We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little theatre, big on talent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape May Stage Professional Equity Theater

Cape May Stage Professional Equity Theater
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cape May Stage, provides high-quality, professional Equity theatre May-Dec in historic Cape May, NJ. We introduce audiences to great performers and performances through our Cape May Stage Main Stage. From opening night to innovative programs that are attractive to the diverse communities we serve, Cape May Stage has invigorated the cultural life of our entire region.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great little theatre, big on talent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

A church converted to a theatre - what a great setting for a play! seats are theatre-style, so there's not a bad seat in the house. Talent was first-rate. Great deal for the price.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank katwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    30
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An absolute must on every trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

We visit Cape May every summer and Cape May Stage is *ALWAYS* a "must" during our week's itinerary. From our first visit in the late 1990s we have seen it grow from folding chairs in an old church building to a full-blown theater with comfortable, tiered seating (not a bad seat in the house!) and excellent sound. The on-line reservation process is simple, seamless, and how nice it is to have one's ticket waiting for pick-up when one arrives! Regardless of the nature of the play - and truthfully, some plays we liked better than others - the actors are thorough professionals and their skills are always impressive. All in all, Cape May Stage is a wonderful way to spend a pleasant evening, and highly recommended!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank PaulB38661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“"Steel Magnolias" a very special eveing at the theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

My wife & I were in Cape may for 40th wedding anniversary. 1st visit. Cape May an excellent choice for many reasons. The evening we spent at the Cape May Stage was best evening of all. Dinner at (almost) next door 410 Bank St. was excellent and provided free parking for dinner and theater. The theater seats maybe 175 and all seats are excellent. The five actors were, if not direct from Broadway, Broadway quality.
This is a "don't Miss" opportunity when you visit Cape May. Regardless of the season, regardless of the production being offered - make Cape May Stage part of your stay.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TheJazzAge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really great show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

The shows are performed in a converted church with really comfortable seating. The play we saw - "The Understudy" was hilarious and the actors were excellent. There's not a bad seat in the house and I'm sure all the upcoming plays would be just as good. Some of the restaurants offer "dinner and a show" for a reasonable price and it 's a great way to have a nice dinner, see a good show and spend a very enjoyable evening.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Fortmyersgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villas, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I loved "I Hate Hamlet"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

This fast paced rollicking comedy is sure to entertain any audience. Actor David Birney is sensational in his role as the late, great "Hamlet" actor, John Barrymore. Birney's character pulls the entire cast together creating a professional ensemble that guarantees an enjoyable evening. Kudos to Cape May Stage for presenting a real gem!

Helpful?
1 Thank jerseygirl045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape May Stage Professional Equity Theater also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Cape May Stage Professional Equity Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing