and Amy (restaurant manager) made the entire weekend seamless and went above and beyond for our special day. The food was incredible and staff were attentive. We will definitely be back for vacations and anniversaries for years to come!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This hotel was a wonderful experience very relaxing and just what is needed after a stressful winter.When we arrived the greeting was low key .I requested a room higher up so we would have a good view plus it was an anniversary present.It was a no hassle request .the room a small suite.Absolutely beautiful comfortable with sweeping views of the ocean .The pool just sits in front of the ocean and you couldn't ask for more.Everything here is new and fresh looking and at. This. Moment the. Crew is outside sanitizing everything for the grand opening on Memorial Day.I would stay here again without a thought .Sadly I'm leaving. It all behind tomorrow but it was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Probably a corner. Room as we are above the pool and tiki bar which I imagine is pretty lively durin...
See more room tips
Green Features: Looks like they follow the rules environment safe for all.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noriana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Having traveled all over the world on business, I have to say that this is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Typically, we go in the off-season as fall in Cape May is particularly charming and rates are also typically low. The hotel features long suites which span the width of the hotel with practically every room having a beautiful ocean view. There are few things better than sitting on the balcony all bundled up with a whiskey as the sun sets and your kids have fallen asleep. The Ocean Club also has wonderful bath products (Taccori- blood orange). My only complaint? If we are being picky: The toilet paper holder is too close to the toilet. We will be going back for our 4th time this fall.

Room Tip: Choose a high room for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This property fronts the beach. However, you must cross the road to access the beach.

Pros: clean and modern rooms. Great view of ocean. Very helpfull staff for restaurant recommendations, etc.

Cons: small bathrooms which we were used to from travels in Europe. No wash cloths provided, another European thing. Wish we had known about the construction which was was on the roof and next door to our room. One afternoon we wanted to sit on the balcony and have a glass of wine. The next thing we knew the workers were using a circular saw and the wind blew saw dust all over us. Although there are a few good restaurants nearby it is not as close to the central shopping and district as we would have liked.

Later in the season when all the construction is complete may be it will be better.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chadz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Will not be staying at the hotel because unfortunately my husband had to work.... We cancelled the room 5 weeks before our intended date which is early June...not the busy season....and will be paying a $50 fee for canceling....now when we can go will not be staying there...it's a lousy policy and seems like all they want is money for nothing.....sorry ocean club thumbs down from someone who could have enjoyed and could have writer a wonderful review.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Margee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry that our cancellation policy is not to your liking. It is recited when bookings are made over the phone, it is outlined on our website/third party booking sites, and it is conveyed in the confirmation email all guests receive.

Should you choose to visit Cape May, please note that our policy is comparable to, and in some cases more lenient, than other properties in the area.

Best regards,

OCH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Although we've lived in NJ all our life, we had never stayed overnight in Cape May. I wanted beachfront and nice and was willing to pay for it. However, the room was the exact layout (and actually a little smaller) than a Hilton Garden we stayed in Boca Raton, FL for $109/night. While I realize Ocean Club is beachfront, it is still off-season. But most disappointing was that this was supposed to be a non-smoking hotel. I was laying in bed in the evening with the glass door open, listening to the ocean. I smelled cigarette smoke, which really disgusts me. I looked out on my balcony and there was someone smoking on their balcony on the floor above us. Then, the next morning I was sitting on our balcony and someone was smoking on the same floor just two rooms down. I would recommend to get a less expensive hotel on Beach Avenue since you really don't get any extra perks for your money here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebR1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing the Ocean Club Hotel as your first taste of Cape May.

We are sorry if you feel we fell short of offering the value you expected, and we hope you are able to return to Cape May to sample some of the other hotels in town; experiencing another venue might give you a better barometer by which to measure our offerings. If you are able to visit again, we hope you will find that we compare favorably to other places in town.

We are sincerely sorry that someone chose to violate our smoking rules. Smoking outside of the designated bar area is strictly prohibited. As we rely on guests to alert us to violations of these rules, we wish we had been advised of your discomfort so that we could have addressed it in a timely fashion. Our sincerest apologies for your upset.

We hope you will give us another try in the future. Please know that your feedback is valuable to us, and we are always working to improve upon our offerings.

Best regards,
OCH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
693 reviews
0.8 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,159 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Hotel

Property: Ocean Club Hotel
Address: 1035 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Club Hotel redefines the luxury Cape May hotel experience. Designed by Tyler Duncan of Duncan Design Group, this boutique hotel provides the perfect blend of style and comfort. Indulge in the hotel’s breezy elegance, modern sophistication, lush bedding and chic custom designed furnishings. Leisurely pass the day sipping a cocktail poolside, on our spacious sundeck offering spectacular views of the ocean or bask in the sunshine on the beach with our complimentary beach service. Stroll along the Cape May Promenade, just steps away, and enjoy all the attractions Victorian Cape May has to offer. Finish off the day with stunning floor-to-ceiling panoramic ocean views from your private balcony. Though The Ocean Club Hotel’s greatest amenity is its location and accessibility to everything Cape May has to offer, the grounds and guest rooms also come with an abundance of amenities and guest services to make your stay even more relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing