We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winery with great potential!”

Willow Creek Winery
Ranked #5 of 58 things to do in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stunning Fifty Acre winery and farm. Open every day at 11am. Fire pit Friday with live music 6-930pm, Events daily, Full Tapas menu, reservations suggestedWine tastings, tours o n the eco cart , educational seminars. Events at the winery. Gorgeous gardens Located on Cape May island just a short bike ride walk, or drive from all attractions
Englewood, New Jersey
1 review
“Winery with great potential!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went during the off-season and it was great to have plenty of room and attention from our excellent tour guide, Brian. He walked us through the three sip system and explained our wines like an expert. The winery opened within the past year or so but the first grapes were put in several years ago, I believe. The wine tasted great. They try various techniques with barrels and blends to try to hone in the best wine instead of just making was is easy. They have a huge indoor space with couches and piano there which would be great for just hanging out or even having an event. The people are nice and it was only $5 for 4 wines and $10 for the full rack (about 12 wines). Thanks for the great experience, Brian!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    109
    44
    31
    34
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, New Jersey
1 review
“Entertaining, informative tasting”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I went with a group and did a tasting here. It was great. Kevin, our tour guide, was entertaining, informative, and passionate about the wines. The three sip system he taught has changed the way I will drink wine in the future. And the homemade Sangria was awesome. I will definitely go back again!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Niccilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamong, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A lot of future potential!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A group of nine of us went to Willow Creek on a cold day in January. We had all anxiously been awaiting it's opening, which was earlier in the month. Willow Creek is a beautiful property on the order of a California Vineyard with a stunning post and beam building housing its tasting room. The building is huge and undoubtably will be a good venue for weddings and other events. It can probably hold more than 400 people. The staff was very friendly. Unfortunately they were not set up for a Saturday tasting crowd. The huge space was populated by a handful of ratty old sofas where we sat while tasting. They tried their best, but they should have been better prepared and had some round pub tables and chairs to handle the large crowd.
The cost was $10.00 for tasting 10 wines and you could keep the wine glass. They had a selection of 3 different glasses, but they were all too small for a proper tasting experience....hard to enjoy the wine's bouquet from such a small opening. The wines, unfortunately, were barely drinkable except for a couple of the whites and a very nice Sangria.
I have a feeling that the Willow Creek Winery and their wines will ail continue to improve as the years go by, but for now I would wait until at least late Spring to do the tasting so they can get their act together. As for the wines....only time will tell.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank biminiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood Crest
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Willow Creek Winery is simply amazing. It is so nice to see local businesses helping each other. They grow and make their own wine, and sell honey and jams from Rea's farm next door. They promote local bed and breakfasts, restaurants, bars, and historic attractions. The staff is friendly and knowledgable about the vine to bottle process. The wine is delicious, and such a unique selection. The grounds are beautiful, and building is breathtaking with the architecture and crystal chandeliers. I'm excited for all of the festivals and events this winery has planned in the quaint town of West Cape May. It is a must see!!!

Helpful?
Thank Crestgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A new place with great potential”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Willow Creek is a newly opened venture by the owner of the Southern Mansion. The winery reception hall is beautiful and they have lovely wines to be paired with foods catered by the Southern Mansion. Has great potential for Weddings, Rehearsal dinners and other parties.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willow Creek Winery also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Willow Creek Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing