We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect family get away!”
Review of Inn of Cape May

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn of Cape May
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect family get away!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have been coming here for nine years now. We love it! It is right in the center of town. Breakfast included. Rooms are each unique and different. The staff is like family by now. They are friendly and helpful. I like having the pool and the beach right there. Best vacation spot.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shenner649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    61
    36
    26
    34
See reviews for
63
87
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond VA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a Victorian era building and definitely shows its age. The hotel is attractive on the outside and just across the street from the beach. The lobby seems to double as an antique shop and appears cluttered. We were part of a group staying five nights and check-in was efficient. We later asked about the availabilioty of a safe and were told that there was none. To get to our third floor room there was a choice of stairs or an ancient small elevator. You had to ask the desk to summon the operator for the elevator. In off hours the person behind the desk had to abandon whatever she was working on to operate the elevator. The room itself was a disappointment. We looked out on air conditioning equipment on the roof of the motel next door. The sink was not in the bathroom but was in the sleeping area.The mirror was not over the sink. We had been advised that there were no phones in the room and that contact with the desk was limited to your personal cell phone. There was a phone next to the elevator which was used to summon the elevator from an upper floor. We found no problem with the pool area or the bar. Our group was assigned a specific area of the dining room. On balance the food was good to very good, but with limited choices. Our meeting room was too cold. We found all of the staff to be welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Try for street or ocean side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Inn of cape May boasts of being 118 years old, and it certainly shows it's age.
When you enter this Inn it's like you walked onto a movie set, unfortunately it's the Adam's family. The staff does nothing to dissuade you of this notion. From their lobotomized stares to their inappropriate bursts of laughter they lacked the skills to fulfill even the most rudimentary tasks. For example they could not tell us where we could make arrangements for the popular carriage rides. I don't think. " walk towards the mall and ask someone" is very helpful.
The one bell boy a sullen young lad got his job through nepotism he did t have courtesy to even say thank you when given a $10 tip for bring up 2 small bags. As he led us into the room he gave us no instruction on the amenities of the inn , or even say have a nice day. We could understand that he gave us no indications of any of the attributes of the hotel since there are none.
The rooms are small, dark and worn. We had an ocean view room, which since they had the tv blocking the window there was not much of a view. the carpets were stained and dirty. There was a loose floorboard which we tried to avoid because we felt we could fall through the floor.
The air conditioner is a large box coming out of the ceiling. It constantly goes on and off with a small sonic boom making it impossible to get a solid nights sleep. The draws were dirty,and had crumbs from the previous occupant.
The bathroom was like an architectural exhibit of the first indoor plumbing. The shower had no pressure, and the temperature never reached a suitable warmth. The linen provided was threadbare and uncomfortable. The towels were worn and looked liked prison issue, thin and rough. We expected to have the clean scent of salt air instead there was the musty smell of mold.

There is a small original elevator, built in 1878. If you dare to use it you must call the front desk for an attendant. If u are sentenced to stay at this in make sure you don't stay on the top 2 floors.
On our shopping around town we were told by many shopkeepers that this inn is known for its poor accommodations and inhospitable service.
On a positive note the included breakfast was wonderful , and the competent and friendly waitresses were the only bright spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Chloejonrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape May hotels

New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

have stayed here a few times but the room i stayed in for a quick getaway with my daughter was in dire need of a redo. The bathroom sink was clogged every time we used it, carpeting is so old I was leary about walking on it barefoot, & the sheets& pillowcases were yellowed. the only good thing about room was it was a very bright room w/ many windows facing beach.I realize its a historic building & I love that about the Inn, But the hotel is in need of a refurbishing. I also have always had a problem in the restaurant w/ an order. I think I will be moving on from the Inn next time I stay in Cape May.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lastylist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed here in July, the only good thing about this place is the location , right outside the beach. Dirty pool. Unclean rooms. Rude people especially at the front desk. And the young man who was suppose to help me with my bags in the elevator just stood and watched as I struggled moving my bags myself.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Trip0596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This B&B is right across the street from the beach and a couple blocks from the mall, and a short walk to bike rentals - great central location. We stayed in a nice room on the 4th floor. The building is OLD but clean. The pool was awesome! It's a bit pricey for a 4th floor room, but again - it has the pool and a great location. Great complimentary breakfast voucher - food was wonderful. Dinners were too expensive for our taste, but plenty of places to eat are near by. And some noisy children running the halls might not make this the best choice for couples trying to get away. Front desk staff could use some Customer Service training.

Room Tip: Elevator service is NOT self-serve, so try to choose a room NOT on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AprilY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My family of 5 stayed at the Inn for a week. If you are looking for elegant rooms, this is not the place to stay. While the exterior and interior of the Inn are fabulous, the rooms are definitely rustic. The bedding is sub par and carpet is in need of replacing. We stayed in the "city suite" as it was one of the few suites for 5 people. The water pressure is poor and our a/c went out. They did have a portable unit for us, but that took up space in an already small suite. They perform an excellent job house keeping as the rooms were always clean and adequately supplied.
The Inn offers an $11 voucher for each guest staying which goes towards the purchase of breakfast. On most days this would cover our breakfast entirely. The breakfast was good, but nothing to rave about. Lunch is also average to below average and we didn't bother eating dinner there; although they have received high ratings for dinner.

The wait staff was either annoyed with their job or just plain rude. We could never figure it out. It seemed the same at the front desk. Maybe it's just the culture, but be prepared for not overly friendly people.

The location is about a 30 second walk to the beach depending on if you have to wait for the cross walk light. It costs $5 to get on the beach between 10: and 5:pm. Many people would just get to the beach prior to 10:am and avoid the $5 cost per person over the age of 12. The area surrounding the hotel is spectacular and historic.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 mi away
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
#28 of 37 in Cape May
386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avondale by the Sea
Avondale by the Sea
#17 of 37 in Cape May
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#27 of 37 in Cape May
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of Cape May? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Cape May

Property: Inn of Cape May
Address: 7 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2411
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 110 years, the Inn of Cape May has been a grand, gracious retreat for guests seeking a wonderful getaway. Come see the splendor of our unique Victorian village with its beautiful beaches and gentle ocean. Relax on our porch rockers beneath our signature purple awnings. Take a carriage ride. Enjoy fine dining. It's all here, as it has been for over 100 years at America's premier seashore resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn Of Cape May Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing