We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beaytifull place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Antoinette's Apartments & Suites
Ranked #23 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Our staying at Antoinette's in the autumn of 2013 was very pleasant. It's a beautifull old house in a more than beautifull town (Cape May). Antoinette is a very nice and friendly woman. She made us feel welcome. She told us what we could do in town and gave us a roadmap to visit 'Lucy the Elephant'. The people in Cape May are friendly.

We came from Europe visiting our son in New York. Here in the Netherlands friends told us about Cape May.
If we go again to the USA we shall certain visit Cape May. A visit at Antoinettes? Oh yeah!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Antoinette's Apartments & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 85 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

A very homey place. My second time around.
It's like staying at "grandma's". Fully equipped with a full kitchen, bath necessities all at hand, large relaxing atmosphere with all the comforts of home. TV's, fireplace, Very large Living and Dining areas. Extremely family friendly.
Deanna is sweet, friendly and accommodating. She is there when you need her but never intrusive.
Thank you very much.
Jenny Ciappa

Room Tip: They are all great
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ascolese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I recently booked a last minute weekend trip with at Antoinette's. I was very impressed with the size of the one bedroom suite, and the affordable price. The location is great - just a minute or two bike ride to the water. As far as the decor of the room goes, it sort of reminded me of my grandmother's house, sort of a Victorian dollhouse vibe, but very charming. The kitchen and living space was substantial and would have been great for an extended stay.

Deanna the innkeeper was very warm and accommodating, offering many things to do, places to eat, and even lending a bike to explore the town.

I would definitely recommend Antoinette's and would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisurfer89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a few days in Cape May at the end of this summer. After reading some great reviews online about Antoinette's and seeing how reasonable the rates were, we decided to give it a try. I am so happy we did! It's definitely a Cape May treasure. Deanna, the owner, was so helpful and kind. She made us feel at home from the minute we walked in. The room was more like a full size apartment. It was more then enough room, super quaint and very clean. I look forward to our next visit to Cape May and returning to Antoinette's!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonia589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmlace, Owner at Antoinette's Apartments & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It's always great to hear that your stay at Antoinette's was enjoyable. Look forward to your return visit when the time is right for you. Again thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at Antoinette's this past week and stayed in the Maria suite. When we called to make the reservation, Deanna was very nice and explained all the rooms, etc. When we mailed the final payment to her a month before, we asked her to mail us a receipt but we never received a receipt or email so we did not know if it got lost in the mail or what so we had to call to make sure payment was received. When we arrived and found the place it was hard to see with all the trees in the front. On the website the house appears yellow but it is actually beige and it does not have a driveway out front so you have to park across the street in front of the post office. Deanna happened to be standing on the porch talking to a friend when we arrived. The "office" is a very dark, dirty looking hallway. I'm not saying it was dirty but it was Victorian style and very dark with little lighting.

Deanna then took us to the Maria suite. The layout was great. From the backporch, we enter into the eating area/table. French doors (that need to be oiled) open to the first bedroom with a full bed. It used to be a porch so it is very small. Only enough room for bed and dresser. There is a ceiling fan in the room which was good because there is an A/C unit in the room but it was very noisy so I turned it off at night and kept the ceiling fan on. We then walk into the living room and there is a flat screen TV but it was way up high in the corner right next to the A/C unit in the living room which was very noisy so whenever the A/C turned on we could not hear the TV. Down the hall there is a bedroom with a queen sized bed and the bathroom. The bathroom was very small and is very hard to get dressed in there. It has one of the old time Victorian tubs with the feet which is pretty but if you have an elderly person in your group, they will have a hard time climbing into and out of the tub. There are no safety handles or grips anywhere. It had one of those shower curtains that wrap all around the tub. Also down the hall is the kitchen. Small but adequate. There is a hutch in there that can probably be removed. I would put a small prep station instead as there is very little counter space. Barely enough room to make a sandwich.

The deco appears to be from the 80s. I so wanted to take a paint brush and paint the walls a nice blue. There is very unique moldings around the doorways. I would paint them white so they can stand out against the blue. I also wanted to tear up the old carpeting. I'm sure there is beautiful hardwood floors underneath.

There is parking in the back if you are renting one of the 1st floor suites. However, backing out of the driveway is very tight.

As far as location, the beach is 0.3 miles away. For me it wasn't so bad. A little disappointing but ok. We had to walk down 1 block, turn onto Columbia and then turn onto Howard to get to the beach. If you have an elderly person with you, you may have to take the car. My mother was ok with doing the "trek" once each day to get to the beach but we drove to Uncle Bill's or George's (about 10 blocks) for breakfast so she did not have to walk it twice. Especially in the heat!

The Washington Street Mall is 2-3 (long) blocks away but it was ok. We were given the impression that it was just steps away. We went down to the gelato place a couple times during the week. I was able to bring it back to the house and it was just starting to melt.

Deanna does provide everything you need such as beach tags, strollers for the beach things, beach chairs, umbrellas which is quite convenient. There are also bikes that we can use free of charge. Grills and tables are also outside and also an outside shower. However, the door to the outside shower does not close all the way so make sure you bring a towel with you to cover the crack.

There is a back porch that you can sit on or a front porch. Both porches are nice but from the front porch you can watch the horses go by. There is a beautiful dollhouse on the front that her father made. It does feel a little cramped on the porch with it there in the center but it is one of the highlights on the Cape May Tours. Maybe if the dollhouse was moved to the left and move the chairs so they are together, this way we can talk to the other people on the porch. There is also no lighting on the porch so we can sit outside and read at night. There is a wicker chandelier but I don't know if the bulb was just out or if it is just not functional.

One of the highlights of the trip was hanging out with the other renters that week on the porch and at the tables. They were great people and a lot of fun.

There is no front desk so we called Deanna the day we were leaving to find out what to do with the key. She did not say Thank you or Come again but we did get an email stating that our $150 deposit was returned on the credit card and in the form letter it did say Thank you.

Overall, it was a nice place and with a little paint job it would be even better. Just wish it was closer to the beach.

Room Tip: Acme is within walking distance. Firehouse and bank is right next door.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmlace, Owner at Antoinette's Apartments & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback for your weekly rental at Antoinette's in Cape May. Sorry that I did not get back to you that we did receive your final payment. Once the summer is over I will be glad to check my A/Cs and replace those that are too noisy for my guests. Will gladly oil door that squeaks. Yes, the Victorian tub does impact the layout of the bathroom but will look for a handy tub grip to help getting in and out. We just added the hutch this spring in the kitchen because my guests were looking for more storage space. Obviously there is a trade off with counter space. The front porch light needed to be replaced - thanks for the tip. We will check outside shower door if there is a crack. We do keep our lobby lights on low until our guests arrive. We can check into motion lighting to detect when lights should go on. Again thanks for taking the time to give us tips on how to improve our guests experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a great stay at Antoinettes, it was like going down the shore to your grandmother's house. Nothing is new or fancy in the house, but she has everything that you need, and those items can really save you time and money. No need to go get beach tags, she has a couple for you. Help yourself to the beach chairs, umbrellas and a beach cart to lug it all. Feel like going for a bike ride, she has a bunch of nice bikes (comfy cruisers) with locks so you explore all the great streets in Cape May. Sit on the front porch rockers and watch the carriages clip clop past. We did not use the grills but they are there if you want to use them, Acme is just a block away. We stayed in Peppernelli suite, which is on 2nd floor, very comfortable, but if you need upscale bathrooms and amenities, this is not the spot for you. Wifi was a bit sketchy, window ac units a bit loud, but for us all the positives outweighed these couple of things. Easy 2 block walk to the Washington street mall with all the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harleysvillesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmlace, Owner at Antoinette's Apartments & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences at Antoinettes in Cape May. Now that the summer is winding down we can plan some upgrades like noisy A/Cs - sorry for the extra noise. We have looked into upgrading the bathroom but Bathfitters wanted $5800 to do the job. Ouch! We did get a new modem in August and seems like the WiFi is more stable. Again, thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were in Cape May for a wedding and had 5 people to house for 2 nights in June. Not easy to find places willing to accommodate us for only 2 nights, but Deanna was great about that and made us feel really welcome. We had a suite that had a nicely stocked kitchen with all the essentials, a living/dining room and a bedroom and bathroom. It was quite roomy and comfy with nice little homey touches. I really liked the little thoughtful touches, like the cooler that was in the kitchen so that we could bring food to the beach and keep it cool. There were bikes and helmets to use on the premises, a LOT of games, videos and DVDs and outdoor tables where we had dinner one night on the patio. Or we just sat in the rocking chairs on the porch and relaxed. The location can't be beat - within walking distance to beaches and to town. Deanna is a lovely host, unobtrusive but available whenever we needed her. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smf86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmlace, Owner at Antoinette's Apartments & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Happy to hear that your stay at Antoinette's was pleasant. Thank you so much for this great review! Enjoy the rest of the summer and hope you'll visit us again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#30 of 37 in Cape May
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.3 mi away
Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Captain Mey's Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Henry Sawyer Inn
Henry Sawyer Inn
#24 of 40 in Cape May
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antoinette's Apartments & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antoinette's Apartments & Suites

Address: 717 Washington St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2330
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: $173 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antoinette's Apartments and Suites is centrally located in the heart of Cape May's Historic District on Washington Street (near Franklin Street). Antoinette's is just steps from Cape May's Washington Street Mall with its fine dining and shopping areas, churches and public transportation. A short walk will take you to our boardwalk and world class beaches. Just park your car and enjoy a stroll through the tree lined streets of Cape May- a National Historic Landmark City.When you stay at Antoinette's in Cape May, you can chose among four charming 1 and 2 bedroom Victorian Apartments/Suites. These units have been dedicated to four of Antoinette's daughters, Filomena, Maria, Lucia and Peppenelli. The charming interior of this friendly and family-oriented inn will make you feel right at home. Children are always welcome at Antoinette's. The inn stays open all year and is especially beautiful at Christmas Time. Our house is a smoke-free environment with smoking permitted on our porches. Your innkeeper, Deanna, is on-premise to meet your every need. She looks forward to seeing you at Antoinette's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Antoinette's Apartments & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing