We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Centrally Located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Antoinette's Apartments & Suites
Ranked #22 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Just back from a two night stay at Antoinette's. After searching high and low, we were able to secure the two bedroom, two and a half bath Filomena Suite of this Victorian Cottage for well under $200 a night. This suite includes a full, eat-in kitchen and large living room with one full size sofa as well as a queen size sofa bed. With the larger bedroom providing a queen and two single beds and the smaller room providing a queen, there was more than enough space for our party of five. The Filomena Suite includes private, off street parking, which was behind the house and very tight, given that our vehicle is a Town and Country van. But we were able to make it work and thankful to know we would always have parking. Deanna was very welcoming and accommodating and was happy to provide whatever we needed to make our stay pleasant. Our first impression was of the cramped, dark entryway and inside the apartment was quite musty. However, after opening up some windows, using fans and then a/c, the smell dissipated and we were quite happy with the rooms. Bathrooms, kitchen and linens were all clean and comfortable. All in all, we were pleased with our stay and will definitely keep Antoinette's in mind for next time we plan a trip to Cape May.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmlace, Owner at Antoinette's Apartments & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Antoinette's guest house. We are glad you enjoyed our "clean and comfortable", "centrally located" accommodations. We want you to know that we take your comments very seriously and are endeavoring to make our entryway brighter and more inviting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Antoinette's Apartments & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 85 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was a mixed bag of a stay. I got a great deal online for just over $100, and that just doesn't happen in Cape May. Deanna is pleasant and helpful, and thinks nothing of leaving the premises to run an errand and leaves the place open and unattended. Very trusting. I was in room 4 upstairs and like one reviewer said the steps are steeper than anything I've ever encountered. The room is a suite of rooms and very private and quiet. The bathroom is as NJSeastar55 describes. I think I had the same leftover bodywash in the shower! The bedroom is fine, very comfortable. The living room and kitchen is spacious and while very much worn around the edges it seemed fine for the price. I was taken back at how musty and old the front entryway is. If I saw that first I might not have stayed! But having a private back entrance is great. It's a bit of a walk to the beach, but access to shopping is superb. The Washington Street Mall is a couple of blocks away. I'd be tempted to stay again if I could get the same price again. From the outside it looks run-down and the whole property needs a facelift. If you can look past that and get the room I did for the price I got, it's a deal.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 4. Just be in good shape to carry your bags up the very steep steps!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmlace, Owner at Antoinette's Apartments & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our guest house. We take your response very seriously. We are glad you enjoyed your private quiet apartment and the convenient access to shopping. Antoinette's is an authentic Victorian home, but we are constantly working to improve our property. In fact the roofer is here as I write this, giving Antoinette's a crisp new set of tin roofs. We have plans to update our entrance lobby this fall. Hope to see you again, on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Just returned from our 2 night stay at Antoinette"s and was very pleased with the accommodations. We had our own apartment which was fully stocked with all amenities. Easy walk to the mall and restaurants and located on a beautiful block. The house is authentic Victorian and even has a library of historic books depicting the era. The price for the apartment was very low compared to some of the surrounding rentals. This is a great value and Deanna is a good host. There are even bikes, beach chairs and barbecues for those who like to travel light.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanMarco98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmlace, Owner at Antoinette's Apartments & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Wow! Thank you so much for this 5 star review! We know that you are busy, so it really means a lot to us that you would take the time to review our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Cape May is not an inexpensive vacation destination. If you have a great deal of time to plan, you can find exactly what you're looking for & maybe at the right price. However, if you need to find a room during the height of the season, you can't go wrong at Antoinette's. After a lot of searching for anything under $200, we were falling short on our first trip to Cape May. We did secure a room at a B&B within a block into town & just a couple shorts blocks to the beach but it cost more than $200/night. However, on our 2nd trip during high season, there was hardly a thing available unless you can pay well over $200 a night; more like $300-$500/night. We felt we lucked out at Antoinette's. Like the previous reviewer, we stayed at the Pennelli suite since it was 3 of us. And the previous reviewer is not wrong. At first glance, this Victorian home was not quite as spiffy as the previous one had been & the lobby was very narrow & awkward to stand in. Personally, I'd get rid of the old books/clutter & I think some of the dusty/musty appearance would improve. But this is an old home, not a Hilton. The 1-bedroom suite worked out very well for us. It had a private back entrance so we felt like it was our own place. It was completely quiet despite others being booked there. Yes, it is an old Victorian! But the couple of cracks were minor but the decor was coordinated and the furniture in good shape. Everything appeared to be new; curtains, bedspreads, sofa, carpeting, etc. It was also clean. The French bathtub/shower combo is definitely antique but the bottom line is, it worked perfectly fine. The basket was filled with fresh, new towels. There did appear to be leftover toiletries but use our own anyway. The stained glass window, again, IS old but dated to the house. With the A/C running, we didn't see any reason to prop the window open. We loved having a separate bedroom, complete with a Queen and a Twin bed plus a TV as there was also a Queen sofa bed and TV in the living/dining area. The sofa bed actually was quite cushy to sleep on. The kitchen was spotless, completely outfitted & when we did not care to go out to eat, we ordered food & were comfortable eating at our table. The fridge had a Brita pitcher all filled and it was wonderful to make coffee in the AM. The ACME is just a 3 min walk down the street so you could buy whatever you needed. The location was great...2 short blocks into town. Yes, the parking is not the best. But I doubt this is the only rental in Cape May that doesn't have off street parking. We got a spot 3 out of the 4 days directly in front so it was no problem & the 4th time, just parked on the block behind us and walked. Not the end of the world. I'd consider Cape May a walking town anyway....leave the car & get out and see the sights best seen on foot. So, would we return? Absolutely. The space of the apartment for 2-3 people can't be beat. You can save money by utilizing the kitchenette. Beach passes for 2 are provided free of charge as are bikes and beach carts, all things that you would have to spend even more money on to rent. And Deanna, the innkeeper, is very friendly and helpful without being intrusive.

Room Tip: #4, quiet, private, sleeps 5 but perfect for 2-3.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJSeastar55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We are rating Antoinette's a 2-star because of its excellent location. The price we paid could have gotten us a 4 to 5-star hotel elsewhere (well over $400 for two nights), and we expected a lot better, considering the positive remarks on Trip Advisor, which I checked prior to booking. I had been in touch with Deanna, the innkeeper prior the trip and she was quite helpful and informative, so I never would have guessed the place would fall so short of our expectations. First of all, the website advertises free on-street parking across from the house. There is a post office across the street from the house and during post office hours, you are limited to 15 minutes of free parking. You can try to get one of the few free parking spots further down the road, but they are hard to come by. You must wait till those free up (after 11pm when the local restaurant closes) to move your car into them. When we arrived, the outside of the house looked cute, and at first glance, when entering, the decor strikes you as charmingly Victorian, however, you are also assaulted by the smell of mold upon entering. The entryway is narrow, as are the stairs, so dragging your luggage through and up is a bit of a challenge, but doable. We stayed in the second-floor Peppenelli Suite. It smelled of some chemical, which turned out to be a room deodorizer (we found the scent in one of the local shops). It was extremely irritating and only abated when we left the windows open. Speaking of the windows, they have never been updated so they have rotting, cracked wood casings and the one in the bathroom must be propped up with a wood block to keep it open. The bathroom has an authentic French-style tub, however, this too seemed like it had never been updated. The plumbing was rusty, the base of the tub stained, and a long plastic tube made its way through the bath area. There was too little room to use the bathtub for a bath so we used it to shower (who would want to sit on that stained base anyway?). When the shower curtain is entirely closed (which it must be if you don't want to thoroughly soak the bathroom), there is little room in the shower area. The pressure was good from the shower though, as were the temps. There was a large dead bug on the wall above the shower and throughout the entire apartment, there were very noticeable cracks in the plaster of the walls and ceiliing. In the bedroom, there was a stain on the sheets of the larger bed and the carpet had been placed over the original carpeting. The living room had crumbs on the floor, which we also found when we opened up the sofa bed later on, and the floors of the bathroom and kitchen area were sticky. There was leftover food left in the freezer (didn't anyone clean the place between uses?). There was no soap, shampoo, or conditioner (amenities even a low class motel would provide) except for a leftover bottle of some sort of shower wash that appeared to have been left from a previous occupant. We borrowed one of the umbrellas in the backyard to use at the beach, but it was broken. By the second night we needed clean towels so we called the innkeeper. We were told she was out with friends and there was no one to bring us any, so we ended up having to go into town to purchase our own so we could shower and put to bed our kids. All in all, a very poor value for our buck and we would not recommend the place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsavElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmlace, Owner at Antoinette's Apartments & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Sadly, I knew as soon as this family arrived that we could not make them comfortable and happy. No one could. They had rented a one-bedroom suite for a family of 5. But, when they arrived they were now a family of 7 with no advance warning. Since all my larger units were rented, it was impossible to upgrade them to a larger unit. Two of their teenagers actually wanted to sleep on the beach for the 2 nights but I advised them that it was illegal in Cape May. Since they had dietary restrictions, all their meals had to be eaten in, and they needed a complete kitchen.

Antoinette’s is an authentic Victorian Guest House and was built over 120 years ago. It does have narrow doors, 70 windows (unfortunately, not all working properly), and a few cracks in the walls. I hope I look as good at 120. We make every effort to ensure that our property is clean and mold free. We even keep portable air purifiers in every suite, in case a guest has an allergy of some kind.

At Antoinette’s, we have made a conscious decision to “go green” and join other hotels trying to live and work sustainably, and work to reduce waste and help the environment. We have added extra towel hooks in bathrooms to air-dry towels, and refillable bottles of shower gel and toiletries to eliminate plastic waste. We apologize if you were disappointed, but we no longer provide small bottles to use and dispose of daily.

It is true that we have beautiful authentic Victorian bathtubs. The plumbing is copper and has tarnished over 120 years. Would love to upgrade our bathtubs, but Bathfitter’s cost was $6000 each. Ouch!

When I received your phone call about the towels after 7pm, I was celebrating my own surprise birthday party with my family who had come in from Florida and Virginia and didn’t want to leave the party. Sorry I couldn’t accommodate you.

A word about the parking—our neighborhood has free public parking. If you had reserved an appropriately sized apartment for your 7 person family, you would have received free on-site parking at Antoinette’s.

Cape May has a wonderful collection of Victorian homes, B&B’s and guest houses, but if our guests are expecting the Ritz Carlton, you won’t find it here. I would recommend one of our lovely hotels on the beach or maybe a more modern single family home that offers rentals, but you will definitely be paying a 5 Star price. I wish you the best in searching for your 5 Star Cape May accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Me & my husband enjoyed our stay at Antoinette's. Our apartment was lovely, fully equipped, very spacious and very homey. The amenties are great too - the beach passes, the bikes, the yard and front porch! We especially like the location - right down the stree from the Washington Mall, wonderful restaurants and evening entertainment. We are already looking forward to our next stay there!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linromric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our family had a great time at Antoinette's. Deanna, the innkeeper, is very friendly and our room was cute and had many comforts of home. All we had to do was unpack and Cape May and it's all charm was waiting for us. There was less to unpack as Deanna provides beach chairs, carts and bikes. Looking forward to many more visits.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#30 of 37 in Cape May
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.3 mi away
Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Captain Mey's Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Henry Sawyer Inn
Henry Sawyer Inn
#25 of 40 in Cape May
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antoinette's Apartments & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antoinette's Apartments & Suites

Address: 717 Washington St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2330
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: $173 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antoinette's Apartments and Suites is centrally located in the heart of Cape May's Historic District on Washington Street (near Franklin Street). Antoinette's is just steps from Cape May's Washington Street Mall with its fine dining and shopping areas, churches and public transportation. A short walk will take you to our boardwalk and world class beaches. Just park your car and enjoy a stroll through the tree lined streets of Cape May- a National Historic Landmark City.When you stay at Antoinette's in Cape May, you can chose among four charming 1 and 2 bedroom Victorian Apartments/Suites. These units have been dedicated to four of Antoinette's daughters, Filomena, Maria, Lucia and Peppenelli. The charming interior of this friendly and family-oriented inn will make you feel right at home. Children are always welcome at Antoinette's. The inn stays open all year and is especially beautiful at Christmas Time. Our house is a smoke-free environment with smoking permitted on our porches. Your innkeeper, Deanna, is on-premise to meet your every need. She looks forward to seeing you at Antoinette's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Antoinette's Apartments & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing