We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Lunch”

Cape May Fish Market
Ranked #43 of 140 Restaurants in Cape May
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Try google maps... search for it under cape may
Califon, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Little Lunch”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for a warm lunch on a cold day. Staff were friendly, food was good. Atmosphere is similar to a cozy diner. A little dark, but not a bad thing. Warm feeling environment.

Helpful?
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    161
    110
    36
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Soup on a Cold Day”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in on a cold Black Friday shopping day. Wife and I both had a bowl of the clam chowder which was probably one of the best I have ever had. I had the fish taco wrap which was very good but fried. Wife had conch fritters, also very good but a little greasy, again fried. No liquor license but they sell you a bottle of wine starting at $20.00 or higher. Overall, a little over priced $60.00 +\- with no bar tab. For me it was worth going back just for the soup.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“We had a great dinner here”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

At 5pm on a Thursday evening in late November not many places are open. We followed another couple into the Cape May Fish Market and am glad we did. We shared fish & chips (cod fish) and a spinach, apple, walnut salad. I am not a big fish eater but enjoyed the fish. 3 large portions. The dressing was fantastic, great flavor. For under $30. (just soda) for the 2 of us this was the place. Waiter was on the ball. The check came right at we finished. Maybe off season is the time to venture out, I am really glad we did not read the reviews prior. After our 510 mile drive our first venture into Cape May was a home run, or goal. Pick your sport!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MMandSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton, nj
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lobster Rolls to die for!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

we couldn't decide where to eat (Cape May has alot of choices) but knew we wanted a good Lobster Roll. two guys were @ the host booth out front and we flat out asked how theirs were (since we have many choices nearby and they knew it) They talked up their Lobster Rolls (obviously) and the 3 of us went in. Right off the bat, this restaurant is dark. Black walls/black tables and very low lighting. Service was friendly enough, but a tad spotty. We all ordered the Lobster Roll and while it was a bit pricey? ($15 I think?) it was fan-freaking-fabulous. Big chunks of warm lobster, w/ bites of celery and the perfect amount of mayo. All of this on a warm soft roll that I frankly decided to use a fork to eat as I knew I'd be wearing it if I attempted to pick it up like a sandwich. I would go back if only for the lobster rolls. As many have said, service can be spotty, it seemed to have nothing but young kids working (we went first w/e in November) but we wanted good lobster rolls and boy did they deliver!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vankalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchville, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wish the food was as good as the service.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant seems to only hire highs school and college age people. The service was very good; however, cannot say the same about the food. We went there for dinner and lunch. For what we paid, there are many other establishments in Cape May much better for the same price.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loves_Traveling_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape May Fish Market also viewed

 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Cape May Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing