We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Steel Magnolias" a very special eveing at the theater”

Cape May Stage Professional Equity Theater
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cape May Stage, provides high-quality, professional Equity theatre May-Dec in historic Cape May, NJ. We introduce audiences to great performers and performances through our Cape May Stage Main Stage. From opening night to innovative programs that are attractive to the diverse communities we serve, Cape May Stage has invigorated the cultural life of our entire region.
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“"Steel Magnolias" a very special eveing at the theater”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

My wife & I were in Cape may for 40th wedding anniversary. 1st visit. Cape May an excellent choice for many reasons. The evening we spent at the Cape May Stage was best evening of all. Dinner at (almost) next door 410 Bank St. was excellent and provided free parking for dinner and theater. The theater seats maybe 175 and all seats are excellent. The five actors were, if not direct from Broadway, Broadway quality.
This is a "don't Miss" opportunity when you visit Cape May. Regardless of the season, regardless of the production being offered - make Cape May Stage part of your stay.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TheJazzAge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    30
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really great show”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

The shows are performed in a converted church with really comfortable seating. The play we saw - "The Understudy" was hilarious and the actors were excellent. There's not a bad seat in the house and I'm sure all the upcoming plays would be just as good. Some of the restaurants offer "dinner and a show" for a reasonable price and it 's a great way to have a nice dinner, see a good show and spend a very enjoyable evening.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Fortmyersgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villas, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I loved "I Hate Hamlet"”
Reviewed June 26, 2010

This fast paced rollicking comedy is sure to entertain any audience. Actor David Birney is sensational in his role as the late, great "Hamlet" actor, John Barrymore. Birney's character pulls the entire cast together creating a professional ensemble that guarantees an enjoyable evening. Kudos to Cape May Stage for presenting a real gem!

Helpful?
1 Thank jerseygirl045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The show "Class" was excellent”
Reviewed June 13, 2010

The small, quaint Cape May Stage is the perfect venue for a theater production at the beach. Class was a poignant show enhanced by the brilliant acting of Thaao Penghlis.

Helpful?
1 Thank sheliegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Modern theater, Really excellent acting, Broadway quality at cheaper prices”
Reviewed November 11, 2009

My husband and I are a young couple. We are frequent Cape May visitors and theater lovers, but we had never seen a play by the Cape May Theater Company...we had a (WRONG) notion in our head that it would be low quality community theater stuff.

We decided on the spur of the moment to see the November 2009 production of Athol Fugard's 'Mastor Harold and the Boys." We were really pleasantly surprised. The acting was excellent (ALL actors hired by the company are professional equity actors with top notch film and tv credits). The theater is a modern, updated, renovated church building (It used to be the Cape May visitors center about 15 years ago) - even the restrooms are nice and up to date. Seats are $25-$35 and sometimes discounts are available. Their yearly season runs May - December and they are usually completely sold out through the summer season, we found out later. We'd definitely go back, even though we were more in the mood for a comedy/romance on this particular night, the play was really well done.

Helpful?
1 Thank benee007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape May Stage Professional Equity Theater also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Cape May Stage Professional Equity Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing