We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Pays to Advertise production”

East Lynne Theater Company
Attraction details
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It Pays to Advertise production”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Very clever and well acted play. Too much fund raising...they even sold 50-50 raffle tickets at intermission. But very much enjoyed the evening. Church pews a bit uncomfortable - that is their venue now. Great theater company though -- they deserve lots of support and attendance!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
165 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Very impressed!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I decided to do dinner and a play for my birthday when we were in Cape May. Dinner at Aleatheas (separate review) and "The Poe Mysteries" at the East Lynne Theater company. We were a bit skeptical because when we made reservations, we were told the play was in a church. I pictured the play being in the dingy basement of the church with a bunch of amateurs, but I was very wrong. The play was actually held in the church (which is beautiful). The audience sits in the pews and there is a small stage where the altar would be. There were six actors in the play, which was centered around a dectective solving Poe's mysteries. The play was done very well and the actors they were very good and professional. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank WeirdNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastlynneco, Manager at East Lynne Theater Company, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review! East Lynne Theater Company started in North Jersey in 1980 and was asked to move all or part ot it's season to Cape May in 1988 by Michael Zuckerman, Executive Director of Mid-Atlantic Center for the Arts and Humanities (MAC), since our mission is The American Spirit onstage, which fits this historic Cape May town. When the company lost what it thought would be it's permanent home, The Presbyterian Church stepped in, offering it's beautiful sanctaury. ELTC is an Equity professional company, meaning that most of the actors we hire are members of Actors' Equity, the union for professional actors, and most of them make their livings performing in NYC (Broadway, Off-Broadway, television shows, films, and radio) and in regional theaters throughout the country. So very glad you enjoyed "The Poes Mysteries."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Cliff, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Saw Edgar Allen Poe's Mysteries and it was great. The cast was professional and even my husband who typically does not like plays enjoyed himself.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank snowfall20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastlynneco, Manager at East Lynne Theater Company, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you! It's been our pleasure to present this world premiere "Poe!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Poe Mysteries”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

A group of us went to see The Poe Mysteries performed by the East Lynne Theater Company in Cape May, NJ. The performances are in a Presbyterian Church, and I always wonder ahead of time, how it will be performed with such limited stage space, and I am always amazed.

This show was not as "dark" as the title sounds because of the humor throughout the show. The cast is amazing, and I believe that the 6 of them are cast as 55 characters for this show.

It is worth going to see. If you are a senior, or a student, take ID, and your ticket will be discounted. There are also dinner and show tickets that are reasonable.

If you love theater, this performance is intriguing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cindymac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastlynneco, Manager at East Lynne Theater Company, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it. Greatly appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poe's hero comes to life”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Theater is a true 3D experience. This one adds another dimension: Time. In the telling of the classic Dupin stories they show how he solved the crime and then the crime itself, in a unique way. I loved every minute of it. Definitely an incredible experience for all mystery fans.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Lynne Theater Company also viewed

 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to East Lynne Theater Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing