We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 3 day stay”
Review of John Wesley Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
John Wesley Inn
Ranked #2 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We have just returned from a three day stay at John Wesley Inn celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary. Our vising was terrific.

The Inn is located 1/2 block from the beach and 2 blocks form shopping and dining. There is no need to drive once you have arrived. The Inn provides offstreet parking for your vehicle, which is an excellent benefit, as Cape May parking consists of street meter parking in most locations.

Breakfasts served were delicious. Bonnie , Lance, and all that help them, are wonderful people, and treat you as part of the family. Their home is beautiful, and they work hard to maintain the original features.

John Wesley Inn is an excellant choice.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LansdaleSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

683 - 689 of 750 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2007

We absolutely loved our stay at the John Wesley Inn. The Inn itself was just beautiful. The whole town is filled with historical victorian homes. After walking around and enjoying the magnificient surroundings, we found the Wesley Inn to be one of the most attractive and charming homes there. Having discovered the John Wesley Inn on the internet, we found our room to be just as it was pictured, gorgeous! Our hosts were exceptional , from the first phone call to the sad goodbye at the end. The meals they served were excellent. I asked Bonnie if she had been a chef and her reply was "just a mom!" That was the feeling you got......you had come home for a visit. Although Cape May with its picturesque and delightful settings is reason enough to come back for a visit, it wouldn't be complete if the John Wesley Inn wasn't included to make the stay truly a memorable and wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsfishwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the John Wesley Inn. It is in a wonderful location. 1/2 block to the beach, 2 blocks to the Mall, across the street are bike rentals and around the corner is the movie theater. My husband and I have frequented many B&B's and found this home to be one of the most beautiful and its' hosts, Bonnie and Lance so warm, friendly and helpful. The house is spotlessly clean, and the rooms are very comfortable. Breakfast and afternoon tea were also quite delicious. In addition, we met other guests who shared the same sentiments regarding the hospitality and amenities offered at the John Wesley Inn. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank money4mice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2007

This is a very nice place to stay. Just a short walk to the beach and the main part of town. The room we had was spacious and clean. The main living room was delightfully furnished in the Victorian style. It has its own parking lot as well. This is a super plus in Cape May that can not be understated. Delicious home made cookies served with tea in the afternoon was nice and held us off just fine until dinner. The innkeepers were friendly and helpfull. It is worth a try when you stay in Cape May.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bothofusluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

We had a wonderful time. The breakfasts were delicious. The Innkeepers Bonnie & Lance are very friendly and informative. Beautiful antique furniture throughout the house. A nice collection of Wedgewood china and Stangl pottery. The employees were very courteous. Afternoon iced tea and home baked cookies were a delight. We highly recommend this as a great place to stay.
Maria & George Anest

Stayed: June 2007
Thank 98corvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2007

Memorial Day weekend was our 9th visit to Cape May. We've stayed in 1 hotel, 1 condo, & 5 other inns there and this is our favorite. Great location, beautiful and clean public rooms and accommodations, gracious and friendly hosts, fantastic breakfasts, and on-site parking. Our room (#1) was large and comfortable w/large bathroom (window, lots of storage space, nice toiletries) and a wonderful private porch. We got a glimpse of the other rooms and they are all nice. Also, nice sunroom. We've stayed at b&b's and inns from New England to the Southwest and even Australia and John Wesley is definitely among the very best. And, oh, those cookies at afternoon tea...

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank martini-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2007

Spent a delightful getaway weekend at the John Wesley Inn. Super central location...walking distance to everywhere. Wonderfully maintained Victorian house...formal, yet unpretentious. Gracious hostess, Bonnie and host, Lance...charming folks. Elegant breakfast arrangements, terrific food. Definitely will stay there again...can't wait for another weekend off.

Stayed: October 2006
Thank bass1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#15 of 37 in Cape May
275 reviews
0 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
344 reviews
0.9 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Queen Victoria
The Queen Victoria
#4 of 40 in Cape May
1,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.1 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Wesley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Wesley Inn

Address: 30 Gurney St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2408
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: $135 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Where Antiques and Amenities Harmonize" One of the Historic "Stockton Row Cottages". Located 1/2 block to beach and 2 blocks to the walking mall. Park your car "on-site" and "forget-about-it". Full Service Inn, including a full compliment of amenities. I polish the silver and he polishes the chrome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing