We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect relaxing retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of John Wesley Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
John Wesley Inn
Ranked #6 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the John Wesley Inn for two nights following our wedding. We were exhausted from a weekend of entertaining and decided to stay at the inn on our way home (roughly half way between CT and VA). It was mid-week in the off season so we had the place to ourselves. Bonnie provided us with all the information we needed about both the Inn and Cape May. We had a great time watching movies in our room (with the electric fireplace on of course!) as well as braving the frigid temperatures outside to explore Cape May.

Breakfast was very good both days, as was the coffee. Bonnie also left us tea and cookies in the afternoon which were great to warm up to after one of our brief outdoor excursions.

The rooms are all decorated beautifully in the Victorian style. The only complaint I have is that it was difficult to get a sense of how big each of the rooms were from the photos on the website. Some rooms are notable bigger than others. (Ours was on the small side, but that just made it more cozy!)

Room Tip: The Inn is narrow and long so the rooms that aren't in the front of the house don't get any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    40
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
64
503
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I LOVE this bed & breakfast!!! My husband and I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Cape May. Even though Christmas had just passed, everything was decorated so beautifully. The breakfasts are amazing, afternoon tea is delightful, the home is immaculate, the innkeepers and staff are sweet and attentive and both our room and the parlor were toasty and cozy. The location is fabulous... central to all the restaurants and the square. We've stayed here during each season and as far as we're concerned, this place is a gem!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissyM501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

I just signed up to write reviews on tripadvisor and realized that we hadn't reviewed our stay from March 2013. The inn was rather quiet at that time, just a few other couples staying there at the same time. We felt quite at home there, staying in the Marquis De Lafayette. The room was very comfortable and relaxing and the bathroom was beautiful. The only thing we didn't care for was the "fireplace." It's NOT a fireplace. It's not even a gas fireplace. As I recall it's just a light that flickers. Given that we were there in very chilly weather, it would have been nice to be able to enjoy a romantic time in front of, at least, a gas fireplace.

Breakfast was awesome, and Bonnie was quite personable and accommodating. In general, we had a wonderful stay. FYI...Freda's Cafe is not far away and is highly recommended to eat at.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAK0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have been going to the John Wesley Inn for a number of years right before the holidays. We go with another couple and have always enjoyed a relaxing, comfortable stay with Bonnie and Lance. The B&B is very well maintained, breakfast is always quite tasty and we especially enjoy the sun room in the afternoon with a bottle of vino and some games after a day of touring the town. We highly recommend the John Wesley!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDOCatUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a gorgeous B&B in a town with a large number of B&Bs. The place is very well maintained, beautifully decorated and a real romantic getaway. We were in Room 1, and it was a real treat. My only real problem with the place was that we were so cold -- the termostat is for the entire floor, and the innkeeper (Bonnie was not there the first day) was reluctant to increase the temperature. For me, that was one of the coldest hotel stays ever, and made the night very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulka56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWICapeMay, Owner at John Wesley Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for the compliments and favorable review. We recognize that comfort is a personal matter and try to insure that all guests are as comfortable as possible. Every room has at least one window, a ceiling fan and individually controlled air conditioning. Each room also has a fireplace. We feel that these amenities offer the greatest flexibility for our guests to adjust the temperature as they desire. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ship Bottom, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had such a memorable stay at the John Wesley Inn. The Inn is exquisite, our room was perfect and Bonnie is such a warm, friendly down to earth gal, the perfect innkeeper. We enjoyed tea in the third floor sunroom which was such an interesting space. We hope to be able to come down again sometime in the near future, to enjoy the Inn as well as one of my very favorite places, Cape May, NJ.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eliza781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The John Wesley Inn was the perfect place for 3 girlfriends to celebrate life after breast cancer!
Bonnie was warm, welcoming and sincerely kind. We felt as though we'd known her forever! Afternoon peach tea and homemade sweets hit the spot on a chilly, windy afternoon. We thoroughly enjoyed Room #1, The Stockton, which provided the utmost comfort and spaciousness for our trio, including the private bath. We had a queen pillow-top (it is a high bed) and I personally slept in the double-size Murphy bed, which was very comfortable too! Breakfast included tender sausage and yummy blueberry pancakes dusted lightly with powdered sugar and topped with strawberries. Of course juice and unlimited coffee & tea were provided. The inn was decorated for both Thanksgiving and Christmas, which we loved! Convenient off-street parking was ideal. Perfect place for a Girlfriends' Weekend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Wesley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Wesley Inn

Property: John Wesley Inn
Address: 30 Gurney St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2408
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Where Antiques and Amenities Harmonize" One of the Historic "Stockton Row Cottages". Located 1/2 block to beach and 2 blocks to the walking mall. Park your car "on-site" and "forget-about-it". Full Service Inn, including a full compliment of amenities. I polish the silver and he polishes the chrome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing