We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our stay”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast. Joe did a super job taking care of us. Breakfast was great. Location is great...1/2 block from the beach and 2-1/2 blocks to the center of shopping and dining. It was our anniversary and Joe made some outstanding recommendations for superb dining. Parking was very convenient. All in all, it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    90
    16
    5
    8
See reviews for
48
338
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

we came to beauclaire's mid-week seeking a relaxing getaway. that is exactly what we got. the place is literally right down the block from the beach- perfect. we stayed in ryan's chambers (the website's photo of the room does it no justice). the room was spacious, the bed comfortable, and the windows offer a lovely cross-breeze. there are rocking chairs and a swing on the porch, which offers a great place to have a glass of wine, enjoy the day, and do some people-watching.

the innkeeper, joe, is a really nice, friendly guy. he makes a mean ricotta tort for breakfast. he's really knowledgeable and always has a great dinner recommendation. also- and most importantly for me at least- he's not always all over you. he's quick to respond to any questions and anything you need, but he pretty much leaves it at that. no awkward, forced small talk.

this place is fantastic, and i'd recommend it to anyone. we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meganrosem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The trip to the Beauclaire, Cape May was not to be. I remembered the place to look very nice during our last visit to Cape May so I tried to book, but Joe, the innkeeper was more interested in that extra money. What happened? An availability check online confirmed a 2 day stay (incl. a confirmation #), only to be followed by an indignant request by Joe to either cancel or extent to 3 days. Well, either business is very good in Cape May so that one can afford to send away customers, or the upkeep of those beautiful houses in CM requires every single $ one can make. Joe's advice: take your business elsewhere!
Keep up the good work Joe!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaucinn, Owner at Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
This guest sent a reservation request to book a 2 night stay on a Friday & Saturday night during the last weekend in August.. He submitted the request over a month prior to the date he was looking to stay with us

We did have availability to accommodate a 2 night stay, but when I told the potential guest our policy, which is we have a 3 night minimum stay on weekends in July & August. This individual interpreted that as being greedy I assume and hence, the above review was written.

As with most all business lodging owners in cape may, 3 night minimum stay on weekends during our peak season is standard. We would never tell a potential customer to take their business elsewhere. I simply suggested that he should check around and may find another lodging location that would accommodate a 2 night stay on the weekend. I also told him he could check back with us 1 week prior to his arrival, and if he hadn't found anything and we still had availability, we could book his stay..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Beauclaire's is a gem! And the innkeeper, Joe, is too! The property is lovely and feels like "home." Breakfasts are to die for. Highly recommend this B&B.
Viv and Rick
Beaver, PA

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My wife And I celebrated our 17th wedding anniversary and stayed at Beauclaire's nan and opas room.. it was what we expected and location .... half block from the beach ... 3 blocks from washington st malls
room wasn't ready when we got there we went to boardwalk and had lunch came back and it was done .. we checked in clean room comfortable ,, yes it could use a bit of t.l.c but it was lovely and full of character . some complain about the "bright" morning but i loved it woke up @ 7:30 coffee @ 8 breakfast @9 beach @ 10 ... some complain about sitting areas .
. IMHO if you are going to Cape May and A b-n-b to sit in your room .........
neve rmind
the common areas were beautiful yes i will be back again as it was all i needed''
A clean room
a beautiful house
a gracious host
a great location
and if Joe recommends a place to eat .. listen to him he is on the money

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metalmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful weekend at Beauclaire's B&B. This was the second time we stayed at this great B&B. The accommodations were very comfortable and Joe is a wonderful host. He definitely made our stay enjoyable. We especially love his incredible breakfasts. We will definitely be back.
Bob & Gina
Quakertown PA

Room Tip: Haley's Cottage is in the front of the house with views of the ocean. Very comfortable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Visited Beauclaire's B&B for our 35th wedding anniversary which coincided with Memorial Day Weekend. We had a wonderful time and our stay at Beauclaire's couldn't have been better. Our room was exceptionally nice and the location was incredible: only a half block from the beach (we could see the ocean from our bedroom window); a small walk to all the shops and activity of the Washington Street mall and sitting among all the other Victorian seaside mansions in charming Cape May. We really enjoyed the company of our fellow guests and had great hosts in Joe and Joann, our Innkeepers (the breakfasts were delicious and filled us for much of the day ...Tip: Be sure to ask for recipes!). The fact that we had absolutely perfect weather was the 'icing on the cake'! Thanks Joe and Joann for a terrific holiday weekend and an anniversary trip that we'll always remember. (Dan & Gail)

Room Tip: You get the ocean view from Haley's Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
681 reviews
0.7 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 39 in Cape May
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 23 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2411
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beauclaire's is a renowned Victorian style Bed & Breakfast open all year located in the historic district in Cape May, New Jersey. Just a half block from the beautiful Cape May beaches and one block from town center. All of our romantic guest rooms have queen or king size beds, ocean views, fireplaces and and are decorated with period antiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beauclaire`s Hotel Cape May
Beauclaire`s b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing