We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Ocean front hotel”
Review of Ocean Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Club Hotel
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for the Labor Day weekend. The hotel is very modern and well designed in the front. They probably ran out of money and the back of the hotel as well as the hallways look cheap and outdated. We stayed at the suite with living area and bedroom overlooking the beach. The rooms are small but very clean and well furnished.
The pool is decent size and the drink service is great.
The restaurant is very good but overpriced.
The beach is clean and staffed with people who bring you towels and even food from the restaurant.
Overall, a very good experience

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrShura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for your feedback! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 577 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's like a caribbean resort in Cape May.

They have lounge chairs, fluffy towels, and umbrellas waiting for you at the waters edge.

They'll serve you lunch at the beach.

They have a world class chef at their restaurant, Sea Salt. Even if you stay somewhere else, EAT AT THE RESTAURANT.

The tiki bar and pool are cool and fun. Fluffy towels included. There's an upper deck, so comfy seating never runs out.

The staff is friendly, helpful, and super fast to meet any request.

The rooms rival any new Hyatt or Hilton, albeit with smaller bathrooms (but the new owners were stuck with the footprint of the old Atlas hotel, so let's not get picky.)

Now to Get Picky:

1) Ocean Club, if you could kindly bring out your delicious coffee earlier than 8AM, I would not have to wake up my husband making coffee in the room. Besides, have you tried taking an early morning walk on the beach with a ceramic mug full of coffee?

2) While the back hallways are immaculate, their Atlas origins persist. Some carpet and drapes would be nice when you get to it. Just a suggestion.

Thanks Ocean Club for a wonderful visit. You are my new go-to spot in Cape May.

Room Tip: The higher your floor, the better the view. Travelers without children might enjoy the child-free f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njtraveler1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for your review! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will use your feedback and suggestions to improve upon our property and services. Hope you join us again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a 3 night stay on the 2nd Floor sundeck- the week before Labor day weekend 2013- Overall our stay was pleasant- The Sundeck exceeded my expectations as it offers an additional outdoor space with view of the pool and Ocean. Sea Salt restaurant offered a tasty high end menu that did not disappoint and the staff was pleasant. Had breakfast each morning and ordered from the tiki bar while on the beach- all very good...but VERY expensive.

Pro's:
-Excellent Beach location and view
-Clean Rooms (ADA rooms are larger)
-Rooms Did NOT have a MUSTY beach smell
-Beds comfortable
-A/C worked and didn't feel it was to loud as others had mentioned
-Entrance and Front of Hotel "UPDATED" and CHIC!
-Beach boys were EXCELLENT getting us chairs/Lunch and towels

Cons:
-Back Entrance/Parking area entrance looked old and dated
-Hallways and 1 Elevator OLD and Dated..avoided and took the stairs...YUCK!
-Rug in room was Stained & Old...should of been replaced with wood floors or tiles
-Hairdryer was a dud
-Having a ADA room the bathroom was huge, but dangerous as the shower water runs into the middle of the bathroom floor to an additional drain in the center. **Using the outlet in bathroom can result in electric shock - NO GFI OUTLET- NO CAUTION is given..VERY DANGEROUS.
-NO Vanity area
-Sundeck rooms Don't have a KEY access from the slider doors outside
-NO KEY Entry was Needed to enter hotel- security risk!

**NO LIFEGUARDS/ Lifeguard shortage- swim at your own risk! 3 Days at the beach week before labor day weekend 2013 and their was NO Lifeguards in the ENTIRE middle section of the beach- Was told of shortage. Being a Hotel guest relying on the beach chairs and umbrella's many families could NOT move closer to a life guarded area since it was SO far away.

Overall, was happy with our stay. A few updates and changes would be in the best interest of guests especially when paying over $500 a night.

Room Tip: Sun Deck meet my expectations.... Great space ADA bathrooms are LARGER
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olivia005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for your review! We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you join us again soon. Please know that the hotel front desk is staffed 24hrs a day to serve as a security measure. In addition, we will be passing your comments and concerns about the lifeguards on to the town to have them addressed. Your feedback is much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have stayed at the Ocean Club several times, the most recent being this Labor Day weekend. It is a nice hotel with a great oceanfront location. It is probably one of the few hotels that can be considered upscale in Cape May. On this trip, however, we found that our stay was more aggravating than relaxing. The hotel was crowded so there was not a chair to be found at the pool. People were "reserving" their spots at the pool by putting towels on chairs early in the morning. There was a wait to get into the restaurant for breakfast every morning. We ended up going to Harry's Restaurant, which is in the Montreal Hotel across the street. At the beach, people were being very persistent with the beach staff because they wanted front row lounge chairs even though they were already taken. What is wrong with the second row? I've been on beaches that are much more crowded. I guess with an upscale hotel comes some people who feel they are entitled. I have to praise the beach staff for their patience. I almost forgot to mention that they ran out of beach towels at one point and had to wait for freshly laundered towels.

A few other things worth noting - the bathrooms are small and the bath towels are thin. Also, there is only one elevator which is very, very slow.

All in all, Ocean Club is a nice hotel. Just be aware that some things may fall short of what you might expect at a hotel that charges $500 per night.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveSun_and_Sand99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for your feedback! We will use your comments and concerns to improve upon the property's offerings. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just got back from 3 nights in Cape May and had a Sundeck Suite which provided access to 2nd floor sundeck. It was a great feature to the room....Room was modern, clean and furnishings were new. Bed was super comfortable. Minor complaint is that the bathroom was too small and AC unit was a bit loud. Food on the beach is CASH only and the service on the beach was so so. Pool was fantastic although in the afternoon it was difficult to find chairs for entire family. Amazing hotel in Cape May.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EMF31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here with another family and had a great time. Room was clean and ready when we checked in. Hotel was right on the beach with great people to set up chairs And towels. Hotel pool and tiki bar were a lot of fun. Proximity to town was also a big time plus. Minor critique is that the bathrooms are too small and air conditioner is too loud but would come here again in a minute.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woocman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

By far the best place in Cape May. Great service in hotel and on beach. Felt like I was in a Caribbean resort. Rooms are all new, modern, and super clean. Beds were extremely comfortable. Will stay over and over again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arbennnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
722 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Hotel

Address: 1035 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range: $187 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Club Hotel redefines the luxury Cape May hotel experience. Designed by Tyler Duncan of Duncan Design Group, this boutique hotel provides the perfect blend of style and comfort. Indulge in the hotel’s breezy elegance, modern sophistication, lush bedding and chic custom designed furnishings. Leisurely pass the day sipping a cocktail poolside, on our spacious sundeck offering spectacular views of the ocean or bask in the sunshine on the beach with our complimentary beach service. Stroll along the Cape May Promenade, just steps away, and enjoy all the attractions Victorian Cape May has to offer. Finish off the day with stunning floor-to-ceiling panoramic ocean views from your private balcony. Though The Ocean Club Hotel’s greatest amenity is its location and accessibility to everything Cape May has to offer, the grounds and guest rooms also come with an abundance of amenities and guest services to make your stay even more relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing