We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a seashore experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Room Restaurant

Magnolia Room Restaurant
Ranked #106 of 137 Restaurants in Cape May
Price range: $10 - $34
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This restaurant is located in the historic Chalfonte Hotel in Cape May, New Jersey. This past weekend I hosted a rehearsal dinner there. The price fixed dinner of 4 courses was extremely good and I would like to write a review. My guests really enjoyed the atmosphere and great food and I would highly recommend it.
Franklinville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“a seashore experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed at the Inn of Cape May as part of the food and wine festival . since i taught at this event I also took part in the beer held there. It was fun to taste each course and the beer with whcih it was parried

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    14
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad Meal Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Didn't stay at the hotel, but tried to eat there on Sunday, 9/23. Even though the main dining area was not open, they did have a "World Famous" chicken platter that was being served out of the King Edward Bar for $21.95. It was one of the most disappointing meals I've ever had. The piece of chicken was cold, the mashed potatoes were cold, the succotash was cold, the crab cake was watery. It was only around 8pm but I'm sure they gave us the food that they were going to throw away. Even though the "season" was over, they should show a little bit of pride in their food. I'll never go back there no matter what.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High hopes, dashed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Visited for dinner the week after Labor Day. We were excited to go since the restaurant received such great reviews in a Philadelphia newspaper. The old hotel is charming, and well maintained, and the service was excellent. But it couldn't make up for the mediocre meal. It started out unevenly. My Cajun clams were delicious, my husband's cream of asparagus soup was pasty. The balsamic Jersey tomato salads were vinegary. The famous fried chicken was average,not too well seasoned and appeared to be made from frozen chicken. It was served with what tasted like frozen commercial succotash, and boiled potatoes. The cornbread was delicious, but the biscuits were dry, and seem to have been made perhaps the day before. With such great Jersey vegetables around in September, they could do much better. Perhaps the famous sisters who cook there were taking a deserved vacation after the height of the season, but whoever was running the kitchen was "calling it in".

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shecooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairstown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible tourist trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Not only was the food mediocre with no attention to detail or presentation,but the service was terrible, the waiter never brought a salad or the biscuits, even after inquiring about or. The staff was clearly overwhelmed and poorly trained. No inquiry was made about drinks, how the steak should be ordered or if we needed anything else. Terrible, truly terrible

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyffenegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I had breakfast at the Chalfonte with family members on 8/26/12. The breakfast buffet is a $10.00 bargain. There is all of the juice, coffee, tea, and milk that you want to drink. My 3 glasses of orange juice alone probably would cost close to $10 elsewhere. The food options included cereals, pastries, homemade biscuits, eggs, bacon, homefries, spoon bread, belgium waffles, yogurts, and fresh southern fried fish. The restaurant had a casually elegant seashore vibe. We enjoyed our relaxing breakfast, and never felt rushed. I would recommend the breakfast buffet at the Chalfonte to anyone looking for an unhurried, all you can eat bargain!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peachgirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Room Restaurant also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Magnolia Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing