We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Pricey with a side of Terrible Service”

Vanilla Bean Creamery
Ranked #14 of 17 Dessert in Cape May
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/the-vanilla-bean-creamery-cape-may
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/the-vanilla-bean-creamery-cape-may
1 review
“Super Pricey with a side of Terrible Service”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My family and I are staying in Cape May on vacation and the thought of homemade ice cream was appealing. We were excited about the selection of flavors, but were immediately put off by the nasty woman taking out order. My daughters, who are 4 and 7, ordered their ice cream and received a nasty scowl from the lady. My father-in-law mentioned that his rum raisin didnt taste like rum and he jumped in and complained that people giver her a hard time about "too much" or "too little" rum and she's sick of hearing about it. Most of the flavors were so-so. The Banana butterfinger was delicious. Four 2 child ice creams and five adult smalls it was over thirty seven dollars. It certainly wasn't worth the nasty comments. My main regret is not putting her in her place for acting so terrible to my daughters. Don't sell ice cream if you hate people! Will never return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Familyvacaytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    3
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsgrove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Homemade IceCream but.....”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The ice cream was incredible but our cherry was absolutely bad. No biggie, as we just figured we'd inform the staff member. She acted as if she was offended and insisted that those types of cherries are supposed to taste that way. My husband and I have had may of those particular cherries, as my husband actually works in the industry. She was very rude. Will not go back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tfreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Huge Portions”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A huge portion of ice cream is served, so order the small unless you have a hearty appetite. Everyone in our group loved the flavors that they had. The butter pecan has big chunks of nuts which is really nice. The only complaint is the mosquitos: we nearly got eaten alive on the porch so had to retreat to the van to finish our ice cream. I would definitely recommend to a friend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 18LisaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Almost too good”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Home made ice cream which is so flavorful and creamy that it's hard to resist. Pricier than other ice cream vendors but with it. Try the peach and the blueberry in season.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marguerite S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I've had better”
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Supposed to be the best? I've had better. Homemade ice cream is what brought us here. Although you almost miss the place with its poor signage. The girls were really nice, that was the best part. I

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vanilla Bean Creamery also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Vanilla Bean Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing