We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will visit again.”
Review of Henry Sawyer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Henry Sawyer Inn
Ranked #25 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
1 review
“Will visit again.”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just had a wonderful stay. It was a last minute decision to stay overnight in Cape May. The staff went out of thier way to make our visit enjoyable. They even made sure that they accommadated our GF diet. Since they had no advance notice that was very surprising and appreciated.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jomoon4603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

My husband and I did a murder mystery weekend at the Inn. It was a lot of fun. If you like play acting for a few days then this is right up your alley. The breakfast was wonderful. The place is very pretty (very victorian (which is what should be expected) and the owner, Barbara, is a wonderful woman. She made you feel so welcome.

Room Tip: We had the 3rd floor bedroom. It was very nice and so quiet. The shower was a little small but these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ecdeldiablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The Henry Sawyer Inn is a lovely small bed and breakfast in the historic district of Cape May, NJ. We have been here many times and have always had a great time. The owner, Barbara, is very cordial and accomodating, especially to our kosher food needs. We love staying in the first floor room just off the dining room (we are up early riding bikes!!!) with its beautiful antiques and its own entrance and private veranda. It is wonderful to sit on the veranda and relax while the horse and carriages go past the house. Barbara puts out a lovely afternoon tea which includes cold drinks, wine, fruit, snacks and home made baked goods. She puts it out early at 1:00pm and leaves it until 6:00pm. She serves a lovely breakfast that includes a fruit and yogurt parfait, a choice of an entree, along with fresh fruit and home made baked goods. The inn is centrally located making it an easy walk to restaurants, the pedestrian mall and the beach (umbrellas and chairs are provided). It is fun to bring or rent bikes to ride around town and on the board walk in the morning. You can even ride your bikes out to sunset beach to catch a beautiful sunset over the water which is unusual on the east coast!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joycew1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I would highly recommend The Henry Sawyer Inn. We went down for a quick weekend away with our 2 teenage children. It was a very relaxing weekend and a lovely stay. The home is charming and very well cared for. We stayed in the suite and the kids loved it because they each had their own beds which never happens when going away. There is a trundle bed on one side and a King bed on the other. Very comfortable. The Inn was very clean and our room was cleaned unknowingly while we were at breakfast. The breakfast was Delicious! and there was plenty of healthy, delicious food to start off our day.

Barbara, the inn keeper was very professional yet very warm and hospitable. She was extremely helpful anytime we needed something or had a question about the town.

I would definitely go back to Cape May and stay at The Henry Sawyer Inn!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenmccrtny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

My daughter and I have been staying at the Henry Sawyer Inn since 2001. We were new to Cape May, and once we found this treasure, we didn't want to stay anywhere else. We may have stayed at a few other places in town when the Henry Sawyer couldn't accomodate us, but it's always our first choice. The Inn is spotless, I don't care what anyone else writes. Trust me, I have been there in spring, summer, fall and for the holidays, and it's always well staffed and organized. You are treated very special here...and as far as the food goes, it is home made, well prepared by a trio of very seasoned and very capable people, and if you have a problem with no meat for breakfast, I suggest you go get your meat fix at the Pancake House. But you won't be treated as splendidly as you will be at the Henry Sawyer. If you can't be satisfied with homemade french toast, lemon pancakes and yogurt parfaits with fruit and homemade breads, pastries and cookies, and fresh coffee for breakfast, then stay in a motel. Not to mention, "tea", the afternoon treats common to B&B's, is served pretty much all afternoon....nuts, crackers, granola bars, homemade cookies and cakes, popcorn, teas, coffee, and wine. A relaxing large porch with rockers and comfortable furniture with overhead fans to enjoy your wine and tea by. There are beach chairs and umbrellas, you can walk to the beach. You can walk to the Washington St. Mall area. The rooms are filled with historic antiques and beautiful decor. Each one has its own bathroom, there are tvs, and free wifi. The staff, I cannot say enough about. Nina and Nicolai have been with the Inn for years, they are parents and residents of Cape May year round, and they both have a second job in restaurants. They work hard, and keep that Inn pristine. Barbara and Mary Morris, the innkeepers, are the best at what they do. They make sure you are satisfied and comfortable. They are both lovely, and have become dear friends. Barbara works very diligently to provide the best for the guests, and Mary is well known for her hospitality. It is quiet, it is peaceful, comfortable and very, very clean.

Room Tip: One room has a hot/tub. Nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerseygirl14850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We loved the home, location, morning breakfasts and the hospitality of owner Barbara and her staff. Special care was taken every morning as Barbara prepared a wonderful and healthy breakfast, and the coffee was great. We spent countless hours on the homes porch enjoying wine, champagne and a fine cigar. My sister and her husband have been in Cape May on many occassions and were very happy with the Inn. We will return and recommend the Henry Sawyer. Dor, Mary, John and Ed

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oreo7982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

My daughter and I have stayed here many times through the years. Barbara and Mary are great people and will make you feel at home. The B&B is very clean and well taken care of. The location is also great because its centrally located betwen Washington Street Mall and the beach. The B&B has chairs,umbrella and towels for the beach.

Stayed August 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioTravelerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
The Luther Ogden Inn
The Luther Ogden Inn
#29 of 39 in Cape May
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Mooring B&B
Mooring B&B
#19 of 39 in Cape May
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gingerbread House
Gingerbread House
#8 of 39 in Cape May
529 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 39 in Cape May
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry Sawyer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry Sawyer Inn

Property: Henry Sawyer Inn
Address: 722 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2332
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Henry Sawyer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing