We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape May, Great Stay”
Review of Ocean Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Club Hotel
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cape May, Great Stay”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very nice property. Good for young families as well as singles. Front desk staff was helpful and courteous. Tiki bar staff was personable and attentive. John, the pool manager, took great care of our entire crew of 16 (4 families)! Definitely returning next summer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    162
    69
    24
    29
See reviews for
183
245
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I'm a marriott loyalist so i compare everything to them. Just stayed at this hotel and found the service to be terrible and the rooms are cramped with over sized furniture and the bathrooms barely fit one person. Not great for more than a couple. The location is great, just east enough to be away from the hustle and bustle. It was my first time in the Cape. Next visit I try Congress Hall.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robertbadolato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate feedback from our guests and are happy you enjoyed your first stay in town enough that you wish to return.

Our hotel debuted in 2011, and all of our furnishings are brand new and custom designed. We are sorry they were not to your tastes. We wish you could have provided feedback on what issues with the service you experienced so that they could be addressed.

Please note that Cape May does not house any corporate chain hotels, and each hotel in town has a unique character all its own.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Very good property. Great location for cape may. Robes in room would be nice. Great pool. Only one elevator makes for a slow checkout. Front staff is friendly.

Would return to this property if I were returning to cape may.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22AmS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny,ny
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our fourth summer at Cape May. Each time we have ended up, for various reasons, at a different hotel. This year we booked very late and had few options since so many places were already booked and/or required a full week's stay when we only were going away for 4 nights. Online reviews led me to the Ocean Club. We were very happy with our stay. (you can see my review of other CM hotels under my profile)

The good:
* Overall this is a nice hotel.
* The front desk staff was very nice, both at check in and check out. At one point our in-room safe broke and someone came right away to fix it.
* The beds were comfortable... a rare find in Cape May.
* The room did NOT have that musty, damp feel that many beach hotels can have.... You walked in and it felt and smelled clean.
* Good blackout shades allowed my husband and sons to sleep late.
* The location was good, just at the start of the beachside promenade. Each morning I got up early and walked the entire promenade (1.4 miles each way) to the end of Beach Ave. and it was gorgeous. At first we were nervous that the walk to Washington Mall area with the restaurants and shops would be too far for the kids, but even my 4.5 yr old was able to do the walk each night without complaint. It took about 15-20 minutes but I think adults only or older kids could walk into town much faster.
* If you prefer not to walk, the trolley is free for hotel guests. We used it one night when it started to rain as we walked into town.
* The pool here seems to be one of the bigger ones in Cape May. There is a shallow area for kids, and then the rest of the pool gets deeper. This is also a ledge running along the sides of the pool so that kids swimming in deeper water who need a rest can stand on the ledge easily. That was a nice touch. The water was also nicely heated.
* The poolside food is actually quite tasty, and a convenient lunch option. The mango mojito was pretty good too. They have smoothies for the kids.
* The beach is right across the street and there are lounges (and umbrellas for a fee) available. You can also order lunch to the beach. Be forewarned - beach service is cash only. At the pool you can charge to the room.
* While I was packing up, my husband took the kids to breakfast at Sea Salt and said the meal was very good. The other mornings I had just picked up bagels a few blocks away on the way back from my morning walk.
* Free wi-fi with very good service.
* Lots of kid-friendly cable channels

The Bad:
* Like everywhere else in Cape May, this hotel is WAY overpriced.
* Bathroom is a decent size but could use more hooks/towel bars. Also, our room only had a stand up shower, no bath, which was a disappointment for my 4 year old who much prefers baths to showers. Also, the shower has a weird set up. Instead of a curtain or full wall & door, there is this half wall and then it is open to the rest of the bathroom so water still spilled out to the floor.
* The pool deck got very crowded and there aren't always enough lounges for the number of people who want to sit there. They ran out of towels in the afternoon as well, and we had to wait for about 20 minutes to get them.
* The pool person whose job it was to get towels and set up the chairs was not nice. Each time I politely asked for a towel or if there was a seat available, he scowled at me and was very rude, and at one point I wondered if I had been mistaken about his job responsibilities but I think he just wasn't happy about this being his job. That said, the bartender, waitress and everyone else was very friendly.
* The pool deck could also use some overheard wiring to keep the seagulls away from the area. One day a bird swooped down during lunch and bit my son's burger. We had to throw away his meal. I was surprised that the waitress, who saw this happening, didn't offer to give my son (7 years old) a replacement. He was sharing sliders with my husband and was in the middle of the 1 slider he was going to eat [my husband had already eaten his 2] so it would have been really nice gesture to get him that one new slider and also replace the smoothie that the bird touched. I understand that it wasn't the hotel's fault this happened, but that offer would have made such good customer service and surely would have received high praise in this review.
* I think for a hotel that charges over $500/night to then charge $10 for a beach umbrella is outrageous. Of course, we did get one, so we are allowing them to get away with it, but again, this is another nicety that could turn a 4 star review to a 5 star review and increase the value that we as customers get for the high cost of this hotel.
* Housekeeping did a decent job in the room but didn't clean the room's patio - didn't take our drink cups away, didn't vacuum/sweep some cereal my kids had spilled, and there were cigarette butts from previous guests. Inside they did a nice job.

In the end, if we were only coming for 3-4 nights we would definitely consider coming back. The room was nice, the beds comfortable, the pool big and warm, and the location more convenient than expected. With a few customer service improvements that provide the experience and value expected for a hotel at this price range, this could be a fantastic hotel.
For a full week, we preferred where we stayed last year that was more of a condo/apartment.

Room Tip: The first floor room was convenient with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I would recommend the ocean club. I think they do need a bigger elevator had to use stairs often but who doesn't need exercise. Stairwell very clean and there are only 4 floors so not to far to climb. The staff was great especially Lorin He greeted us as soon as we arrived and the staff was very eager to please.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our room 217 was very clean and nicely furnished but small and in a very undesirable place. We were put next to the ice machine which was very loud and our view was of the adjacent hotels shuffle board. Not pleasant for sleeping and no privacy. Balcony was unuseable. For the cost was very unhappy about that. The overall cleanliness, pool, pool bar and beach side service made up for it. The service was good and everyone was very pleasant.
I would recommend to the Hotel to include pillows that are not goosedown for those who dont tolerate feathers and for the price the pool should be reserved for guests only. While we were there we couldnt get a lounge but found that there were non guests at the bar and using the pool which made it crowded.

Room Tip: Not worth the money to go for the rooms with partial views of ocean. They are on the side of the bui...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very considerate of option for fresh daily linens or reusing. The Air Conditioning was a system that had the ability to completely turn off when not occupying room to save energy.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VBing2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We recommended the Ocean Club to our family and friends and went there as a large group of 16 people and we all had a wonderful, relaxing vacation. The service was excellent! Worth every penny! Everyone was so accommodating and friendly.... everyone from the poolside wait staff, bartenders, John the pool mgr, the maid service staff and the front desk people and Russ. The adjacent restaurant Sea Salt was great for breakfast and poolside lunch, so convenient. We loved the beachside service as well, very indulgent, exactly what a vacation should be (no packing or schlepping everything to the beach, they do it all for you!) Thanks so much! We will be returning next year!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcjpatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
681 reviews
0.8 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Hotel

Property: Ocean Club Hotel
Address: 1035 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Club Hotel redefines the luxury Cape May hotel experience. Designed by Tyler Duncan of Duncan Design Group, this boutique hotel provides the perfect blend of style and comfort. Indulge in the hotel’s breezy elegance, modern sophistication, lush bedding and chic custom designed furnishings. Leisurely pass the day sipping a cocktail poolside, on our spacious sundeck offering spectacular views of the ocean or bask in the sunshine on the beach with our complimentary beach service. Stroll along the Cape May Promenade, just steps away, and enjoy all the attractions Victorian Cape May has to offer. Finish off the day with stunning floor-to-ceiling panoramic ocean views from your private balcony. Though The Ocean Club Hotel’s greatest amenity is its location and accessibility to everything Cape May has to offer, the grounds and guest rooms also come with an abundance of amenities and guest services to make your stay even more relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing