We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and relaxed way to see the historic district”

Cape May Carriage Company
Ranked #3 of 62 things to do in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a horse-drawn carriage company.We provide guided tours through Historic district of Cape May.We would like to fully explain why we do not accept credit cards.We are located at the corner of Ocean and Washington St. we have a small unprotected mobile table that has no power,no phone and no protection from the weather.We cannot get a phone jack which is needed to take credit cards because we do not have a store front.Cape May is an island with terrible satellite and cell reception therefore the mobile credit card devices also do not help us.There are other very expensive mobile devices that are weather sensitive and do to the fact that we have no protection from the elements ,that is not an option either.We are sorry for the inconvenience this may cause to some .There is an ATM located directly behind where we are parked.We hope that you enjoy the horse and carriages and the joy, and beauty they bring to the hundreds of people who ride each year.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We very much enjoyed our carriage tour, our guide was very knowledgeable and pleasant and the horse Warlord was well mannered. It was a pleasant and relaxed way to view the historic area and be given the history of many of the properties.

Thank NormanZ706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
921Beachgirl, Public Relations Manager at Cape May Carriage Company, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for your review.Megan and Warlord make a great team,and I'm happy to hear you had a great time with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"evening ride"
in 7 reviews
"clip clop"
in 5 reviews
"great ride"
in 11 reviews
"relaxing ride"
in 9 reviews
"romantic evening"
in 4 reviews
"christmas lights"
in 6 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 16 reviews
"ghost stories"
in 6 reviews
"historic district"
in 8 reviews
"nice tour"
in 5 reviews
"local history"
in 4 reviews
"learn something"
in 4 reviews
"new jersey"
in 4 reviews
"horses"
in 94 reviews
"cinderella"
in 14 reviews
"homes"
in 50 reviews
"cape"
in 233 reviews
Filter

233 - 237 of 335 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

We wanted to go on a night ride but the weather forecast was calling for rain. We went after a late lunch instead and we were very happy with our ride. The carriage was very nice and horse was made up with flowers in its mane. The driver told us about several homes in the area and provided a few tid bits about the history of Cape May. The ride was about 30 minutes for only $40. I highly recommend the carriage tour.

1  Thank LovintheSun100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
921Beachgirl, Public Relations Manager at Cape May Carriage Company, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

You discovered a ride ANY time of day is FUN. The drivers put those beautiful braids and flowers in their horses mane.They do each one different,so there is always something nice to see at the carriage stop.We do fuss over our horses.Thank you so much for taking the time to write a great review,your input is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We wanted to take our 2 year old daughter for a ride on the horse drawn carriage . . she was very fascinated by the horses. We chose the white carriage and Meghan was "the driver" . . a lovely young woman from New Jersey. We took the early ride at 10 am as the forecast was for a hot afternoon in Cape May . . . high of 93F forecast for Sept. 11th. My only disappointment was that the ride was only for about 30 minutes . . $40 plus tip. We did not get out to some of the larger Victorians like the Emily Physick estate or the "Angel of the Sea" . . . so we drove out that afternoon to see those Victorians as the ones we saw from he carriage ride with all within walking distance of our hotel. I guess you could choose to take the motorized "trolley" as it covers much more . . but then you are on bus with lots of other people.

Will Workman, St. Michaels - Maryland

Thank WillWorkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
921Beachgirl, Public Relations Manager at Cape May Carriage Company, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

So glad your little daughter enjoyed her ride.Children two and under ride free and the drivers will take the time to show them the right spot to pat the horse.The kids love to feel how soft these big guys are.About the two mansions you mentioned,both the Emlen Physick Estate and Angel of the Sea are way out of the historical district.Remember you are moving very slow and we need to show as much as possible in the half hour.Both places would take close to your time just getting there !!!We are also contained within our district by the city and our insurance company. Both places are available as a special event though and rides can be arranged.Hope this explains why Megan stayed within the district.Thanks for taking the time to write a review-I appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We decided to take our first carriage ride ever for our anniversary and Stormy (the horse) and our guide made it a very memorable and romantic experience. Our guide was extremely knowledgable of the area and its history, and on top of it being romantic and magical, we found ourselves learning more about Cape May than we had ever thought. :)

Thank Beach_Lovers91011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
921Beachgirl, Public Relations Manager at Cape May Carriage Company, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thanks for a great review of your first carriage ride.We have folks who come back every year to celebrate an anniversary,hope to see you also.We love our Stormy,he is a big boy who likes his naps.and pats.I'm so pleased you took the time to write and glad you enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The carriage ride was very nice and romantic, also our guide was wonderful with her knowledge of the area she drove us around. It would have been nicer if it was longer....

Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
921Beachgirl, Public Relations Manager at Cape May Carriage Company, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Well we do have hour rides available if you want a nice long tour.Our drivers know quite alot of the history ,real or imagined.LOL Seriously if they don't know an answer,they'll ask someone when back at the stop.I hope you come back and take our tour again and I appreciate your nice review.Thanks so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape May Carriage Company also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Cape May Carriage Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing